Sunday, August 2, 2015

Charlotte Stein's Never Loved Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway



I am so excited to have Charlotte Stein here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Charlotte and Tasty Book Tours for allowing me to join your Never Loved Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Charlotte!





Never Loved
Dark Obsession # 1
By: Charlotte Stein
Releasing July 21st, 2015
Loveswept

Blurb

Perfect for fans of Abbi Glines, the first novel in the Dark Obsession series tells the story of a beautiful wallflower who falls for a chiseled street fighter and learns just how dangerous love can be.

Beatrix Becker spent most of her life under the thumb of her controlling, abusive father. And now that she’s free and attending her dream college, she has no idea how to act like the normal crowd: partying, going on dates, even having a conversation. Then she meets Serge Sorensen. Big and surly with a whole host of riotous tattoos, Serge is supposed to scare the hell out of her. But beneath his harsh exterior, Beatrix discovers a kindred spirit who knows what it’s like to be a misfit. Most exhilarating — and terrifying — is what he does for a living: illegal street fighting.

There’s nothing like the rush Serge gets from the intense athleticism and brutal glory of combat — though his chemistry with Beatrix comes close. Slowly at first, he introduces her to his world, where he lives by instinct, passion, and desire. He even helps her out with her equally traumatized brother. But when Serge gets in too deep with the wrong people, he ends up paying in blood. And suddenly, just as Beatrix has been drawn into Serge’s perfectly sculpted arms, she’s thrown once and for all into the fight of his life.

Link to Follow Tour: http://www.tastybooktours.com/2015/03/never-loved-dark-obsession-1-by.html

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/23433442-never-loved?ac=1

Goodreads Series Link: https://www.goodreads.com/series/139124-dark-obsession

Buy Links: Amazon | B & N | iTunes | Kobo | Publisher
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Never-Loved-Dark-Obsession-Novel-ebook/dp/B00O02CBH4/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1426971764&sr=1-1&keywords=9781101882771
B and N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/never-loved-charlotte-stein/1120817196?ean=9781101882771
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/never-loved/id954737927?mt=11
Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/never-loved
Publisher: http://www.randomhouse.com/book/247831/never-loved-by-charlotte-stein







Author Info

Charlotte Stein has written over thirty short stories, novellas and novels, including entries in The Mammoth Book of Hot Romance and Best New Erotica 10. Her latest work, Run To You, was recently a DABWAHA finalist. When not writing deeply emotional and intensely sexy books, she can be found eating jelly turtles, watching terrible sitcoms and occasionally lusting after hunks. For more on Charlotte, visit: www.charlottestein.net

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | GoodReads

Website: http://charlottestein.net/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CharlotteSteinAuthor/timeline

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Charlotte_Stein

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/3200938.Charlotte_Stein


Excerpt

“I tell you what, girl. How about you hop on, and I’ll take you to where he is.”


Some of the guys around him laugh. Hell, he seems to be laughing a little, too. He even slaps the back of his bike like the punch line to this whole crazy joke — he knows I’m never going to climb up on that thing. Everyone knows I’m not going to climb up on that thing. I’m a soft little kid, in corduroy.


Though for once in my life, I don’t want to be. I want to say yes, just to show him. Just to make up for all the times when I went back to my room and changed and changed and changed until my clothes were suitable, or stayed silent because silence was golden and talking back got you the basement. I don’t have to stay silent here, if I really don’t want to.


But that only makes it more disappointing when my sad little mouth leaks out, “I can’t do that.”

In fact, it’s so disappointing that he seems to catch some of it. He snorts, of course, as though he expected that answer all along. Yet beneath that snort I think I see something else, just sort of drifting around down there. A bitterness, I think, that carries through his otherwise amused and rather withering words.


“Afraid of bikes, huh?”


“Yeah, you could say that.”

“And maybe afraid of me?”


“I’d have to be insane to be anything else.”

“Oh, yeah? Why’s that?”

“Think it’s pretty obvious.”

“Try me.”

“Mostly it’s the size.”

He makes a face like Yeah, that makes sense.

