Wednesday, December 31, 2014

MT Review: Personal (Jack Reacher)




I've finished "Personal" the book in his Jack Reacher series by Lee Child.

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Jack Reacher returns in the latest fast-moving, action-packed, suspenseful book from Lee Child.


You can leave the army, but the army doesn’t leave you. Not always. Not completely, notes Jack Reacher — and sure enough, the retired military cop is soon pulled back into service. This time, for the State Department and the CIA.

Someone has taken a shot at the president of France in the City of Light. The bullet was American. The distance between the gunman and the target was exceptional. How many snipers can shoot from three-quarters of a mile with total confidence? Very few, but John Kott — an American marksman gone bad — is one of them. And after fifteen years in prison, he’s out, unaccounted for, and likely drawing a bead on a G8 summit packed with enough world leaders to tempt any assassin.

If anyone can stop Kott, it’s the man who beat him before: Reacher. And though he’d rather work alone, Reacher is teamed with Casey Nice, a rookie analyst who keeps her cool with Zoloft. But they’re facing a rough road, full of ruthless mobsters, Serbian thugs, close calls, double-crosses — and no backup if they’re caught. All the while Reacher can’t stop thinking about the woman he once failed to save. But he won’t let that that happen again. Not this time. Not Nice.

Reacher never gets too close. But now a killer is making it personal.

Product Details
Series: Jack Reacher (Book 19)
Hardcover: 368 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press; 1st Printing edition (September 2, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0804178747
ISBN-13: 978-0804178747


My Review:

Wednesday Wish List


 

Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.




 



Can Evie convince her rival loves to work together? Their survival depends on it in this third book of #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole’s Arcana Chronicles, a nonstop action tale of rescue, redemption, and a revenge most wicked.

Heartbreaking decisions


Evie was almost seduced by the life of comfort that Death offered her — until Jack was threatened by two of the most horrific Arcana, The Lovers. She will do anything to save him, even escape Death’s uncanny prison, full of beautiful objects, material comforts and stolen glances from a former love.

Uncertain victory

Despite leaving a part of her heart behind with Death, Evie sets out into a frozen and perilous post-apocalyptic wasteland to meet up with her allies and launch an attack on The Lovers and the vast army they command. Such formidable enemies require a battle plan, and the only way to kill them once and for all may mean Evie, Jack, and Death allying. Evie doesn’t know what will prove more impossible: surviving slavers, plague, Bagmen and other Arcana — or convincing Jack and Death to work together.

Two heroes returned

There’s a thin line between love and hate, and Evie just doesn’t know where she stands with either Jack or Death. Will this unlikely trio be able to defeat The Lovers without killing one another first? 








From New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Tyler, the Section 8 series continues.

WHEN THE RISKS ARE THIS GREAT


When Dr. Drea Timmons was kidnapped during Section 8’s last mission, Jem did everything in his power to rescue the woman he’d fallen for — a woman unwillingly recruited for one of S8’s most personal and dangerous covert operations. Drea survived, but at a price. The trauma of her capture has rendered her without a single memory of her ordeal — or any recollection of how violently unpredictable her ex-boyfriend, Danny, an Outlaw Angel, had become, or why she had left him.

IS TRUST EVEN AN OPTION?


When Danny threatens to turn Drea over to the feds, she is forced to go on the run and confront a past that is as deadly as her future. As trouble closes in on both ends, Drea has no choice but to trust Jem, the only man who can help her, the only man whose electrifying touch brings back memories — piece by piece — too stirring to forget.








With a needle and thread, Harlow Jane Cassidy is capable of magic. Her neighbors in Bliss, Texas, on the other hand, are capable of murder.

Any garment Harlow stitches together has the power to grant the deepest desire of whomever wears it. So when she’s asked to sew aprons for a local women’s group, Harlow must get to know each member. First up is Delta Lee Mobley, who doesn’t care much for Harlow’s family — or anyone else in Bliss, for that matter. Granting Delta’s greatest wish could only lead to trouble.

But trouble finds Delta all the same. The day after Harlow delivers her apron, Delta’s body is discovered in the cemetery. It seems one of the townsfolk harbored ill will toward one of their own. Harlow’s sleuthing skills are a cut above the rest, and with a few magical tricks up her sleeve, she is determined to cuff this killer once and for all.







First in a new series!

From New York Times bestselling author Katie MacAlister comes a series about finding your own wonderland — through one roadblock at a time.


Nothing about Alice Wood’s life is normal right now. Her fiancé, Patrick, called off their wedding and relationship only days before their nonrefundable wedding trip. And though a luxurious European river cruise for one is just what she needs, it’s not what she gets.

Due to a horrible misunderstanding, Alice is now cramped in her “romantic” suite with one of Patrick’s friends. Instead of cruising along the Rhine, Main, and Danube rivers sipping champagne with the love of her life, she’s navigating the waters with a strange—yet mysteriously handsome — British aristocrat.

A baron of dubious wealth — and not-so-dubious debt — Elliot Ainslie is just looking forsome alone time to write the books that keep his large family afloat. But his stodgy, serious self is about to be sidetracked by a woman who seems to have jumped out of the pages of a fairy tale, one who is determined to shake up his life and include him in her own happily ever after.

