Saturday, April 19, 2014

Bunny Express Saturday 2014 (Apr 19)



Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.

For Review:







Betrayed (Rockfort Security) Mass Market Paperback

To Trust


Rockfort Security operative Shane Gallagher has been brought into S and D Systems to find a security leak. Confidential information has been stolen, and Shane suspects Elena Reyes, a systems analyst with the access and know - how to pull it off. As he finds excuses to get close to her, their attraction is too strong to ignore, but how can Shane trust the very woman he's investigating?

Or Not to Trust

Elena has spent her life proving herself, but now she's risking it all: everything she's worked for, and her growing feelings for Shane. Much as she wants to trust the devastatingly sexy, hard-as-nails investigator, she can't let herself fall for him the stakes are too high.


 






Rebel (The Cat Star Chronicles) Mass Market Paperback 
 
He helped to find her kidnapped friends. Will he let her steal his heart?
Kimcasha has lived by her wits since she lost her family when she was eight years old. So when three of her friends vanish, she has no fear about using herself as kidnapper's bait, until a stranger foils her plot.

After ten years of selling his services in a brothel, Onca has decided to retire. A refugee of planet Zetith, he has no family, no surname, and no woman-until he rescues a young homeless girl from a kidnapper. Onca helps Kim find her friends, but as their intense attraction deepens, he begins feeling too jaded for someone so innocent. It's up to Kim to convince him otherwise. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Vampire Trouble (Dead in the City) Mass Market Paperback
 
A fledgling vampire ignites a war

Maya remembers the last moments of her life as a human with haunting clarity, and every man she meets pays the price until Shane. Finding herself in the middle of a bloody fight between vampires and werewolves, Maya has no choice but to let the devastatingly sexy vampire guard get close to her.

And that's not all that heats up

Shane Quesada, a four-century-old vampire sentry, is known for his cold, unemotional precision, but once Maya begins to invade his dreams, his world is changed forever. His job to protect her is swiftly replaced by the all-consuming need to claim her as his own. 
 
Thanks Sourcebooks! 

Friday, April 18, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #189



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee's View and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Our Feature this week:





 
 
1. When did you start blogging?

I’ve been blogging Since 2011 – goodness me it’s really been that long already? And I’m not clocking out anytime soon either! Originally I was a arts & crafts blogger until I stumbled upon the book blogging community and I’ve been completely sucked in ever since. I still like to draw/paint and often it’s inspired by the books I read. (check out my art feature!) I even drew the little robots you see around my blog. It seems like each year that goes by I get more and more serious about book blogging. My husband and I call it my professional hobby.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Meeting new ravenous readers such as myself. I used to feel like quite the oddball out until I started meeting other book bloggers that read and talk about books just as much as I do. I now count some of them among my best friends. *lavishes oodles of love upon my SFF folks*

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Fantasy and Science Fiction are my bread and butter. I ask you really – why would I want to read about real life when I’m living it? Give me something crazy and fantastical any day! I read both Adult and YA books to help keep me sane. Books targeting both of those audiences scratches an itch I have and I wouldn’t want to go without either. I wish more YA book lovers would try out some adult SFF books because if they love YA SFF they would seriously eat up the adult stuff as well.

4. What are your favorite books?

That is totally a loaded question! Do you want to be here all day? Brandon Sanderson is one of my favorite authors. As for specific titles here are a few: LOVE MINUS EIGHTY by Will McIntosh, WRITTEN IN RED by Anne Bishop, The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix, The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer and THE SCHOOL OF GOOD AND EVIL by Soman Chainani.

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

All of the amazing reader friends that I have made – because no one gets me quite like other people who have that same insane love of reading. And of course getting to have one on one interaction with authors. They are my freaking rock stars and me their personal paparazzi. *click click, shutter snap & fade back into the bushes*

Our Feature - The Sarcastic Palmtree

1. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging with my son almost a year ago. We started in July of
2013!

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

My favorite part of book blogging is sharing something I love with other
people. I was quite vocal in promoting the books and authors I loved on
social media. Becoming a blogger was an excellent fit for me to do that and
get the word out about the books I love on a bigger scale.

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

I mainly blog about any type of YA, Fantasy, Contemporary, Sci-fi,
Dystopian you name it. Occasionally I have a little bit of New Adult as
well.