But the shadow of that odd disappointment is still there.

“What can I say? I’m a big guy.”

“And maybe the tattoos.”

“I sure got them.”

“And the hair.”

“You don’t like it?”

He runs a hand over that thick black stripe right down the center, like some lady at a salon showing off her new hairdo. And it’s funny; it really is funny. It’s so funny that the assembled crowd laughs again to see him do it. This is probably the kind of show he does all the time, and I’m sure none of them ever question it.

But I’m questioning it. I can still see that serious undercurrent beneath his jokey manner, and it makes me answer him in a more impassioned way than I intend. “No, no, it’s not that at all,” I say, though it’s only afterward that I realize how true that sentiment is.

Yeah, he’s scary as fuck. Yeah, the thought of riding off with him on that bike almost freezes my blood. But if I’m honest with myself about liking that hair . . . I can’t exactly say no. I do like it. I like a lot of things about him, in a way I don’t fully understand. He should ping just about every aggressive-man fear I have, but every time I try to think of him that way, something else happens instead. I see the contrast between those black stripes and his pale blue eyes, and the way he waits for my answer in this actually interested manner, and how strange all of his clothes are and that flash of bitterness or weariness in him again, and then suddenly there it is:

The word handsome.

Dear God, I think he might be handsome, though I’m not going to stick around long enough to find out for sure.

“I’ve got to go,” I blurt out, but I immediately regret it. I should have just turned and run really quickly — not given him warning. Now he’s got time to punish me as I ever so slowly start to walk away. Oh, look at the little college girl. She’s frightened, he’ll say, and then someone will throw a rock at me. All of them will throw rocks at me, until I’m a bruised and bloody pulp on the front page of tomorrow’s newspaper. Idiot Student Finds Angry Biker Handsome, I imagine, though I’ve no idea why I’m doing it.

That doesn’t even make any sense. People don’t write reports about girls randomly noticing attractiveness. They write reports about girls being murdered, so really, that should be my headline. Idiot Student Has Arms and Legs Pulled Off by Handsome Biker, I try, but I can’t help noticing that the word handsome is still in there.

God, I wish it wasn’t still in there.

It’s hard enough as it is to walk to my car without glancing back. Putting the word handsome in there makes it nearly impossible. My eyes want me to double-check, and not just because I probably hallucinated how good-looking he is. They want me to check because I’m almost positive I can feel his gaze pressing into my back. I can feel it the way people in books say they can feel it, even though I usually snort and roll my eyes when I get to stuff like that. You can’t sense someone’s stare in real life. That’s just not the way it works.

So how come I’m right?

I dare to glance up once I’m inside the safety of my car, expecting to see him going about his business. Maybe he’ll be in the middle of some awful drug thing, I think. Maybe he’ll be making some kid pay for wanting to do something other than come right home after school. But he isn’t doing either of those things — not even close.

Instead I see those frostbitten eyes still steadily on me, as everyone around him returns to their rowdy and brutal ballet.
Rafflecopter Giveaway (Loveswept Mug, FLIRT Mug and Select Ebook Bundle)



 


Saturday, August 1, 2015

Bunny Express Saturday 2015 (Aug 1)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.


For Review:
 





 
Let the battle for souls begin in Dead Man's Reach, the fourth, stand-alone novel in D.B. Jackson's acclaimed Thieftaker series.

Boston, 1770: The city is a powder keg as tensions between would-be rebels and loyalist torries approach a breaking point and one man is willing to light the match that sets everything off to ensure that he has his revenge.

The presence of the British Regulars has made thieftaking a hard business to be in and the jobs that are available are reserved for Sephira Pryce. Ethan Kaille has to resort to taking on jobs that he would otherwise pass up, namely protecting the shops of Torries from Patriot mobs. But, when one British loyalist takes things too far and accidentally kills a young boy, even Ethan reconsiders his line of work. Even more troubling is that instances of violence in the city are increasing, and Ethan often finds himself at the center of the trouble.