Manga:






Anise Yamamoto has been told that if she ever removes the rose choker given to her by her father, a terrible punishment will befall her. Unfortunately she loses that choker when a bat-like being falls from the sky and hits her. Anise is granted four cards representing four knights whom she can summon with a kiss. But now that she has these gorgeous men at her beck and call, what exactly is her quest?!

Fearing her absent father will return and discover her rose choker missing, Anise commands her knights to do a search for the necklace. Before they can set out, new transfer student Haruto Kisugi appears. Anise and he were friends back when she was living in Osaka, but her four knights — especially Kaede — do not trust him.

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

New Releases 2014 (Dec 30)



 

 




New Releases










New York Timesbestselling author Kerrelyn Sparks delivers the exciting conclusion in the Love at Stake series, where a Marine-turned-vampire finds love with the shifter princess forbidden to him.

Russell wakes from a coma to find he's become a vampire. Now he has a thirst for revenge. Determined to hunt down the master vampire who turned him, he's used to working alone until he meets Jia. She is after the same vampire for murdering her parents and insists she can help Russell on this mission. Reluctantly, he agrees, and sets up some ground rules:

Rule #1: Their partnership is strictly business. If he holds her a little too close - if she looks at him with those exotic eyes - well, that has to stop.

Rule #2: He's in charge. Jia isn't used to taking orders and questions every move he makes. So he stops her the only way he knows how.

Rule #3: Don't fall in love. But the kiss that was supposed to quiet her awakens something else in him something forbidden. Because Jia is engaged. To someone else.






New York Timesbestselling author Lynsay Sands delivers a "madcap escapade" (Publishers Weekly) in this contemporary romance about a quirky inventor and unexpected love.

Shy Jane Spyrus loves gadgets. She can build anything B.L.I.S.S. needs in the international organization's fight against crime-although its agents aren't exactly lining up at her door. Some of them think her inventions are a little too well, innovative. Like her shrink-wrap prophylactic constraints or her spray-on truth serum.

Of course, you can't use wacky inventions to fix all your problems; Jane knows that better than anyone. Her neighbor has been kidnapped, driving that point home. She will have to team up with anotherhuman being-and Abel Andretti arrives just in time. He will help Jane find her neighbor, stop a villain, and, most of all, he will show Jane how to love the daylights out of something without batteries.


 




They are the outcasts of humanity. Blessed with power. Cursed by fate. Driven by passion. The Sentinels have returned.

Out Of The Shadows


At six-foot-three and two-hundred-fifty pounds, Fane is a natural born guardian. A flawless mix of muscled perfection and steely precision, he has devoted years of his life to protecting a beautiful necromancer. But after she found love in the arms of another, Fane has been a warrior adrift. He swears allegiance only to the Sentinels. And no woman will ever rule his heart again.

Into The Fire

Not only a powerful psychic, Serra is that rare telepath who can connect to minds through objects. When the daughter of a high-blood businessman is kidnapped, Serra agrees to help. But when she stumbles onto a conspiracy involving secrets sects and ancient relics, her life is in mortal danger -- and Fane is her only hope. Is the warrior willing to risk his body, his soul, and his heart, for Serra? Or will one last betrayal destroy them both?







When the question is love, the answer is always yes.

Camille Thompson is the best at what she does-closing deals. That's why real estate developer Vanderhook has sent her to Coral Cove, Florida, where the stubborn owner of the Happy Crab Motel is refusing to sell. Camille's never had a problem turning a "no" into a "yes," but then she's never been so captivated by a man's sexy smile before.

Laidback Reece Donovan likes life simple. No amount of money-or any other temptation Camille can offer-will convince him to give up the one link to his past. Of course, it would be easier without the powerful chemistry raging between them.

As a fragile romance begins to grow, can Reece trust Camille with his secrets? And when promises are broken, along with hearts, can the charm of Coral Cove help bring them back together?

Monday, December 29, 2014

Weekly Book Reads (Dec 29)




 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  Deadline - John Sandford
2.  The Lost Key - Catherine Coulter

Weekly Book Reading:

1.  Personal - Lee Child
2.  The Witch With No Name - Kim Harrison
3.  Cover Your Eyes - Mary Burton
4.  Bloody Cross Vol. 4 - Shiwo Komeyama

Sunday, December 28, 2014

MT Review: The Lost Key (A Brit in the FBI)



I've finished "The Lost Key" the 2nd book in her A Brit in the FBI series by Catherine Coulter.

The newest entry in the sizzling international thriller series featuring Nicholas Drummond, from #1 New York Times–bestselling author Catherine Coulter.

Freshly minted FBI agent Nicholas Drummond is barely out of his Quantico training when he and his partner, Mike Caine, are called to investigate a stabbing on Wall Street.

