Tuesday, September 2, 2014

J.A. Redmerski Song of the Fireflies Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Giveaway




I am so excited to have J.A. Redmerski here Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks J.A. and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Song of the Fireflies Blog Tour!

Please take it away, J.A.!







About the author:

J. A. Redmerski, New York Times, USA Today andWall Street Journal bestselling author lives in North Little Rock, Arkansas with her three children, two cats and a Maltese. She is a lover of television and books that push boundaries and is a huge fan of AMC's The Walking Dead.

Social Media Links:

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

 
 
 
 
 
 
SONG OF THE FIREFLIES by J.A. Redmerski (September 2, 2014; Forever Trade Paperback; $14.00)

THE TRUTH WILL SET THEM FREE


Brayelle Bates has always been a force of nature. Even as a child, Bray's wild and carefree spirit intimidated everyone around her. The only person who's ever truly understood her is her best friend, Elias Kline. Though every fiber of her being wants to stay with Elias forever, Bray can't bear the thought of him discovering her agonizing history. She's done everything she can to keep him at arm's length, including moving away. But their undying bond was too strong a pull to deny, and Bray couldn't survive without him. Now she's back home with Elias, and things have never felt more right -- until one night changes everything.

Elias vowed never to be separated from Bray again. So when she decides to flee in a desperate attempt to escape her fate, Elias knows he must go with her. As the two try to make the most of their circumstance, taking up with a reckless group of new friends, Elias soon realizes there's a darkness driving Bray he can't ignore. Now in order to save her, he'll have to convince Bray to accept the consequences of their reality -- even if it means losing her.

Buy Links:

B&N
BAM!
IndieBound
Amazon
iBooks
Kobo
Google Play
 







THE MOMENT OF LETTING GO by J.A. Redmerski (April 14, 2015; Forever Trade Paperback and E-Book)

New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author J. A. Redmerski brings us a heart-wrenching, stand-alone new adult novel that fans of her blockbuster The Edge of Never are sure to fall in love with. In THE MOMENT OF LETTING GO Sienna Murphy finally lands her dream job. It's everything she's ever wanted or so she thought. When she's sent on a business trip to Hawaii, she meets Luke Everett, a guy who makes her want to forget all her responsibilities and give in to the promise of all the happiness they could have together. As their passion grows, Luke makes Sienna start to question whether the carefully constructed life she leads is really as perfect as it seems.

Pre-Order Now!

B&N
IndieBound
iBooks
Kobo

Excerpt (Song of the Fireflies)



When I made my way back to the top, I found Bray wasn’t sitting near the edge of the ridge where I had left her I moved farther out into the clearing with our blankets draped over one shoulder.

“Bray?” I said, looking around.

I brushed it off for a second, thinking she was probably just taking a piss behind a tree somewhere, and I set our blankets on the ground.

But then I got a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach.

I walked quickly toward the edge and looked over. My heart started to bang against my rib cage. I peered down as far as my sight could penetrate the darkness, but took a step back upon realizing that if she had fallen there was no way I’d be able to see from way up here.

She had to be somewhere around close by. She had to be.

“Bray?” I called out again. “Where the hell did you go?”

Still no answer.

Panic set in quickly. I stood there as still and as quiet as I could for several long seconds in case she was coming through the woods, but I heard nothing. I arranged both hands around my mouth and shouted, “BRAY!” and my voice echoed through the wide-open space. But still nothing. I felt sick to my stomach. She wouldn’t have left like that way out here. And if she did, I would’ve seen her on the path coming down as I was making my way back up.

I ran toward the tree line, searching for any sign of her, for another path she might have taken. I refused to believe that she had fallen off the edge.

Just as I noticed another path through the woods that seemed to head south and I started to go toward it, I heard footfalls in the leaves. I didn’t wait to see if it was her, I ran blindly straight into the woods. A skinny branch slapped me across the forehead on my way, but I didn’t stop.

Bray and I nearly crashed into each other.

“Shit, baby! Where the hell did you go? Scared the hell out of me!” I started to pull her into a hug, but something about her was off and I stopped. She didn’t respond or even raise her head to look at me.

“Are you all right?”