Once Ethan realizes why he is at the center of all the violence, he finds out that some enemies don't stay buried and will stop at nothing to ruin Ethan's life. Even if that means costing the lives of everyone in Boston, including the people that Ethan loves most.

Thanks TOR Books!

August Releases

 


3rd
Alert - James Patterson

4th
DragonBane - Sherrilyn Kenyon
Best Laid Plans - Allison Brennan
Perfect Sin - Kat Martin
Edge of Darkness - Christine Feehan and Maggie Shayne
Rough Edges - Shannon K. Butcher
Primal Heat - A.C. Arthur
Chase the Darkness - J.D. Tyler

11th
Embracing Love, Vol. 3 (Embracing Love (2-in-1)) - Youka Nitta


18th
Friction - Sandra Brown
Deceptions - Kelley Armstrong
Human Nature - Eileen Wilks
Black Bullet Vol. 1 - Shiden Kanzaki
RustBlaster Vol. 1 - Yana Toboso
Tokyo Ghoul Vol. 2 - Sui Ishida
Barakamon Vol. 4 - Satsuki Yoshino
BTOOM Vol. 11 - Junya Inoue
Emma Vol. 2 - Kaoru Mori

25th
Keepers Reach - Carla Neggers
The Last Time I Saw Her - Karen Robards
Cold Hearts - Sharon Sala
Knight Triumph - Heather Graham
Tough Love - Lori Foster
Wildest Dreams - Robyn Carr
Otherworld Secrets - Kelley Armstrong

Friday, July 31, 2015

Cozy Review: Ming Tea Murder (Tea Shop Mysteries)



I've finished "Ming Tea Murder" the 16th book in her Tea Shop Mystery Series by Laura Childs.

Product Description

It’s scones and scandal for Indigo Tea Shop owner Theodosia Browning in the latest from the New York Times bestselling author of Steeped in Evil.


Normally Theodosia wouldn’t attend a black tie affair for all the tea in China. But she can hardly say no to her hunky, handsome boyfriend, Max, who directs public relations for the Gibbes Museum in Charleston. Max has organized an amazing gala opening for an exhibit of a genuine eighteenth century Chinese teahouse, and the crème de la crème of Charleston society is invited.

In the exotic garden staged in the museum’s rotunda, a Chinese dragon dances to the beat of drums as it weaves through the crowd. The guests are serenaded by a Chinese violin as they sample an assortment of tempting bites. And to give them a memento of the occasion, there’s even a photo booth. But Theodosia makes a grim discovery behind the booth’s curtains: the body of museum donor Edgar Webster.

While Theodosia prefers tea service over the service of justice, this case is difficult to ignore — especially after Max becomes a suspect. Now she must examine the life of the fallen philanthropist and find out who really wanted him to pay up.

INCLUDES DELICIOUS RECIPES AND TEA TIME TIPS!


About the Author

Laura Childs is the New York Times bestselling author of the Tea Shop Mysteries, Scrapbook Mysteries, and Cackleberry Club Mysteries, and a recent recipient of the Romantic Times Book Review’s Award for Best Amateur Sleuth. In her previous life, she was CEO/Creative Director of her own marketing firm and authored several screenplays. She is married to a professor of Chinese art history, loves to travel, rides horses, enjoys fund-raising for various non-profit organizations, and has two Chinese Shar-Pei dogs.

Product Details
Series: Tea Shop Mysteries (Book 16)

Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Berkley (May 5, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0425281647
ISBN-13: 978-0425281642

My Review:


4/5

Thursday, July 30, 2015

Manga Review: Alice in Murderland Vol. 1



I've finished "Alice in Murderland Vol. 1" by Kaori Yuki.

Product Description

Now! Let the "Mad Tea Party" begin!


The Kuonji clan, owner of one of the world's top conglomerates, has a tradition: Once a month, family members attend a "Mad Tea Party." But at the latest gathering, the nine Kuonji siblings in attendance are shocked to hear a pronouncement issue from the lips of their mother, Olga -

"I'd like you children to now fight one another to the death!"

As chaos erupts, Stella, the fourth daughter, loses all reason, and suddenly a whole new Stella, complete with blonde hair and blue dress, comes out to play!