Their investigation, however, yields more questions than answers. It quickly becomes clear that the victim, John Pearce, was more than the naval historian and antiquities dealer he appeared to be. What Drummond doesn’t know is that buying and selling rare books was Pearce’s cover, and that he had devoted his life to discovering the whereabouts of a missing World War I U-boat concealing a stash of gold bullion, and an unexpected surprise that only raises more questions. When Drummond and Caine find both of Pearce’s adult children have disappeared, the case assumes a new sense of urgency. The FBI agents know their best lead lies in the victim’s cryptic final words — “The key is in the lock.” But what key? What lock?

The search for Adam and Sophia Pearce takes them on an international manhunt, which threatens to run them afoul of an eccentric billionaire industrialist with his own plans not only for the lost gold, but the creation of a weapon unlike anything the world has ever seen.

Product Details
Series: A Brit in the FBI (Book 2)
Hardcover: 464 pages
Publisher: Putnam Adult; First Edition edition (September 30, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399164766
ISBN-13: 978-0399164767

My Review:


4/5

Saturday, December 27, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #213







If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Our Feature is Mrs. Clause

When did you start blogging?

Oh, I’ve been blogging since Santa got me a fancy new laptop for my last birthday. About a year now.

What is your favorite part of book blogging?

I get to blog about one of my favorite things to do.

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Oh I like happy books, books about children and happy people and every now and again, I sneak in a romance.

What is your favorite book(s)?


I’m a sucker for the Harry Potter books.

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?


My whole life revolves around the fat man, so sometimes it’s nice to have something of my own. The fact that people, authors and such send me books – is just a plus – but getting them to ship to the north pole is kind of hard.

Our Feature - Jooniel Obsesses Over Stories

1. When did you start blogging?

I discovered book blogging a year ago but didn't start to blog until November 2014.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Meeting people who like books and receiving free books, of course!

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Since I read a wide variety of books, I don't really blog about a particular genre of books. General fiction, adult fiction, YA, mystery, thriller, contemporary fiction, chick lit, fantasy, you name it, I got it. (Except for eroticas and some non-fictions cuz I just don't read them.)

4. What are your favorite books?

Ring trilogy by Koji Suzuki and I Heart series by Lindsey Kelk. I strongly recommend the Ring trilogy to everyone because it's so underrated and I feel like more people should read it!

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?


I'm more motivated to read books and of course, meeting people from all around the world is certainly very fun!

Question of the Week: What books did you give other people this holiday season? - Suggested by Alison Can Read.

I gave my grandma these books:












 I gave my cousin these:




























Bunny Express Saturday 2014 (Dec 27)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received this in the mail this week.

For Review:

 




 
Forensic science, magic, mystery, and romance mix in this edgy steampunk fantasy — a retelling of the horror classic, in which Dr. Eliza Jekyll, daughter of the infamous Dr. Henry Jekyll — pursues a dangerous murderer in an alternate Victorian London.

In an electrified Victorian London, Dr. Eliza Jekyll is a crime scene investigator, hunting killers with newfangled technological gadgets. She will need every advantage available to catch a terrifying new psychopath splattering London with blood. Hidden in the grimy shadows, the fiendish murderer preys on beautiful women, drugging them before slicing off their limbs. Finding the “Slicer” can make Eliza’s career or unmask her darkest secret. Like her father, she has a hidden second self that emerges when she drinks his forbidden magical elixir. Just a few sips, and a seductive and impulsive Lizzie Hyde is unleashed.

The members of the Royal Society do not trust Eliza, and they send their enforcer, the mercurial Captain Lafayette, to prove she’s a dangerous sorceress. The careful doctor knows that one wrong step can make her prey to the clever Lafayette, a man who harbors an evil curse of his own. No matter how much she craves the elixir, she must resist.

But as the Slicer case draws her into London’s luminous magical underworld, Eliza will need the potion’s power to help her even if it might attract the attentions of Lafayette.

Even if it means setting the wild Lizzie free.

Thanks Harper Collins!

Friday, December 26, 2014

Happy Boxing Day



I want to say Happy Boxing Day to my followers and friends!

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Merry Christmas!




I would like to wish my blog followers and friends a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!  Wishing the best to you, your family and pets!

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

MT Review: Deadline (A Virgil Flowers Novel)


I've finished "Deadline" the 8th book in his Virgil Flowers series by John Sandford.

The thrilling new novel in the #1 New York Times–bestselling series.

In Southeast Minnesota, down on the Mississippi, a school board meeting is coming to an end. The board chairman announces that the rest of the meeting will be closed, due to personnel issues. “Issues” is correct. The proposal up for a vote before them is whether to authorize the killing of a local reporter. The vote is four to one in favor.

Meanwhile, not far away, Virgil Flowers is helping out a friend by looking into a dognapping, which seems to be turning into something much bigger and uglier — a team of dognappers supplying medical labs — when he gets a call from Lucas Davenport. A murdered body has been found — and the victim is a local reporter.

Product Details
Series: A Virgil Flowers Novel (Book 8)
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Putnam Adult; First Edition edition (October 7, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399162372
ISBN-13: 978-0399162374


My Review:

3/5

Wednesday Wish List


 

Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.







New York Timesbestselling author Kerrelyn Sparks delivers the exciting conclusion in the Love at Stake series, where a Marine-turned-vampire finds love with the shifter princess forbidden to him.