I took her hands into mine. Hers were shaking. Her whole body was shaking.

I cupped her face in my palms and raised her head so that she’d look at me. She was crying, and something in her eyes…I couldn’t place it, but it haunted me. I wondered if she even knew I was standing right in front of her. Her hair was messy, with pieces of leaves stuck within a mass of strands. Dirt was smeared across her left cheek. She looked like she’d been in a fight.

I touched her split lip, where a thin line of blood glistened near the corner. “Bray, you’re scaring me. What happened to you?” I shook her gently and then more aggressively when she still didn’t respond. “What happened? Talk to me!”

Her lips trembled and more tears seeped from the corners of her eyes. And then as if a floodgate had been opened, she started screaming through her tears, “It was my fault! Elias! Oh my God!”

“What happened?” I roared, scared for her and for myself, my heart about to burst through my chest. 


Excerpt (The Moment of Letting Go)

He kisses me passionately for three brief seconds, his hands gripping the sides of my face, and we’re both breathless when he says, “I wanted to tell you about Landon. I wanted to tell you a lot of things, but I knew you had to go home and none of it would’ve mattered.”

I touch his lips with two of my fingers. “You can tell me whenever you’re ready. I’m here to listen, and I’m not going anywhere. There’s nothing you can say to scare me away. I won’t leave again unless it’s what you want. I still have four days left of my vacation and I want to spend them with you.”

“I want you to stay.”

“Then I’m staying.”

“What about after that?”

“We’ll figure it out.”

He gazes into my eyes, searching for something, I could never know what, but I think he finds it because his lips smash against mine and he kisses me hungrily. I feel my body being lifted into the air, my legs wrapped around his waist, and the air in the room hitting me as he carries me quickly through it, never breaking the kiss. In seconds I feel the comfort of his bed beneath my back and his lumpy pillows I missed so much, around my head.

We strip off each other’s clothes clumsily and Luke is on top of me before I can even catch my breath. But I don’t need my breath when I have his, and his kiss is deep and forceful and it alone makes my body dizzy with need.




Giveaway




http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce294/" rel="nofollow">a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 1, 2014

Weekly Book Reads (Sept 1)



 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  Beware Beware - Steph Cha
2.  Evernight - Kristen Callihan
3.  Alien World: Underworld
4.  A Plunder of Souls - D.B. Jackson (last half of book)  
5.  BTOOM Vol. 6 - Junya Inoue

Weekly Book Reading:

1.  No Limits - Lori Foster
2.  Harbor Island - Carla Neggers
3.  Far Gone - Laura Griffin
4.  Bloody Cross Vol. 3 - Shiwo Komeyama

September Releases



2nd
Son of No One - Sherrilyn Kenyon
Endless Knight - Kresley Cole
Dark Blood - Christine Feehan
Darkness Falls - Keri Arthur
Shifting Shadows - Patricia Briggs
Personal: A Jack Reacher Novel - Lee Child
Haunted - Kay Hooper
Honor's Price - Alexis Morgan
Dawn of the Arcana - Rei Toma
Seraph of the End Vol. 2 - Takaya Kagami
Time Killers: Kazue Kato Short Story Collections - Kazue Kato
Phantom Thief Jeanne Vol. 4 - Arina Tanemura
Midnight Secretary Vol. 7 - Tomu Ohmi

9th
Festive in Death - J.D. Robb
Virtual Falls - Christina Dodd
The Witch With No Name - Kim Harrison
Taste of Home Cookbook 4th Edition
Pimento Cheese: The Cookbook - PERRE COLEMAN MAGNESS
07-Ghost Vol. 12 - Yuki Amemiya

30th
Night Play - Sherrilyn Kenyon
The Queen of Zombie Hearts - Gena Showalter
The Betrayed - Heather Graham
Chained by Night - Larissa Ione
The Lost Key - Catherine Coulter
The Perfect Witness - Iris Johansen
Innocent Prey - Maggie Shayne
Going Gone - Sharon Sala
He's So Fine - Jill Shavis

Sunday, August 31, 2014

Library Haul 2014 (Aug 31 - Sept 6)




Library Haul

Here's the list of books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga I picked up this week at the library:

Hardcover:

1.  Power Play - Catherine Coulter
2.  Gone Far - Laura Griffin

Softcover:

1.  New Mexico

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Bunny Express Saturday 2014 (Aug 30)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.