About the Author

Kaori Yuki is a manga artist best known for her gorgeously illustrated gothic manga series Earl Cain, Godchild, Angel Sanctuary, and Demon from Afar.

Product Details
Series: Alice in Murderland (Book 1)

Hardcover: 176 pages
Publisher: Yen Press (June 23, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316342122
ISBN-13: 978-0316342124


My Review:

This is one messed up viciously bloody manga which I highly recommend if you can stomach violence.

Stella is a very gentle and kind girl until she loses sanity then she turns into a viscous blood thirsty killer.  She is very close to her oldest brother and older and younger siblings.  She has a an older brother who enjoys killing people especially girls!

I can't say too much otherwise I will spoil the plot and give too much away unless you want me too!

5/5

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada/Yen Press for sending me this manga to review, greatly appreciated!

June Williamson's Thai Food Made Easy Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Review



I am so excited to have June Williamson here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Review.

Thanks June and Cedar Fort Publishing and Media for allowing me to join your Thai Food Made Easy Blog Tour!

Please take it away, June!






About the Book:

Stop spending a fortune on takeout and bring the delicious flavors of Thai food into your own kitchen. With a tantalizing variety of curries, pad thai, and all your other favorites to try, this book takes the mystery out of Thai food preparation so you can enjoy those fresh and exotic flavors any day of the week.







About the Author:

June V. Williamson was born in a little northeastern town of Udorn, Thailand. When she was 7 years old, her mother met, fell in love, and married an American Air Force officer. This was the beginning of her military life of living back and forth from America to Thailand being exposed to the native Thai life for 9 years. However, those years were deliciously profound. Thai food had been infused into her by Thai street vendors and her Thai mother. She is now back to living in another beautiful little town, but in Utah with her husband and 5 children.

Thai Red Curry


Ingredients

1 T. canola oil
1 lb chicken breasts (boneless, skinless, sliced)
2-3 T. red curry Paste
1 can coconut cream (13.5 oz) or approximately 2 cups
1 cup chicken broth
1 cup bamboo shoots (strips)
1 cup green vegetables sliced (zucchini, green beans, peas…)
2 tsp fish sauce
1 tsp sugar
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp msg/”accent” optional

Directions

Place chicken and curry paste into hot oil.
Stir constantly until the chicken is semi-cooked.
Add all remaining ingredients.
Cover and cook 1- 2 minutes until chicken is done.
Serve over steamed rice.

My Review:

I jumped at the chance to review this book because I've never really had that much Thai food except for Pai Thai a couple of times which I really enjoyed!

The cover is really inviting and the picture looks very yummy which made me what to check out the book!

I loved the shopping list at the end of each recipe and the information of all the different curries.

Glad that each recipe had a picture of the final product and each was really easy to follow short and sweet!

I can't wait to make most of the recipes especially the hot and spicy ones but haven't had a chance since it's been so hot.

Thanks Cedar Fort Publishing and Media for sending me this book to review, greatly appreciated!

Wednesday, July 29, 2015

Wednesday Wish List


Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.







"This is not a test" -- every New Yorker's worst nightmare is about to become a reality.

New Yorkers aren't easily intimidated, but someone is doing their best to scare them, badly: why?

After two inexplicable high-tech attacks, the city that never sleeps is on edge. Detective Michael Bennett, along with his old pal, the FBI's Emily Parker, have to catch the shadowy criminals who claim responsibility -- but they're as good at concealing their identities as they are at wreaking havoc.

In the wake of a shocking assassination, Bennett begins to suspect that these mysterious events are just the prelude to the biggest threat of all. Soon he's racing against the clock, and against the most destructive enemy he's faced yet, to save his beloved city -- before everyone's worst nightmare becomes a reality.







Out of all the mysterious boarders who call Sanctuary home, no one is more antisocial or withdrawn than Maxis Drago. But then, it's hard to blend in with the modern world when you have a fifty foot wingspan.

Centuries ago, he was cursed by an enemy who swore to see him fall. An enemy who took everything from him and left him forever secluded.