Russell wakes from a coma to find he's become a vampire. Now he has a thirst for revenge. Determined to hunt down the master vampire who turned him, he's used to working alone until he meets Jia. She is after the same vampire for murdering her parents and insists she can help Russell on this mission. Reluctantly, he agrees, and sets up some ground rules:

Rule #1: Their partnership is strictly business. If he holds her a little too close - if she looks at him with those exotic eyes - well, that has to stop.

Rule #2: He's in charge. Jia isn't used to taking orders and questions every move he makes. So he stops her the only way he knows how.

Rule #3: Don't fall in love. But the kiss that was supposed to quiet her awakens something else in him something forbidden. Because Jia is engaged. To someone else.








New York Timesbestselling author Lynsay Sands delivers a "madcap escapade" (Publishers Weekly) in this contemporary romance about a quirky inventor and unexpected love.

Shy Jane Spyrus loves gadgets. She can build anything B.L.I.S.S. needs in the international organization's fight against crime-although its agents aren't exactly lining up at her door. Some of them think her inventions are a little too well, innovative. Like her shrink-wrap prophylactic constraints or her spray-on truth serum.

Of course, you can't use wacky inventions to fix all your problems; Jane knows that better than anyone. Her neighbor has been kidnapped, driving that point home. She will have to team up with anotherhuman being-and Abel Andretti arrives just in time. He will help Jane find her neighbor, stop a villain, and, most of all, he will show Jane how to love the daylights out of something without batteries.


 




They are the outcasts of humanity. Blessed with power. Cursed by fate. Driven by passion. The Sentinels have returned.

Out Of The Shadows

At six-foot-three and two-hundred-fifty pounds, Fane is a natural born guardian. A flawless mix of muscled perfection and steely precision, he has devoted years of his life to protecting a beautiful necromancer. But after she found love in the arms of another, Fane has been a warrior adrift. He swears allegiance only to the Sentinels. And no woman will ever rule his heart again.

Into The Fire

Not only a powerful psychic, Serra is that rare telepath who can connect to minds through objects. When the daughter of a high-blood businessman is kidnapped, Serra agrees to help. But when she stumbles onto a conspiracy involving secrets sects and ancient relics, her life is in mortal danger -- and Fane is her only hope. Is the warrior willing to risk his body, his soul, and his heart, for Serra? Or will one last betrayal destroy them both?







When the question is love, the answer is always yes.

Camille Thompson is the best at what she does-closing deals. That's why real estate developer Vanderhook has sent her to Coral Cove, Florida, where the stubborn owner of the Happy Crab Motel is refusing to sell. Camille's never had a problem turning a "no" into a "yes," but then she's never been so captivated by a man's sexy smile before.

Laidback Reece Donovan likes life simple. No amount of money-or any other temptation Camille can offer-will convince him to give up the one link to his past. Of course, it would be easier without the powerful chemistry raging between them.

As a fragile romance begins to grow, can Reece trust Camille with his secrets? And when promises are broken, along with hearts, can the charm of Coral Cove help bring them back together?

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

RS Review: Deserves To Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli)


 
I've finished "Deserves To Die" the 6th book in her Alvarez and Pescoli series by Lisa Jackson.

As he watches, her body drifts below the water's surface, forever altered. Before he disposes of each victim, he takes a trophy. It's a sign of his power, and a warning - to the one destined to suffer most of all. In Grizzly Falls, Montana, Detectives Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli are struggling with a new commander and a department in the midst of upheaval. It's the worst possible time for a homicide. A body has been found, missing a finger. Alvarez hopes this means a murderer with a personal grudge, not a madman. But then a second body turns up. As the clues begin pointing towards a suspect, Pescoli's unease grows. She senses there's more to this case than others believe. A killer has made his way to Grizzly Falls, ready to fulfil a vengeance years in the making. And Pescoli must find the target of his wrath - or die trying.

Product Details
Series: Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli
Mass Market Paperback: 432 pages
Publisher: Zebra; Reprint edition (July 29, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1420118528
ISBN-13: 978-1420118520

My Review:


3/5

Monday, December 22, 2014

Weekly Book Reads (Dec 22)




 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  Deserves To Die - Lisa Jackson
2.  Hope Rising - Stacy Henri
3.  Homecoming - Robyn Carr
4.  Undead and Unwary - MaryJanice Davidson
5.  Her Last Whisper - Karen Robards

Weekly Book Reading:

1.  Deadline - John Sandford
2.  The Lost Key - Catherine Coulter

Sunday, December 21, 2014

RS Review: Her Last Whisper: A Novel (Dr. Charlotte Stone)



I've finished "Her Last Whisper" the 3rd book in her Dr. Charlotte Stone series by Karen Robards.

Readers who relish heated passion and chilling suspense love New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards’s acclaimed novels featuring Dr. Charlotte “Charlie” Stone. A heroine with a keen mind for catching killers and a soft heart for bad boys, Charlie is back in this third sizzling paranormal romance thriller.