For Review:








Deirdre "Foxtrot" Lancaster is back. With trusted companions Whiskey and Tango, she’s on the prowl for a brand-new predator - Deirdre has her hands full, as usual. Working as a Jill-of-all-trades for a zany billionaire like Zelda Zoransky means the daily grind is closer to a juggling act, and this week is no exception — especially when her side job is directing spiritual traffic in Zelda’s pet cemetery. With ZZ hosting a party for some of the world’s wealthiest animal collectors and a rare albino liger named Augustus in residence at the private zoo, Foxtrot is ready for trouble to take a big bite out of her schedule - TO DIE FUR She doesn’t have to wait long. The half-ton big cat is dead, and there’s a houseful of colorful suspects, each one wackier than the next. But if they were all bidding to buy him, who would want Augustus dead? With the help of Tango’s feline telepathy and Whiskey the canine shapeshifter, Foxtrot learns that there’s much more to Augustus than meets the eye. Now they just have to sniff out a killer before any more fur flies.

Thanks St. Martin's Press!

Friday, August 29, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #202



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!


When did you start blogging?
March 2011. Just when I was moving from my writing phase, I just love books so much, and blogging became the next!

What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Talking about books! I’m totally obsessed with books, they are my life, and yeah, I am crazy, but, books, they’re just so loveable and obsess-over able!

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

YA. A bit of romance, and mystery, from my favourite authors. But YA is my main thing, because it’s just so diverse and different and unique!

What is your favorite book(s)?

Top of my head? Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder, Acheron/Styxx by Sherrilyn Kenyon, and Heart of the Dragon by Gena Showalter. All 3 are favourite authors, and they’re that way because of these books!

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

I’ll have to go with the selfish answer-ARC’s. I just love to read, and getting books before they come out, to devour them earlier, to not have to wait in torture as long, is just the best!
Our Feature - Please Feed the Bookworm

1. When did you start blogging?

I started using goodreads in May of 2013 and was amazed at the amount of info I could find on books yet, there was a lot of negative silly reviews such as *stupid book, don't read* I wanted to put informative reviews for someone who came across the same problem I did so on February 1st 2014 I started Please Feed the Bookworm.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

My hands down favorite part of course is the reading but also finding a place, a niche, where i felt at home with like minded individuals. I changed my life drastically after having my 3 year old so I was flailing around for a bit before the bookish community welcomed me with open arms. Ive never felt more at home.

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Young Adult but lately I've been realizing I tend to lean way towards fantasy and anything supernatural!! Give me a good princess and dragon story anyday!

4. What are your favorite books?

This is probably the hardest ? to answer since it really depends on my mood at the time. My favorite classic is Lewis Carroll's, Alice in Wonderland. While my favorite series are Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas, The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, and A Song of Ice & Fire series (game of thrones) by George R.R. Martin. I could read these books forever and never get bored!

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

The best thing that has happened to me because of book blogging is that I finally found a hobby that allows me to use my imagination the way I've always dreamed I could by living vicariously through books. Also how can you beat the people!! I met so many cool bloggers and I can't wait to meet more in the future.

Question of the Week: Tell us about a book character you’d trade places with. 

Eve Dallas - She has a very dangerous job but coming home to Roarke (do I have to say anymore!)

Astrid - She has a very demanding job of judging people everyday but she has Zarek to come home too (I would practice my fighting skills with him)!

Bella - She has Nalla and Zsadist (I would play hide and seek everynight!)





 






Thursday, August 28, 2014

Kristen Callihan Evernight Blog Tour with Giveaway




I am so excited to have Kristen Callihan here Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Review.

Thanks Kristen and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Evernight Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Kristen!









About Kristen Callihan

Kristen Callihan is a child of the eighties, which means she's worn neon skirts, black lace gloves, and combat boots (although never all at once) and can quote John Hughes movies with the best of them. A lifelong daydreamer, she finally realized that the characters in her head needed a proper home and thus hit the keyboard. She believes that falling in love is one of the headiest experiences a person can have, so naturally she writes romance. Her love of superheroes, action movies, and history led her to write historical paranormals. She lives in the Washington, D.C., area and, when not writing, looks after two children, one husband, and a dog-the fish can fend for themselves.