But Fate is a bitch, with a wicked sense of humor. And when she throws old enemies together and threatens the wife he thought had died centuries ago, he comes back with a vengeance. Modern day New Orleans has become a battleground for the oldest of evils. And two dragons will hold the line, or go down in flames, in Dragonbane, the next explosive Dark-Hunter novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Sherrilyn Kenyon.



 



Newly minted FBI Agent Lucy Kincaid is settling into her job in San Antonio, Texas, when the corpse of Harper Worthington, the husband of a sitting congresswoman, is found naked in a motel on the wrong side of town. It's up to Lucy to locate the last person to see him alive: a teenage prostitute who seems to have vanished into thin air.

When forensics determines that Harper was poisoned, Lucy and her new by-the-book partner dig deep into his life to find out who might want him dead. Why did Harper lie to his wife and his staff? Was he involved in an illicit affair? Embezzling money? Laundering money for a drug cartel? Or was he simply a pawn in someone else's dangerous game?

Lucy's boyfriend Sean Rogan is hired by Harper's company to run a security audit, causing friction between Lucy and the FBI. But when Sean finds a high-tech bug in Harper's office, an entirely new threat emerges -- a far-reaching conspiracy run by a ruthless killer who will do anything to get what he wants, and kill anyone who gets in his way. And the person between him and victory is Lucy Kincaid.






Perfect Plan

He was the ultimate rake. But Randall Clayton, seventh Duke of Beldon, harbors a hidden motive for seducing the fiery-haired, passionate Caitlin Harmon. Rand is on a mission to find a murderer and it's leading straight to Caitlin's father.

Perfect Seduction

She was the ultimate temptation. Cait, the feisty, intellectual daughter of an American adventurer, is certain she will never fall in love. But one dance with Rand Clayton and Cait's heart is lost forever.

Perfect Sin

Theirs was the ultimate love. They were the talk of London -- until passion and betrayal tore them apart. Now Rand must embark on the quest of a lifetime: proving to Caitlin that love is the most powerful treasure of all.












Take an all-new excursion in the world of the Carpathians from #1 New York Times bestselling author Christine Feehan — joined here by Maggie Shayne and Lori Herter, two other masters of vampire romance in an original anthology that takes dark fantasy to rapturous new heights.

Dark Crime by Christine Feehan

Blaze knows who killed her father and she has merciless plans for payback. Until a phone call from a seductive stranger pleads with her to wait. Retribution is in his blood, too. Now, he and Blaze will be united in the blood of the guilty. Tonight, vengeance is theirs.

Dead by Twilight by Maggie Shayne

Bloodsuckers may be an accepted minority but one of them is getting away with murder. Until a female vamp teams with a mortal detective to end the killing spree. Now the night belongs to them — and so does every pleasure and danger lurking in the shadows.

Cimarron Spirit by Lori Herter

While excavating an Anasazi ruin, archeologist Annie Carmichael uncovers the resting place of a centuries-old vampire who finds in Annie the liberating mate he has longed for. But how much is Annie expected — or willing — to surrender for the man she now desires?





From the author of Edge of Betrayal — the Edge series returns with the climactic fifth novel, and an all-new explosive, romantic adventure.

In the world of covert operations, Bella Bayne knows how to get the job done. And with her work coming first, her personal life is coming in a distant second. Even though Bella would like nothing more than to ravish the rugged, handsome Victor Temple, she’s his superior so it’s a strictly hands-off affair.

When Bella gets a solid lead on the location of Dr. Norma Stynger — the twisted mind behind Project Threshold — she must team up with Victor if they are to finally bring justice to the madwoman. But when Norma’s daughter risks her life to help the team, Bella is faced with the impossible task of deciding who will live and who will die.






In the savage world of shapeshifters desire can be as dangerous as nature itself

As bodyguard to the most powerful shapeshifter in the human world, Shadow Shifter, Eli Preston has sworn to protect his leader, defend their alliance, and keep his darker instincts in check. But when a beautiful female trainee arouses his jaguar senses, there is no stopping the beast within. He must have her. Even if it jeopardizes the deadliest mission of his life.