4. What are your favorite books?

I owe a lot to the Twilight series because it is the one that turned me
into a reader. When I think of my current favorites, the first one to come
to mind was my favorite read of last year, “Chasing Forever Down” by Nikki
Godwin. I wonder if I ever would have found that book without being on a
book tour for Nikki so I owe that fantastic discovery to my blogging. Other
favorites would include Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck, Fablehaven by
Brandon Mull, and anything by Richard Paul Evans or Katie McGarry.

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?


The absolute best thing was the one that was least expected and that was
the relationships I have because of blogging. I assumed that the blogging
community would have been a lot more competitive. Instead, I have found
helpful, enthusiastic book lovers and authors that I have made lifelong
friendships with and I look forward to making more blogger friends in the
future.

Question of the Week: Spring Break. Where would be your favorite destination spot if you could join the Spring Break festivities? 
 
Getting drunk and spending time with others that are isn't really my kind of thing but I would love to go back to Hawaii and go shopping and visit places I would love to visit again.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Thursday, April 17, 2014

Lori Foster's Dash of Peril Blog Tour with Review

I am so excited to have Lori Foster here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Review.

Thanks Lori and Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc. for allowing me to join your Dash of Peril Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Lori!






Since first publishing in January 1996, Lori Foster has become a Waldenbooks, Borders, USA Today, Publishers Weekly and New York Times bestselling author. She also received the Romantic Times “Career Achievement Award” for Series Romantic Fantasy and Contemporary Romance.

Lori believes it is important to give back to the community as much as possible, so she routinely arranges events among authors and readers to gather donations for various organizations.






A no-nonsense female cop reluctantly teams up with the one man who makes her lose control in a deliciously sensual new novel from New York Times bestselling author Lori Foster

To bring down a sleazy abduction ring, Lieutenant Margaret "Margo" Peterson has set herself up as bait. But recruiting Dashiel Riske as her unofficial partner is a whole other kind of danger. Dash is six feet four inches of laid-back masculine charm, a man who loves life — and women — to the limit. Until Margo is threatened, and he reveals a dark side that may just match her own.

Beneath Margo's tough facade is a slow-burning sexiness that drives Dash crazy. The only way to finish this case is to work together side by side skin to skin. And as their mission takes a lethal turn, he'll have to prove he's all the man she needs — in all the ways that matter.

Product Details
Series: Hqn
Mass Market Paperback: 480 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN (March 25, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0373778570
ISBN-13: 978-0373778577


My Review:

Storyline:  Lieutenant Margaret "Margo" Peterson sets herself up as bait to bring down a vicious and sleazy abduction group.  She teams up with Dash Riske a six-foot four sexy and masculine man who sets her on fire.

Characters:  Margo Peterson is a no-nonsense female cop who is respected by her squad.  Dash Riske is a strong, sexy, rich, confidant, laid-back, successful, etc. who knows Margo is the woman for him.  He is determined to make her his and to bring out her sexual side out.

Romance:  Margo is perfect for Dash because he needs a strong and confidant woman not a doormat.  I thought it was hilarious that he is jealous and intimidated by Rowdy (woman seem to take a double look when they see him).

Villain: The villain was quite cruel, sadistic and sick because he would drug the woman, tie her up beat her up and then tape the gang rape (though he is never shown).

5/5

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

Soap Opera Inquiry?

Hey My Blogger Friends and Followers,

I was wondering if anyone watched the following Soap Operas during the following years and the following characters, thanks?

1.  General Hospital (1992 - 1994, 1995) - Jagger Cates, Karen Wexler and Brenda Barrett

2.  Young and the Restless (1999 - 2007) - JT Helstrom, Colleen Carlton, Brittany Hodges, Raul Guittierez, Mackenzie Browning, Rianna Miner and Billy Abbott

3.  Passions (2002 - 2006) - Theresa Lopez-Fitzgerald, Fox Crane, Whitney Russell, Chad, Ethan Crane

Wednesday Wish List




Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks. 