Social Media:

www.KristenCallihan.com

http://facebook.com/KristenCallihan

@Kris10Callihan







About EVERNIGHT

Once the night comes


Will Thorne is living a nightmare, his sanity slowly being drained away by a force he can't control. His talents have made him the perfect assassin for hire. But as he loses his grip on reality, there is no calming him - until he finds his next target: the mysterious Holly Evernight.

Love must cast aside the shadows

Holly cannot fathom who would put a contract on her life, yet the moment she touches Will, the connection between them is elemental, undeniable - and she's the only one who can tame his bouts of madness. But other assassins are coming for Holly. Will must transform from killer to protector and find the man who wants Holly dead or his only chance for redemption will be lost.

Buy Links:.

IndieBound:
Barnes & Noble:
Books-A-Million:
Kobo:
iTunes:
GooglePlay:
Amazon:

Excerpt


Cool, hard, smooth, hot. The texture of his skin was unlike anything she'd ever felt. The metal made it smooth and cool and hard. Where not altered by metal, his skin was like hot satin, only silkier and tight with strength.

His flesh twitched beneath her palms as she mapped his chest. Every breath he took sounded loud and clear in her ears. And all the while, he watched her.

A quiver rippled along the backs of her thighs, up over her bottom, and crawled along her spine. Damn it, she was better than this. She was not a creature of base desires, but of logic and restraint. Her breath moved in and out, a slow, steady rhythm as she stroked him.

Neither of them spoke. The crackle of the fire in the grate, along with the occasional creak of the house settling, surrounded them. Beneath heavy lids, Thorne tracked her every move. And her touch grew unsteady. A momentary weakness he jumped upon.

"Does it feel good to you?" he drawled, low and easy. "Touching me?"

Instantly, the space between her legs clenched tight. Holly kept her touch impersonal. She could not live with the ignominy of revealing her wants to Thorne, who would treat her weakness as a bloody good joke. "It is a task. Just like any other." A bald-faced lie if ever she told one.

His nostrils flared, the platinum in his eyes shining bright. "Then why do I smell your cunny growing wet with need?"

Holly stopped, her palm flat against his pectoral muscle, as more slick heat flooded her sex. Oh, this was beyond the pale. What on earth had gotten into the blasted demon? "Being crude is not going to get a rise out of me, Mr. Thorne."

A small, cruel smile curled his lips. "Not going to deny it, are you, Miss Evernight?"

"Blather." She took up stroking an area tangled with platinum webbing with more force than necessary. "That is all you're about. Ridiculous blather. And I will not engage in such nonsense."

Holly concentrated on pulling the metal from him. Not on his scent, clean and pleasing in the space between them. Or the way his skin grew increasingly warmer.

When he spoke again, it was soft, teasing. "Do you know that when I said "cunny" your sweet scent grew stronger?"

Again she stopped. His dense muscles tightened beneath her nails. "Mr. Thorne—”

"Do you wonder," he whispered, holding her gaze with his, "if my cock is affected?" A dark brow lifted, his fangs glinting. "If it is more metal than flesh? Hard for you?"

She would not look down at the appendage in question. It was difficult enough to pretend each time that she wasn't aware of that part of him, or that she hadn't seen it grow and lengthen beneath the covers. Oh, she knew precisely how long and thick he was, and precisely how aroused. Each and every time.

His gaze upon her burned. "Do you want to see my cock, Miss Evernight? Feel it move inside of you?"

Gods, he made her feel empty, made her want to be filled up. Her hands turned to fists. "Stop it. Now, Mr. Thorne."

He rose up on his elbows, his white hair sliding over his broad and dusky shoulders, his defined abdomen tightening. "Or. What?"

Holly sat back on the stool by the table, placing her hands upon her lap so that he wouldn't see them trembling. "Why are you doing this?"

"Why not?"

She could not look away from the black and platinum starburst of his gaze, so very brilliant. So very angry and taunting. Her nails dug into her palms. "Find your amusement elsewhere."