When the heat is on-and the claws come out-the heart is the fiercest hunter

For six years, Nivea has been waiting for Eli to take her in his arms, unleash his animal urges, and claim her as his mate. But once their passion is unleashed - in a reckless moment of pure unbridled lust-nothing can ever be the same. The battlelines are drawn: man versus animal, shapeshifter versus shapeshifter. And Eli must be prepared to fight for his life - and his love - or he will lose Nivea forever in Primal Heat by A.C. Arthur.





The author of Wolf’s Fall returns with her “hot and to die for”* Alpha Pack — a top-secret band of Navy SEALs with Psy powers and shifter prowess whose dangerous missions sometimes require a more intimate call to duty.

Believed dead by his Pack mates, Micah Chase, a wolf shifter and Dreamwalker, was held captive for months, subject to tortures that left him physically scarred and emotionally unsettled.

Now under the care of the Alpha Pack’s doctors, he’s been prescribed an experimental healing drug, but he still can’t shake the nightmares. Even more damning is that Micah’s problems pose a danger to his team, and if he doesn’t get himself under control, they’ll all suffer a terrible fate.

There is a key to his salvation. Jacee is a beautiful coyote shifter, and though her kind is hated, she’s falling in love with a man whose very future is in her hands. Together they’ll face his personal demons as well as a deadly enemy — and for both of them desire has never come with such risk.

Katie MacAlister's Dragon Fall Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway


I am so excited to have Katie MacAlister here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt, Giveaway and Review.

Thanks Katie and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Dragon Fall Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Katie!





About DRAGON FALL

For Aoife Dakar, seeing is believing - and she's seen some extraordinary things. It's too bad no one else believes that she witnessed a supernatural murder at an outdoor fair. Returning to the scene for proof, Aoife encounters a wise-cracking demon dog-and a gloriously naked man who can shift into a dragon and kiss like a god. Now thrust into a fantastical world that's both exhilarating and terrifying, Aoife is about to learn just how hot a dragon's fire burns.

Kostya has no time for a human woman with endless questions, no matter how gorgeous or tempting she is. He must break the curse that has splintered the dragon clans before more of his kind die. But his powerful attraction to Aoife runs much deeper than the physical - and there may be more to her than even his sharp dragon eyes can see. To survive the coming battle for the fate of his race, he needs a mate of true heart and soul.

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1gDE624
B and N: http://bit.ly/1gDE6iR
iTunes: http://apple.co/1HwU07n
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1HwTTZz
BAM!: http://bit.ly/1V7fn6l
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1OgIlfg









About Katie MacAlister

For as long as she can remember Katie MacAlister has loved reading, and grew up with her nose buried in a book. It wasn't until many years later that she thought about writing her own books, but once she had a taste of the fun to be had building worlds, tormenting characters, and falling madly in love with all her heroes, she was hooked.

With more than fifty books under her belt, Katie's novels have been translated into numerous languages, been recorded as audiobooks, received several awards, and are regulars on the New York Times, USA Today, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists. A self-proclaimed gamer girl, she lives in the Pacific Northwest with her dogs, and frequently can be found hanging around online.

http://katiemacalister.com/
https://www.facebook.com/katie.mac.minions
https://twitter.com/katiemacalister

Excerpt

Kostya took my arms in his hands, giving me a little shake. “You appear to be denying the existence of Jim, amongst other things. Is that it? You do not wish to admit that I am a dragon, and Jim is a demon?”

“Oh, now you’re a dragon, are you?” I asked, stifling the urge to laugh hysterically.

“I have always been a dragon.” His tone implied that he was vaguely insulted, but before I could make a comment about his sanity — let alone mine for even having that conversation — the world as I knew it came to an end.

Or rather, the world that I had lived in for the last two years ended. Before my unbelieving eyes, Kostya’s form seemed to shimmer for a moment before morphing into that of a black dragon, complete with glossy black scales, ivory claws, and trickle of smoke coming out of one nostril. I froze, staring, my brain trying to come to terms with the impossible being in front of me, but before I could do more than squawk, the dragon shimmered again and Kostya stood in its place.