HER LAST WHISPER

Madness and murder invaded Dr. Charlotte Stone’s life when she was just a girl — and made her a woman determined to save others from the horror she survived. An expert in the psychology of serial killers, she’s faced down more than her share of human monsters. But Charlie can also communicate with the spirits of those who die violently, an extrasensory skill that has helped the FBI bring lethal predators to justice. Now, after narrowly escaping death a second time, Charlie’s ready to step away from the edge before her luck runs out.

Too bad Charlie is too dedicated for her own good — and too devoted to federal agent Tony Bartoli to say no when he asks her to ride shotgun on yet another risky mission. Of course, she already has her hands full with Michael Garland: the handsome, roguish ghost with whom she’s hopelessly in love — a spirit who depends on Charlie to keep him from slipping forever into the dark side of the afterlife. But in the mortal world, beautiful single women are vanishing from Las Vegas hotels at night. All signs indicate that a psychopath is on the prowl in Sin City, and Bartoli’s FBI colleague Lena Kaminsky has reason to fear that her missing sister may be just the killer’s type.

In a town full of fast players and few rules, flushing out a smooth-talking stalker like the Cinderella Killer might be a loser’s game. But for Charlie, the only way to cage her quarry is to plunge back into the homicidal hell she vowed to leave behind — and may not leave alive.

Product Details
Series: Dr. Charlotte Stone
Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books (August 26, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0804178267
ISBN-13: 978-0804178266

My Review:


Michael is his charming self as usual and I love how he calls Tony Dudley Do Right.  It's hilarious how he loves to tease Charlie and gets her all hot and bothered.

It's even more hilarious that Charlie insists she isn't in love with Michael.  No matter how much she denies it she is totally in love with him.

3/5

Library Haul 2014 (Dec 21 - 27)




Library Haul



Here's the list of books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga I picked up this week at the library:

Hardcover:

1.  The Lost Key - Catherine Coulter
2.  Personal - Lee Child

Saturday, December 20, 2014

Bunny Express Saturday 2014 (Dec 20)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.

For Review:

 






It took only one impulsive moment on an empty two-lane highway to cost her everything.

A man's responsible for his own prosperity — especially if he's Cooper Barnett, the most determined cowboy in the West. No one knows what he sacrificed to claim a piece of Beartooth, Montana, for himself and his beautiful fiancée, Livie. No one knows what he's willing to do for love until a stranger's twisted vendetta threatens the happy ending they should've had long ago.

One fateful mistake isn't the only secret Livie Hamilton is keeping from her fiancé. Victimized during a treacherous blizzard by a man she thought she could trust, she's pregnant but unsure who the father is. With an unknown blackmailer threatening to expose her, she must confess to Cooper and trust he'll still protect her. But when the truth falls into place, she may lose the only man she's ever loved — or worse.

Thanks Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc.!

Friday, December 19, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #212



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Our Feature is Lisa’s Library

When did you start blogging?

I started blogging in July earlier this year! A couple of friends of mine suggested that because I read so much I should do a book blog. So I went ahead and did it!

What is your favorite part of book blogging?


A surprisingly tough question. I love how book blogging is like having an account on Shelfari and Goodreads, except this piece of cyberspace belongs to you and you can set it up and organize everything just the way you like it! I like how it’s mine and the fact that I had to figure out on my own how to make things work. Considering how inept I am with computers, I feel pretty darn good about my abilities with website development.

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

I read fiction mostly, with the occasional non-fiction sprinkled in. I guess the majority of my reads fall under the literature and fiction category, but I tend to gravitate towards fantasy (for all age groups).

What is your favorite book(s)?

Haha! This question always makes me chuckle because it’s like asking a kid to only pick one candy in a candy store.

Well, I’ve got my list of favorites whittled down to 24 books, and these are the books that I’ve read at least twice, and that I would most certainly read again at some point in the future because I loved them so much. Don’t ask me to narrow it down any further! I can’t do it!

Favorite Sci-Fi/Fantasies (YA included):


Harry Potter, by J.K. Rowling

Lord Of The Rings, by J.R.R. Tolkien

The Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien

Ender’s Game, by Orson Scott Card

The Watchmen, by Alan Moore

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore

The Magicians, by Lev Grossman

The Name Of The Wind, by Patrick Rothfuss

Favorite Classics:

To Kill A Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

Pride And Prejudice, by Jane Austen

White Fang, by Jack London

Siddhartha, by Hermann Hesse

Favorite Contemporary Fiction Reads:

Can’t Wait To Get To Heaven, by Fannie Flagg

The Bean Trees, by Barbara Kingsolver

Life Of Pi, by Yann Martel

Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan

Favorite Mystery/Thrillers:

Watchers, by Dean Koontz

The Amelia Peabody Series, by Elizabeth Peters

The Clairvoyant Countess, by Dorothy Gilman

The Millennium Series, by Stieg Larsson

Favorite Kid Books:

The Bartimaeus Trilogy, by Jonathan Stroud

Holes, by Louis Sacher

Charlotte’s Web, by E.B. White

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

My friends now acknowledge that I’m a book nerd and that I’m crazy! I’ve been trying to convince them for years, and now there’s proof!