His lean hips canted just a bit, an utterly crude gesture that held her in thrall. "I'd rather find it with you."

"I'm helping you, aren't I?" She hated how the words came out in a near-desperate pitch. But he had to stop. Agitation had her breath coming on hard and fast, pressing her now-heavy breasts against her too-tight bodice.

"Helping me," he scoffed. "Do not skew this into some act of kindness. You do so that I won't kill you."

"Is it kindness that you want?" She laughed without humor. "A funny way you go about getting it." She leaned forward in her anger. "Why are you saying these things? Truly? Why are you acting like such a... disgusting arse?"

He shot upright, his chest bumping into hers before she backed away a pace as if seared. "Because you never react during these torture sessions," he ground out. "Because I want that rise out of you. I want you to..." He bared his teeth, those evil-looking fangs growing longer. "I want to know if you feel—”

His teeth ground together, his eyes wild and silver-black.

"Feel?" she prompted as if her heart wasn't beating madly.

"Anything!" he roared. "Jesus." He ran a hand through his hair. "You touch me every day. You rub your hands all over me. And nothing! Not a flicker of emotion. As if I didn't exist." The expanse of his chest heaved with exertion, the sinewy muscles along his abdomen clenching. "And all the while I'm lying here aching, fucking dying to... You're driving me to insanity," he finished with a wild shout. "And it means exactly nothing to you—”

She grabbed hold of the back of his neck and kissed him. Just as she'd wanted to, her lips claiming his parted ones, shutting off the stream of words that flowed from him. His lips were soft and warm, and touching them set off a rush of lust that coursed along her limbs. He froze, going so tense that his neck felt like ice. For all of one second. And then he attacked. His hands plunged into her hair and gripped the sides of her head as he fell back, hauling her with him, devouring her with quick, biting kisses, punctuated by helpless groans.

Breathless and dizzy, she answered every kiss, opening her mouth when his mouth demanded it. They both shivered when their tongues slid together.

"Hell," he moaned, licking along her bottom lip. "Hell, I knew you'd taste so bloody good." He angled his head, plunging his tongue in deep as his hands held her captive. The gesture wicked and decadent. Grunting, he spun them, pressing her into the table with the strength of his body. His thigh nudged between hers, and her skirts slid up. Instantly, his hand was there, long fingers trailing along her skin. "I'm not stopping," he growled into her mouth. "So don't ask me to."

Holly tore her lips from his and grabbed a handful of silken hair. She held him fast and hard. "You'll stop if I say so."

Thorne paused, his lips brushing hers as he breathed heavily through his mouth. Hot, black eyes bore into her. "Are you asking me to stop?" He was so still and careful that she knew he would, despite his claim.

A fire raged through her veins. And the need to suckle his curved lower lip had her voice turning rough. "No."  



Giveaway

































































Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Wednesday Wish List



Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.










In Son of No One, next in the blockbuster The Dark-Hunters series by Sherrilyn Kenyon, it’s not easy being life’s own personal joke, but Josette Landry has made an unstable peace with the beast.

Completely down on her luck, Josette takes a job with a local paranormal group as a photographer and camerawoman. Yeah, they’re even crazier than she is. The only paranormal thing she believes in is the miracle that keeps her rusted out hoopty running. But when something truly evil is released into the world, they are forced to call in reinforcement.

From the moment Josette meets Cadegan, she knows something about him isn’t quite right.  Mysterious and armed with lethal sarcasm, he seems a lot older than his age.

Centuries ago, Cadegan was viciously betrayed into an immortal prison by the only person he’d ever trusted. Forced against his will to do good, he hates everything in life. All he wants is a way out. But for the damned there is only eternal suffering. And yet there is something about Josette that intrigues him. Something he can’t seem to fight and the last time he felt this way about a woman, it cost him everything.

He knows he has to stay away from her, but the unleashed demon is hellbent on consuming her soul. If one more innocent is taken, he will be sent back to an unimaginable prison that makes his current hell look like paradise. But how can he keep her safe when his being with her is the greatest threat of all?