That was the moment that my sad little inner voice stood up and shouted with joy, filled with vindication after two years of denial.

“Holy sex me now!” I said, the rest of my brain still having problems coping with the fact that a dragon — a dragon! — had stood before me, his claws on my arms.

Told you so, said the formerly sad inner voice. Guess Terrin was right all along, huh? Now we can get on with life. I wonder what a demon lord does?

And that’s when the penny dropped. “You’re the black dragon I saw at GothFaire that night the world went insane. You’re the guy Terrin pointed out to me.”

“I do not know anyone named Terrin. As for your request”

“What request?” I asked, confused while my mind was busy pushing bits of puzzle pieces into place. No wonder Kostya looked familiar to me. But that meant that everything Terrin told me was true. Which in turn meant I wasn’t the least bit ga-ga. Relief swamped me when I added, “I didn’t ask you for anything.”

“You did. You asked me to sex you now. I realize that you desire my body,” Kostya said to me in the same stern tone of voice that my father had used whenever I was caught doing something I oughtn’t, “but now is hardly the time or place for such actions. I will admit, however, that the thought is not displeasing to me. You are quite comely. Later, we will have the sexing. But for now, we must remain focused.”

I giggled. I couldn’t help it, the giggle just slipped out.

His frown returned. “You find me amusing?”

“I find your phrasing amusing. Comely, to be exact. I don’t think I’ve ever heard it used outside of a Georgette Heyer novel. And for the record” I had to stop for a moment to get a grip on myself. Apparently, my brain decided that giggling was good, and there was no reason to cease that action. “For the record, I do not desire your body. Not that you’re hideous or anything, far from it. Even with those scars, your chest is really nice, and I like your legs because they aren’t scrawny, and you have nice shoulders and naughty bits, but I’ve never been one to put physical attributes ahead of more important things.”

“Such as?” He had his hands on his hips when he asked the question, which just made me want to giggle again.

“Intelligence, a sense of humor, and oh yes, not being a mythical creature.” I swallowed another giggle. “Not that it wasn’t a cool form, but still. I like my men without the sort of baggage that must go with being a shapeshifter.”

“Is that so?” One eyebrow lifted.

“Yes.”

“Then you will not like this.” He pulled me against him, his mouth moving into place on mine, his breath hotter than I could have imagined. And then he kissed the very wits right out of my brain.

Giveaway




a Rafflecopter giveaway

Meg Hennessy's A Pirate's Command Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Guest Post



I am so excited to have Meg Hennessy here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight.

Thanks Meg and Pump Up Your Book Promotions for allowing me to join your A Pirate's Command Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Meg!



Title: A Pirate’s Command
Author: Meg Hennessy
Publisher: Entangled: Seclect Historical
Genre: Historical Romance
Format: Kindle

His secrets could destroy her

New Orleans, 1817


Colette Kincaid once knew such love and delicious passion in the arms of her pirate husband, Donato de la Roche. Yet Colette could not continue to live as the wife of a pirate, when reunited with her family. So she fled, taking their son with her and reconciling herself to never seeing her husband again.

Until their son is taken.

Donato is convinced his wife is behind his son’s disappearance-just as she is convinced he is the villain. Now they’re unable to leave each other’s side as they seek their child, forced to confront the desire that still smolders between them. But Donato knows that soon he must face the secret about Colette he’s been hiding for so long. And it’s a secret for which there is no forgiveness.

ORDER INFORMATION

A Pirate’s Command is available for purchase at


amazon
BN
add-to-goodreads-button3

  

PUYB Meet the Author





Meg Hennessy read her first historical romance when Rosemary Rodgers’, Sweet Savage Love, swept the college campuses. She won’t admit how many years ago that was, but was forever hooked on the genre of happy-ever-afters. Meg grew up immersed in the culture of her father’s old Southern family and writes with a Southern flavor. It was her sense of wonderment when visiting her grandmother’s home as a child that now bubbles upward into her writing of today, creating steamy nights of intrigue and romance.