Our Feature - I Sold My Soul For Books

1. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging on October 31st which was like almost 2 months ago and at first I wasn't sure I was ready because to be honest I'm really SHY but I wanted to get out of my comfort zone and decided this would be my first step.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

My favorite part of blogging is probably meeting new people normally I'm always scared to talk to people but with blogging it comes easily to me granted mostly everyone in the blogging community is really nice. Apart from meeting new bloggers my other favorite part are the giveaways I didn't even know about giveaways online before and as soon as I got the hang of things I was obsessed I felt like I found a whole other universe.

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

I mostly blog about Paranormal Romance and Urban Fantasy because you can never have enough guys to swoon about but currently I've actually started the Percy Jackson series which doesn't have that much romance but I decided to give it a try and I'm loving it.

4. What are your favorite books?

I have soooo many favorite books as any regular blogger probably does but one that I can say at the top of my head right now is the Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead. What can I say I love Sydrian their my guilty pleasure, I had tried to refrain myself from reading vampire books but I just couldn't they call to me.

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

The best thing that has happened to me is probably befriending Leslie Miller the author of The Girl With the Half and Half Face. I had recieved her book to review and I truly enjoyed it but felt like my review wasn't doing the book justice but to my surprise Leslie Miller actually read it and said she loved my review. She was super nice and became my friend, she was totally down to earth and I felt so elated about it.

Question of the Week: Do you have a go to genre when you're happy, sad, or angry? - Suggested by Take Me Away....   

When I'm sad the genre I like to read is paranormals (Sherrilyn Kenyon or J.R.Ward) and when I'm angry I like to read romantic suspense (Karen Robards, Karen Rose, Suzanne Brockmann, etc.) or bodice rippers (Rosemary Rogers). 

 







Stacy Henri Hope Rising Blog Tour with Spotlight and Giveaway



I am so excited to have Stacy Henri here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Stacy and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Inside Out Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Stacy!





About Stacy Henrie:

Stacy Henrie has always had an avid appetite for history, fiction and chocolate. She earned her B.A. in public relations from Brigham Young University and worked in communications before turning her attentions to raising a family and writing inspirational historical romances. Wife of an entrepreneur husband and a stay-at-home mom to three, Stacy loves the chance to live out history through her fictional characters, while enjoying the modern conveniences of life in the 21st century. In addition to author, she is a reader, a road trip enthusiast and a novice interior decorator.

Stacy’s SM:

@StacyHenrie
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Stacy-Henrie-Author
http://www.stacyhenrie.com/









About HOPE RISING

In France at the height of World War I, American nurse Evelyn Gray is no stranger to suffering. She's helped save the life of many a soldier, but when she learns her betrothed has been killed, her own heart may be broken beyond repair. Summoning all her strength, Evelyn is determined to carry on - not just for herself and her country, but for her unborn child. Corporal Joel Campbell dreams of the day the war is over and he can return home and start a family. When a brutal battle injury puts that hope in jeopardy, Joel is lost to despair until he meets Evelyn. Beautiful, compassionate, and in need of help, she makes an unconventional proposal that could save their lives - or ruin them irrevocably. Now, amidst the terror and turmoil of the Western Front, these two lost souls will have to put their faith in love to find the miracle they've been looking for.

Buy Links for HOPE RISING:

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1pnwQLn
Books-A-Million: http://bit.ly/1GkP98a
IndieBound: http://bit.ly/1E5Ee0Y
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1xc8AOO








About A CHRISTMAS HOPE

Tis the season for second chances


Having experienced the heartache of unrequited love, Maria Schmitt desperately seeks a new life. Landing a position as a clerk in a Sioux City bank is just what she needs to get started on her journey toward healing. But a dashing stranger soon puts her job - and her heart - in jeopardy. Saving lives was all Dale Emerson ever wanted to do until a fateful day in France shattered his career as a surgeon. He lost everything that mattered, and the last thing he wants to do is resign himself to a life without medicine working at his uncle's bank. Then he meets Maria, a compassionate woman who can see past his scars to the man he once was - and the man he could be again. With Christmas right around the corner, these two wounded hearts may find that hope and a little holiday cheer are just the ticket to letting go of regrets - and embracing a future full of love and possibility.

Buy Links for A CHRISTMAS HOPE:

Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/1yc6kCA
Books-A-Million: http://bit.ly/1sl3ChF
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1sl3E9b
Google Play: http://bit.ly/1Bt9d5r
iTunes: http://bit.ly/1wkC8bl
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1z3l0Ij


Excerpt


Evelyn lowered her gaze to the root she’d tripped over rather than continue to stare at her gallant rescuer. “It’s mostly Louis and Pierre who’ve been interested in reading, but they’ve caught on well.” She slid a few more inches away from him, finagling her feet around the gnarled roots. Breathing was difficult with Joel so close.

He shifted to lean his shoulder against the tree trunk. “Is something wrong?”

She pressed her lips together and shook her head. “Are you angry at me? For coming over to the group, instead of staying away like we talked about?” Evelyn flicked a glance at those hazel eyes.

“No, not at all.”