 



At long last you are truly back with us

Zev Hunter was an elite warrior, a dark-blood dealer of death to rogue Lycans who preyed on mankind. He was a loner, never given to personal attachments, and damned fierce at his job. But Zev begins to question his past and his purpose when he awakens in the darkness of the sacred cave of warriors — and is soothed back to consciousness by the sensuously familiar voice of one woman, the woman who has haunted his fantasies for centuries. She was Branislava, member of the Dragonseeker clan.

Mother Earth called the ancients to witness your rebirth

For this half-mage, half-Carpathian temptress, the ritual of awakening Zev to the council of warriors was the only way to save him. Locked away for his own protection, the time has now come for his rebirth, for his blood to stir with that of the ancient warriors before him. He has been assured by Branislava that their fates are entwined, that their spirits are woven together for eternity and that his new purpose in life is beyond imagining.

Now, with a blood-sworn vow of honor, mercy and endurance, and under the influence of a siren as bewitching as Branislava, Zev begins to wonder what his purpose is, what it means for the future of the Carpathians and what it is about his rebirth that he has to fear.


 





New York Times bestselling author Keri Arthur brings her Dark Angels series to a breathtaking conclusion as half-werewolf, half-Aedh Risa Jones treads a knife’s edge between the salvation of the human race and its total annihilation.

The search for the last key to the gates of hell has begun, and half-werewolf, half-Aedh Risa Jones is in more danger than ever — and one misstep could prove ruinous. It's only a matter of time before Madeleine Hunter, the dangerous head of the vampire council, begins her hunt for complete domination. And for Risa, that comes with an alarming ultimatum: hand over the last key to Hunter or, one by one, her loved ones will die.

Now, it’s a race against time for Risa to save those she loves, and to stop Hunter's apocalyptic plan to open the very gates of hell.

INCLUDES A BONUS EXCERPT OF KERI ARTHUR’S FIREBORN 




 




Mercy Thompson’s world just got a whole lot bigger

A collection of all-new and previously published short stories featuring Mercy Thompson, “one of the best heroines in the urban fantasy genre today” (Fiction Vixen Book Reviews), and the characters she calls friends…

Includes the new stories

“Silver”
“Roses in Winter”
“Redemption”
“Hollow”

…and reader favorites

“Fairy Gifts”
“Gray”
“Alpha and Omega”
“Seeing Eye”
“The Star of David”
“In Red, with Pearls”








Jack Reacher returns in the latest fast-moving, action-packed, suspenseful book from #1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child.

You can leave the army, but the army doesn’t leave you. Not always. Not completely, notes Jack Reacher — and sure enough, the retired military cop is soon pulled back into service. This time, for the State Department and the CIA.

Someone has taken a shot at the president of France in the City of Light. The bullet was American. The distance between the gunman and the target was exceptional. How many snipers can shoot from three-quarters of a mile with total confidence? Very few, but John Kott — an American marksman gone bad—is one of them. And after fifteen years in prison, he’s out, unaccounted for, and likely drawing a bead on a G-8 summit packed with enough world leaders to tempt any assassin.

If anyone can stop Kott, it’s the man who beat him before: Reacher. And though he’d rather work alone, Reacher is teamed with Casey Nice, a rookie analyst who keeps her cool with Zoloft. But they’re facing a rough road, full of ruthless mobsters, Serbian thugs, close calls, double-crosses — and no backup if they’re caught. All the while Reacher can’t stop thinking about the woman he once failed to save. But he won’t let that that happen again. Not this time. Not Nice.

Reacher never gets too close. But now a killer is making it personal.









How do you make peace with the dead if the dead aren’t ready to forgive? In New York Times bestselling author Kay Hooper’s new novel, the answer lies in the twisting shadows of a small town, and its secrets yet unearthed.

When Deacon James’s younger sister Melanie calls him, terrified, he goes to her aid in the small Georgia town of Sociable. What he finds is a scared young woman in the grip of what she insists is a paranormal nightmare — and murder. Two local men have been killed under mysterious circumstances. And Melanie is the prime suspect.

Trinity Nichols left a high-stress job for quiet, small-town life. But news of the murders has left her — and the town — on edge, especially when there is nothing remotely ordinary about how the men died. And her investigation is yielding more than she bargained for, including a group of strangers who have descended on Sociable, some with abilities Trinity finds hard to believe, and agendas she refuses to trust. For some reason, they know a lot more than they should about what’s happening in town. And what’s happening is growing stranger by the minute.