Manga: 



  



Inu x Boku SS, Vol. 3 Paperback

The residents of Ayakashi Hall decide to make a time capsule and bury it on the grounds, so everyone writes letters to their "future selves" to be included within. As Ririchiyo composes her letter, she reflects on her time with Soushi, realizing how much she has grown with the fox at her side. But when those heartfelt feelings are accidentally delivered not to her future self but to Soushi, Ririchiyo's budding social skills will be put to the test! Is she ready for a face-to-face confession of her true feelings?

Tuesday, April 15, 2014

Manga Review: Wolf Children: Ame & Yuki (Hardcover)



I've finished "Wolf Children: Ame and Yuki" by Mamoru Hosoda.

When Hana falls in love with a young interloper she encounters in her college class, the last thing she expects to learn is that he is part wolf. Instead of rejecting her lover upon learning his secret, she accepts him with open arms. Soon, the couple is expecting their first child, and a cozy picture of family life unfolds. But after what seems like a mere moment of bliss to Hana, the father of her children is tragically taken from her. Life as a single mother is hard in any situation, but when your children walk a fine line between man and beast, the rules of parenting all but go out the window. With no one to turn to, how will Hana survive?

About the Author

The creator of Wolf Children, Mamoru Hosoda, is an internationally acclaimed animator and director who has previously helmed such award-winning movies as The Girl Who Leapt Through Time and Summer Wars.

Product Details
Hardcover: 528 pages
Publisher: Yen Press (March 25, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 031640165X
ISBN-13: 978-0316401654


My Review:

This is a lovely Omnibus version with all the volumes of Wolf Children in one manga.  There are some notes by the author and the illustrations are beautiful.  The story begins with extra colorful illustrations and ends with them too.  It is read traditionally from back to front and right to left with most of the story told in black and white illustrations.

3/5

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada/Yen Press for sending me this manga to review, greatly appreciated!

New Releases 2014 (Apr 15)



 



New Releases










Far Gone Hardcover

To save her only brother, Andrea Finch must face down a criminal mastermind, the FBI, and her own demons in this thrilling novel from the author of the bestselling Tracers series.


Police detective Andrea Finch is a rising star in her department until a split-second decision derails her career. Disgraced and disillusioned, she’s on leave from her job when she gets an urgent call from her younger brother. She’d prefer to ignore his latest plea for cash, but this time instinct tells her something is very wrong. Andrea’s search for answers takes her to a dusty Texas border town where danger lurks in plain sight and nothing is quite what it seems.

FBI agent Jon North is working undercover in west Texas investigating an unsolved murder that may be linked to a broader plot. But when the evidence points to Andrea’s brother, Jon finds that persuading the stubborn cop to help will be harder than cracking his toughest case.

Andrea must find a way to do what’s right while protecting her only sibling. As the clock ticks down on a deadly plot, Andrea and Jon race to confront a heartless killer who will stop at nothing to deliver a final, terrifying message.







The Collector Hardcover

From #1 New York Times-bestselling author Nora Roberts comes a novel of a woman who needs nothing, a man who sees everything, and the web of deceit, greed, and danger that brings them together — and could tear them apart.


When professional house-sitter Lila Emerson witnesses a murder/suicide from her current apartment-sitting job, life as she knows it takes a dramatic turn. Suddenly, the woman with no permanent ties finds herself almost wishing for one.

Artist Ashton Archer knows his brother isn’t capable of violence — against himself or others. He recruits Lila, the only eyewitness, to help him uncover what happened. Ash longs to paint her as intensely as he hungers to touch her. But their investigation draws them into a rarified circle where priceless antiques are bought, sold, gambled away, and stolen, where what you possess is who you are, and where what you desire becomes a deadly obsession.

Manga:


 



St. Kleio Academy is a very exclusive school: all of the students are clones of famous historical figures such as Beethoven, Queen Elizabeth I, Napoleon, Mozart, and Freud. All of them, that is, except for Shiro Kamiya. As Shiro struggles to adapt to this unusual campus, St. Kleio’s first graduate, a clone of John F. Kennedy, is killed. Are the clones doomed to repeat the fate of their genetic progenitors, or can they create their own destinies? And how does a normal boy like Shiro fit in?