Silence reigned for several heartbeats, then she felt his finger beneath her chin. He gently prodded her head upward until she had to look at him. Her stomach flip flopped as she peered fully into his handsome face. Light fuzz covered his chin and jaw. He needed another shave. A strange, irrational thought that she must be the one to do it filled her mind.

“Are you afraid of something, Evelyn?”

You.

She kept the word sealed inside as her thoughts spiraled like a tornado. What if he didn’t reciprocate these growing feelings? What if he decided not to marry her

next week? There’d been times over the last few days when she thought Joel was beginning to soften toward her, even like her. She’d notice a lingering look from him or a smile, but they would disappear as quickly as they came and his manner would return to its usual, kind aloofness. Perhaps she ought to be asking him a similar question. What was he afraid of?

“I’m fine, really.” She swallowed hard. “Just a bit tired is all.”

Instead of releasing her chin as she expected, Joel lowered his gaze to her mouth. The rush of sound in Evelyn’s ears grew as thunderous as a windstorm.

Was he going to kiss her? Should she let him?

Yes, her heart cried.

She wanted him to kiss her, had dreamt of this moment She held her breath as Joel leaned forward. Closing her eyes, she waited for his lips to reach hers. Would his kiss be as glorious as she’d imagined? Or better? She felt his breath brush her chin, sending her stomach into another frenzy of flutters.

The sudden blare of horns dropped like a bomb into the quiet of the trees, obliterating their shared moment. Evelyn opened her eyes and turned toward the hospital. “More wounded soldiers.”

Joel straightened, robbing her of the warmth of his closeness. “Which means more surgeries.”

His disappointed tone had her hopes soaring heavenward again. Did it mean he cared? “Yes, it does. Will you watch after Louis for me?”

“I don’t profess to be as good a teacher as you, but I’ll try.”

“Thank you.”

She turned to go, but Joel caught her hand, stopping her retreat.

“Evelyn?”

“Yes?” She wished she didn’t sound so breathless.

Wished she didn’t have to leave him.

He released her hand to brush her cheek with his thumb, heating her skin with the tender touch.

“Good luck.”


Giveaway


US/Canada only, thanks!





http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce2143/? a Rafflecopter giveaway

Karen Harper Broken Bonds Blog Tour with Spotlight




I am so excited to have Karen Harper here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a  Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Karen and Pump Up Your Book Promotions for allowing me to join your Broken Bonds Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Karen!











About the Author

A New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Karen Harper is a former college English instructor (The Ohio State University) and high school literature and writing teacher. A lifelong Ohioan, Karen and her husband Don divide their time between the midwest and the southeast, both locations she has used in her books. Besides her American settings, Karen loves the British Isles, where her Scottish and English roots run deep, and where she has set many of her historical Tudor-era mysteries and her historical novels about real and dynamic British women. Karen's books have been published in many foreign languages and she won the Mary Higgins Clark Award for 2005. Karen has given numerous talks to readers and writers across the county.

Her latest book is the romantic suspense, Broken Bonds, the third book in the Cold Creek Trilogy.

For More Information
Visit Karen Harper’s website.
Find out more about Karen at Goodreads.











Cold Creek is a place with a dark history, especially for the Lockwoods. Now adults, the three Lockwood sisters are still recovering from the events that led to the destruction of their family when they were children. Determined to move forward, Tess and Kate are making fresh starts, ready to put bad — even deadly — memories to rest and settle happily in the small but booming town. And they're hoping their older sister, Charlene, can do the same.

Char is back in town seeking comfort as she figures out her next move. A social worker used to difficult situations, she soon runs afoul of some locals who think she's sticking her nose where it doesn't belong. She's certain something sinister is being covered up, and when she witnesses Matt Rowan being run off the road, she knows she's right.

Working together, Matt and Char figure uncovering the truth will be dangerous, but living in Cold Creek won't be safe for any of them until its secrets are revealed.

For More Information
Broken Bonds is available at Amazon.
Pick up your copy at Barnes & Noble.
Broken Bonds is also available at Indiebound.
Add Broken Bonds to your to be read list at Goodreads.
Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads.

Other books in the trilogy include:

Shattered Secrets:

ISBN-13: 9780778316473
Publisher: Harlequin
Imprint: MIRA
Publication date: 8/26/2014
Series: Cold Creek Series , #1
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Pages: 400








Book Excerpt:

She started to get out until she saw the driver of the truck was really covered up for the weather. She could see through his windshield that he wore a ski mask, leaving only his eyes visible. He climbed down and started toward her truck, holding up his hands as if to apologize.

Could this be the man who nearly ran Matt off the cliff?

She turned the ignition back on, put the truck in Reverse, yanked the steering wheel and tried to back up to get some maneuvering room, but she was held tight by the tree, and her wheels spun. She laid on her horn, but saw no other vehicle on the road.

The man went back to his truck and returned, holding a metal carjack, the kind needed to change a flat tire. He walked now with swift, strong strides. She knew he was going to use it to smash her window. Was this guy desperate or crazy? They were on a public road in broad daylight.

She waited until he came close and raised the car jack. He hit the glass of the driver’s-side window, which only cracked on the first blow. She had to do the unexpected and fast, run for help. She’d seen a car parked at her childhood home if she could make it there. She dug in her big purse for her phone. Too much in here — couldn’t feel it. She had to go now or he’d have her!