Now Trinity, Deacon, and this odd band of FBI agents must work together to solve a series of disturbances so incredible that Trinity, and the town of Sociable, will be changed forever. She just isn’t certain who — or what — will be left standing when it’s all over.

Manga:








Princess Nakaba of Senan is forced to marry Prince Caesar of the enemy country Belquat, tantamount to becoming a hostage. While Caesar is pleasing to the eye, he is also selfish and possessive, telling Nakaba outright: “You are my property.” With only her attendant Loki at her side, Nakaba must find a way to cope with her hostile surroundings, her fake marriage and a mysterious power!

Princess Nakaba of Senan and Prince Caesar of Belquat only married each other for the sake of peace between their two warring countries, but the two grow to care deeply for each other over time. Just when it looks like Nakaba and Caesar can finally unite Senan and Belquat, however, Nakaba’s beloved attendant Loki asks that she hand Senan over to him! Will Nakaba give in to Loki’s demands? And what life-changing secret will Nakaba’s Arcana of Time power reveal during the height of her distress?







After a catastrophic epidemic kills every adult on earth, vampires arise from the shadows to enslave the remaining human population. Yuichiro escapes from captivity and joins the Japanese Imperial Demon Army. But before he’s allowed to fight vampires, he has to complete his first, terrifying mission–make new friends with his fellow aspiring monster slayers!

Now that Yuichiro has earned his place in the Japanese Imperial Demon Army, he prepares to undergo a fiendish test to acquire the most powerful and deadly of humanity’s weapons against vampires — Black Demon Series Cursed Gear. Meanwhile, the vampire nobility welcome a new member — Mika, the best friend Yuichiro thinks died in their escape but who has his own bitter story of survival.








Explore fantastic realms of imagination in this stunning collection of short stories by Kazue Kato, creator of the smash hit manga series, Blue Exorcist! With Kato’s amazing and distinctive art leaping from the page, Time Killers includes her first work, Boku to Usagi (Rabbit and I) and features the stories and character designs that would become her breakthrough series, Blue Exorcist. Take off on a flight of fantasy with Time Killers!







High school student Maron Kusakabe has a secret: she’s Phantom Thief Jeanne. She sneaks into private art collections to steal paintings in which demons reside. Jeanne’s task is to seal the demons before they can devour human hearts. So far she’s been able to evade the police on her midnight outings, but now another thief has come onto the scene — Phantom Thief Sinbad — and he’s trying to take the paintings before she does!






Kaya Satozuka prides herself on being an excellent secretary and a consummate professional, so she doesn’t even bat an eye when she’s reassigned to the office of her company’s difficult director, Kyohei Touma. He’s as prickly — and hot — as rumors paint him, but Kaya is unfazed…until she discovers that he’s a vampire!!

Kyohei has been banished from his clan because he refuses to renounce his love for Kaya. But a lone vampire is a dangerous thing to be, and Kyohei finds himself cut off from the vampires' power and protection. He doesn't even have access to blood substitutes anymore! Kaya wants to support him through this crisis, but arranging "dinner dates" for him again might be more than her heart can take!

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

New Releases 2014 (Aug 26)



 




New Releases









In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate.

Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just beyond her own. But when her sister goes missing, Ivy discovers the truth is far worse -- her hallucinations are real, and her sister is trapped in a parallel realm. And the one person who believes her is the dangerously attractive guy who's bound by an ancient legacy to betray her.

Adrian might have turned his back on those who raised him, but that doesn't mean he can change his fate no matter how strong a pull he feels toward Ivy. Together they search for the powerful relic that can save her sister, but Adrian knows what Ivy doesn't: that every step brings Ivy closer to the truth about her own destiny, and a war that could doom the world. Sooner or later, it will be Ivy on one side, Adrian on the other, and nothing but ashes in between.




 



Once the night comes

Will Thorne is living a nightmare, his sanity slowly being drained away by a force he can't control. His talents have made him the perfect assassin for hire. But as he loses his grip on reality, there is no calming him - until he finds his next target: the mysterious Holly Evernight.