ROCKSWELL (19XX– )

Current director of St. Kleio Academy, a school exclusively for the clones of famous historical personages, he is also a major sponsor of the academy. Seems to have a longstanding relationship with Mr. Kuroe, a member of the academy’s staff, and Dr. Kamiya, a professor at the academy. The details of his upbringing and the reasons for his involvement in the academy are unknown.

Monday, April 14, 2014

Jessica Sorensen's Nova and Quinton No Regrets Release Blitz




I am so excited to have Jessica Sorensen here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Release Blitz.

Thanks Jessica and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Nova and Quinton No RegretsBlog Tour!

Please take it away, Jessica!







NOVA AND QUINTON: NO REGRETS by Jessica Sorensen (April 15, 2014; Forever E-Book; $4.99)

Today is the first day of Quinton Carter's new life. The toxic guilt of his past left him in pieces - but one girl unexpectedly put him back together. Thanks to Nova Reed, Quinton can finally see the world with clear eyes. She's the reason his heart is still kicking behind the jagged scar on his chest. And he would love to have her in his arms every minute of the day but he's not ready yet.

Playing drums in a band and living with her best friends are just some of the highlights of Nova's life. But the best new development? Talking to Quinton on the phone each night. She wishes she could touch him, kiss him, though she knows he needs time to heal. Yet shocking news is on the way-a reminder of life's dark side - and Nova will need Quinton like he once needed her. Is he strong enough to take the final leap out of his broken past and into Nova's heart?






About Jessica Sorensen:

Jessica Sorensen is a #1 New York Times and USA Today bestselling author who lives with her husband and three kids in Idaho. When she's not writing, she spends her time reading and hanging out with her family.

Social Media Links:
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

Buy Links:
Amazon
B&N
iTunes
Giveaway

Rafflecopter Giveaway: Because music plays such an important part in the Nova series, and all of Jessica's books, we're offering a $25 iTunes gift card plus a collection of Jessica's print titles with signed bookplates: THE SECRET OF ELLA AND MICHA, THE TEMPTATION OF LILA AND ETHAN, THE COINCIDENCE OF CALLIE AND KAYDEN, THE REDEMPTION OF CALLIE AND KAYDEN, and NOVA AND QUINTON: NO REGRETS. The mini grand prize winner will receive a $25 iTunes gift card and a special print copy of NOVA AND QUINTON: NO REGRETS, and an additional 10 winners will receive a special print copy of NOVA AND QUINTON: NO REGRETS.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/share-code/MjY2MzVjZTI0OGYwMjM0OGVmMWE2NjBlODRiZmExOjQz/
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Weekly Book Reads (Apr 14)



 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1. Her Perfect Mate - Paige Tyler
2. Jaspar's War - Cym Lowell
3. Pure Heat - M.L. Buchman
4. Hell for Leather - Julie Ann Walker
5. Micha and Ella - Jessica Sorenson
6. Wolf Children: Amy and Yume - Mamoru Hosoda

Weekly Book Reading:

1. Brazen - Kelley Armstrong
2. Dash of Peril - Lori Foster
3. Illusions - Sherrilyn Kenyon
4. Notorious - Allison Brennan
5. Bloody Cross Vol. 2 - Shiwo Komeyama
6. Goong Vol. 14 - Park SoHee

Sunday, April 13, 2014

Blood Royal: A True Tale of Crime and Detection in Medieval Paris Hardcover



I've finished "Blood Royal" by Eric Jager.

A riveting true story of murder and detection in 15th-century Paris, by one of the most brilliant medievalists of his generation.

On a chilly November night in 1407, Louis of Orleans was murdered by a band of masked men. The crime stunned and paralyzed France since Louis had often ruled in place of his brother King Charles, who had gone mad. As panic seized Paris, an investigation began. In charge was the Provost of Paris, Guillaume de Tignonville, the city's chief law enforcement officer -- and one of history's first detectives. As de Tignonville began to investigate, he realized that his hunt for the truth was much more dangerous than he ever could have imagined.

A rich portrait of a distant world, BLOOD ROYAL is a gripping story of conspiracy, crime and an increasingly desperate hunt for the truth. And in Guillaume de Tignonville, we have an unforgettable detective for the ages, a classic gumshoe for a cobblestoned era.

Product Details
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company (February 25, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316224510
ISBN-13: 978-0316224512


My Review:

4/5


Related Posts with Thumbnails