She had been writing for years, but seriously pursued publication in 2009. Seeking authenticity for her first novel, she researched hundreds of books, visited numerous battlefields, and toured antebellum homes. When it came to putting pen to paper, Meg found her story-telling voice, as her heroine simply stepped into Shadows of a Southern Moon,winning the 2010 EPIC Award for best Historical Romance and launching her writing career.

Meg lives amid the beautiful rolling hills of southeastern Wisconsin. Besides writing and spoiling her much-loved horse, she enjoys backyard birding, nature walks, and admits to being a gardening addict. Having spun stories for years, she enjoys seeing her dream come true as her characters spring to life and step within the beautifully bound pages of a romance novel.

For More Information

Visit Meg’s website.


Twitter
Facebook


Guest Post

A Pirate’s Command is book two of the Secrets of the Bayous Trilogy. When I wrote the first book, Dark Secrets, Deep Bayous, I had written with the idea it was a single book, but after it was completed I had the sister of the hero, ask me (as characters do) to write her story. As I looked at the first book, it had lent itself to a sequel. Maybe I had that in my mind all along but I decided to take the plunge and figure out Colette’s story. Who was the pirate she had disappeared with in Dark Secrets, Deep Bayous and why was he now the greatest threat to her chosen life of piousness and service?

Donato de la Roche, her pirate husband, was probably the most complicated of the two. In book one he was a shadowy figure that appeared briefly once or twice, but was more than willing to step into the limelight, nearly demanding to be the hero of A Pirate’s Command.

So I had two lost lovers both wanting a chance to tell their story.

I loved working with these characters.

Colette was desperately trying to find herself after a devastating high seas robbery that had stolen her memory, but along the way she learned who she was and where her heart belonged. Would she give herself permission to love again, to feel the passion once again? Donato was a man who could walk onstage and dominate it. He was an actor at heart and carried his scenes with finesse and style. He was a man comfortable with himself, enough so, he could be the romantic without the slightest thought, and little help from me.

These characters were full of the intricacies that make all of us unique in some way. They were a thrill to work with and yes, I'd rehire them.


Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

http://www.pumpupyourbook.com/2015/07/09/pump-up-your-book-presents-a-pirates-command-virtual-book-tour 



Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Manga Review: Mixed Vegetables Vol. 1 - Vol. 6



I've finished "Mixed Vegetables Vol. 1 - Vol. 6" by Ayumi Komura.

Product Description

Rewritten by food writer Stephanie Lucianovic (connected to KQED, and Bravo through TWOP)

For fans of dramatic cooking shows like Top Chef and Hell’s Kitchen

Ties-in with the ongoing foodie trend, and with the proposed VIZ food manga push/imprint

Energetic and clean art will appeal to fans of Yakitate Japan

Strong character development and an engaging storyline will appeal to readers of titles like Absolute Boyfriend and Nana

Includes detailed author notes, and will include glossary of cultural and cooking terms

To be previewed and promoted in VIZ Media’s Shojo Beat magazine.

Hanayu knows that it will break her parents' hearts if she defects from the bakery to become a sushi chef. But if she marries into a sushi family, they'll have to understand her decision. Now she just has to get Hayato Hyuga interested in her, and what better way than to wow him with her cooking skills?

About the Author

Ayumi Komura was born in Kagoshima Prefecture. Her previous title is Hybrid Berry, about a high school girl who ends up posing as a boy on her school's baseball team.

Product Details
Series: Mixed Vegetables (Book 1)
Paperback: 208 pages
Publisher: VIZ Media LLC (September 2, 2008)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1421519674
ISBN-13: 978-1421519678

My Review:


I highly recommend this manga if you like great character development, food and an exciting storyline.

I really liked how Hanayu and Hayato both felt remorse for their deception towards each other and deep down they really liked each other.

I was really glad that both have dreams of owning their own restaurants and that Hanayu finally told her dad what she wanted and didn't back down.

5/5



Related Posts with Thumbnails