Love must cast aside the shadows

Holly cannot fathom who would put a contract on her life, yet the moment she touches Will, the connection between them is elemental, undeniable-and she's the only one who can tame his bouts of madness. But other assassins are coming for Holly. Will must transform from killer to protector and find the man who wants Holly dead or his only chance for redemption will be lost.









MORTAL RECALL

For Sam Ryan, life began at age fourteen. She has no memory of her parents or her childhood. In a decade of service with the State Police, Sam has exhausted the resources of the force searching for clues to her identity. But all mention of her family seems to have been deliberately wiped off the record. Everything changes the night Sam’s missing partner resurfaces as a vampire and forces her to kill him in self-defense. Now Sam is charged with murder. Suspended from the force, and with no one left to trust, Sam accepts some unexpected help from Gabriel Stern, a shapeshifter who conceals startling secrets.

While investigating the circumstances surrounding her partner’s strange behavior, Sam discovers that Garbriel’s been involved with a dangerous organization that’s planning a war on the human race. More immediate, someone is guarding the truth about Sam’s past — someone who’d rather see her dead than risk her knowing too much. To stay alive, Sam must unravel the threads of her past — and find out not only who she is but what she is.








From #1 New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jackson comes an atmospheric and riveting novel of suspense that uncovers the horrifying secrets buried within a ramshackle house.

Vowing to make a fresh start, Sarah McAdams has come home to renovate the old Victorian mansion where she grew up. Her daughters, Jade and Gracie, aren’t impressed by the rundown property on the shores of Oregon’s wild Columbia River. As soon as they pull up the isolated drive, Sarah too is beset by uneasy memories — of her cold, distant mother, of the half-sister who vanished without a trace, and of a long-ago night when Sarah was found on the widow’s walk, feverish and delirious.

Ever since the original mistress of the house plunged to her death almost a century ago, there have been rumors that the place is haunted. As a girl, Sarah sensed a presence there, and soon Gracie claims to see a lady in white running up the stairs. Still, Sarah has little time to dwell on ghost stories, between overseeing construction and dealing with the return of a man from her past.

But there’s a new, more urgent menace in the small town. One by one, teenage girls are disappearing. Frantic for her daughters’ safety, Sarah feels her veneer cracking and the house’s walls closing in on her again. Somewhere deep in her memory is the key to a very real and terrifying danger. And only by confronting her worst fears can she stop the nightmare roaring back to life once more.









Police detective Andrea Finch is a rising star in her department until a split-second decision derails her career. Disgraced and disillusioned, she’s on leave from her job when she gets an urgent call from her younger brother. She’d prefer to ignore his latest plea for cash, but this time instinct tells her something is very wrong. Andrea’s search for answers takes her to a dusty Texas border town where danger lurks in plain sight and nothing is quite what it seems.

FBI agent Jon North is working undercover in west Texas, investigating an unsolved murder that may be linked to a terrorist plot. But when the evidence points to Andrea’s brother, Jon finds that persuading the stubborn cop to help will be harder than cracking his toughest case.

Andrea must find a way to do what’s right while protecting her only sibling. As the clock ticks down, Andrea and Jon race to confront a heartless killer who will stop at nothing to deliver a final, terrifying message.



 




In a small town, reputation is everything. In her latest novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Robyn Carr explores the burden placed on a young man returning home to face his mistakes — the first step in claiming the life he was meant to live

At the age of nineteen, Seth Sileski had everything. A superb athlete and scholar, handsome and popular, he was the pride of Thunder Point. Destined for greatness, he lost it all in a terrible accident that put an end to his professional football career when it had barely begun. The people in his hometown have never forgotten what might have been.

Seth has come to terms with the turns his life has taken. But now he's been presented with an opportunity to return home and show his father — and the people of Thunder Point — he's become a better, humbler version of his former self.

Winning over his father isn't the only challenge. Seth must also find a way to convince his childhood neighbor and best friend, Iris McKinley, to forgive him for breaking her heart. With his homecoming, will Seth be able to convince the town, his family and especially Iris that he's finally ready to be the man who will make them all proud?
Related Posts with Thumbnails