In an instant, she unlocked her doors, tried to grab her heavy purse, but he reached for it, too, yanked it and tipped her toward him. She slid away from the steering wheel and clambered out the other side, forced to leave the purse, the phone. She had no illusions he just wanted the purse. She slipped to her knees in the ice-crusted snow, then clawed her way up and raced toward the trees.

Giveaway

Karen is giving away 10 sets of the Broken Bonds trilogy.






Karen Harper is giving away 10 SETS OF THE COLD CREEK TRILOGY!



https://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/4a6581ad2




Thursday, December 18, 2014

Larissa Ione Revenant Blog Tour with Spotlight and Giveaway



I am so excited to have Larissa Ione here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Larissa and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Revenant Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Larissa!








 About the Author:

A former meteorologist and EMT, Air Force veteran Larissa Ione now gets her daily dose of excitement from vampires, werewolves, demons, and the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse. She lives in wintery Wisconsin with her U.S. Coast Guard husband, her teenage son, a rescue cat, and her hellhound, a King Shepherd named Hexe.

Social Media Links:

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads






REVENANT by Larissa Ione (December 16, 2014; Grand Central Publishing Mass Market; $8.00)

HELL HATH NO FURY


For five thousand years, Revenant believed he was alone in the world, a fallen angel beyond any redemption. Now he finds he has a twin brother who had all the light and love Revenant was denied.

Caught in a tug of war between Heaven and Hell, he must weigh his thirst for revenge against his desire for a mysterious female named Blaspheme-a female whose very origins could deliver him into salvation or destruction.

LIKE AN ANGEL SCORNED

Blaspheme has a deadly secret: she's the forbidden offspring of an angel and a fallen angel. Hunted by both heavenly and satanic forces, she has survived only by laying low and trusting no one. When Revenant claims he can save them both, how can she possibly believe him? But the powerful angel is persistence incarnate and for Blaspheme, there's no place she can hide in Heaven or Hell where he won't find her.

Buy Links:

Amazon
B&N
IndieBound
iBooks
GooglePlay
Kobo
BAM

Excerpt


Since the moment Revenant bumped into Blaspheme at the hospital a few weeks ago, he’d been obsessed, and now, as her long legs ate up the asphalt as she walked toward him, he imagined them wrapped around his waist as he pounded into her. The closer she came, the harder his body got.

“Blaspheme.” He stepped out from between two black ambulances, blocking her path.

She jumped, a startled gasp escaping full crimson lips made to propel a male to ecstasy. “Revenant.” Her gaze darted to the hospital doors, and he got the impression she was plotting her escape route. How cute that she thought she could get away from him. “What are you doing lurking in the parking lot?”

Lurking? Well, some might call it that, he supposed. “I was on my way to see you.”

She smiled sweetly. “Well, you’ve seen me. Buh-bye.” Pivoting, her blond ponytail bouncing, she headed in the opposite direction.

“Come home with me.”

“Wow.” She turned and crossed her arms over her chest, which only drew his attention to her rack. Niiice. “You get right to the point.”

He shrugged. “Saves time.”

“Were you planning to wine and dine me at least? You know, before the sex.”

“No. Just sex.” Lots and lots of sex.

He could already imagine her husky voice deepening in the throes of passion.

“Oh,” she said, her voice dripping with sarcasm. “You’re charming, aren’t you?”

Not once in his five thousand years had anyone ever called him charming. But even uttered with sarcasm, it was the nicest thing anyone had ever said to him.

“Don’t do that,” he growled.

“Do what?” She stared at him like he was a loon.

“Never mind.” Dying to touch her, he held out his hand. “You’ll love my play room.”

She wheeled away like he was offering her the plague instead of his hand. “Go to hell, asshole. I don’t date fallen angels.”

“Good news, then, because it’s not a date.” And he wasn’t a fallen angel.

“Right. Well, I don’t fuck fallen angels either.” She made a shooing motion with her hand. “Go away.”

She was rejecting him? No one rejected him. No one.

She started to take off again, and he blinked, confused. This wasn’t right. He had his sights set on her, and she was supposed to surrender. This was something new. Something titillating.

He moved in slowly, matching her step for step as she backed up.

“What are you doing?” She swallowed as she bumped up against a massive support beam.

“I’m going to show you why you need to come home with me.” He planted both palms on the beam on either side of her head and leaned in until his lips brushed the tender skin of her ear. “You won’t regret it.”

“I already told you. I don’t fuck fallen angels.”

“So you said,” he murmured. “Do you kiss them?”

“Ah no, I —“

He didn’t give her the chance to finish her sentence. Strawberry gloss coated his lips as he kissed her, and he swore he’d never liked fruit as much as he did right now.

Her hands came up to grip his biceps, tugging him closer as she deepened the kiss. “You’re good,” she whispered against his mouth.

“I know,” he whispered back.

Giveaway








http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce2140/?

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce2140/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="26635ce2140" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_6i0pryw3">a Rafflecopter giveaway



 
Related Posts with Thumbnails