Sunday, February 1, 2015

February Releases

3rd
Closer Than You Think - Karen Rose
Hunger's Mate - A.C. Arthur
Yu-Gi-Oh Zexal Vol. 6 -  Shin Yoshida
Yu-Gi-Oh! (3-in-1 Edition), Vol. 1 - Kazuki Takahashi
Spell of Desire Vol. 3 - Tomu Ohmi
Black Rose Alice Vol. 3 - Setona Mizushiro
Honey Blood: Tale Zero - Miko Mitsuki
Voice Over Seiyu Academy Vol. 9 - Maki Minami
High School Debut (3-in-1 Edition) Vol. 5 - Kazune Kawahara
Food Wars Vol. 4 -  Yuto Tsukuda
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Part 1 -- Phantom Blood, Vol. 1 - Hirohiko Araki
Happy Marriage Vol. 10 - Maki Enjoji

10th
Obsession in Death - J.D. Robb
The Diabolical Miss Hyde - Viola Carr
Starting With a Kiss Vol. 3 - Youka Nitta

17th
Dendera - Yuya Sato

24th
When Irish Eyes Are Haunting - Heather Graham
Close to Home - Lisa Jackson
Beyond Limits - Laura Griffin
The Black Widow - Wendy Corsi Staub
Running Blind - Cindy Gerard
Soulbound - Kristen Callihan
Cursed by Fire - Jacquelyn Frank
Barakamon Vol. 3 - Satsuki Yoshino
BTOOM Vol. 9 - Junya Inoue
Judge Vol. 6 - Yoshiki Tonogai 

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Bunny Express Saturday 2015 (Jan 31)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received this in the mail this week.

For Review:


Manga:






The demonic death game finally reaches a climax!

Sakamoto and Himiko have thus far succeeded in hanging on to their lives on the mysterious island battlefield, using their BIMs to compete in the murderous gameplay of live-action "BTOOOM!" The two find themselves pitted in a life-or-death struggle with Date, a victor from an earlier round, who has all sorts of knowledge about the game unfolding around them. After being cornered by Date, they escape his clutches and rush to the side of their third ally, Kiyoshi Taira, only to find that his state of terror and his horrific wounds have caused him to lose his mind?







After twenty long years in the dark, the time has come for a confrontation with Glenn, one of the Seven Heroes!

Hatred...envy...confusion... Köinzell's heart overflows with emotion as he moves singularly toward his revenge, blade in hand! But it only takes an instant for the situation to take an unexpected turn.

Manhwa:

 



Amid the fallout from the king's decision to make Prince Yul the crown prince, Chae-Kyung and Shin make plans to get back together. Meanwhile, Yul struggles to get to the bottom of his mother's involvement in the accident that may have cost Chae-Kyung dearly. When he confronts her, the Daebi reveals a shocking secret from seventeen years ago that will set into motion events that will change their lives forever!

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada/Yen Press!

Friday, January 30, 2015

Follow My Blog Friday #217


If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”.

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Our Feature is Gail Reads Books

When did you start blogging?

I started blogging two years ago on my main blog. My book reviews were also there, but last year, I decided to separate my book reviews from my personal blog. So this blog is still pretty new!

What is your favorite part of book blogging?

I love being able to talk about my opinion about a certain book. It’s not something you can discuss thoroughly in real life, unless you’re talking to your Literature professor or something. I enjoy reading through other people’s reviews. Sometimes reading can be a lonely hobby, but with book blogging, I can then talk to wonderful people about the great things I’ve read.

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Since I’m still in the YA range, I pick YA books, mostly Romance and Dystopian. I also read Chick Lit, but nothing beats YA.

What is your favorite book(s)?

I DON’T WANT TO CHOOSE! But really, my favorite book changes ALL THE TIME. Right now it’s Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson because I am a sucker for twisted tales.

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

Not gonna lie, getting to read ARCs is awesome, so that’s definitely one of the great things that have happened. But besides that, I get really happy when someone comments on my review. It’s like, “Wow, he/she read this too and he/she feels the same way!” Also, making new friends because of book blogging is a treasure, and I’m grateful we can bond through reading.

Our Feature - A Writer's Dark Corner

1. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging on 1 September 2013. I wanted to start a simple blog with book reviews. My first post was Stephen King’s “Salem’s Lot” Review.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

My favorite part of book blogging is being part of something. Nothing makes you feel happy than talking with people, whom you share the same passions with. I love getting feedback from bloggers, and I love giving feedback.

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

I am a huge horror fan, and I blog mostly about horror books. But I also try to fit in some YA, thriller, or fantasy books to tone down the macabre a bit.

4. What are your favorite books?

My favorite book of all the time is definitely “Dracula”. I may have read it thousands of times, and I know some paragraphs by heart. I simply love this book. I recommend it to everyone.

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

Book Blogging has nourished my love for books, and literature. I have a weird taste of books. The books I read, no one else around me does. Having people come to your blog, and comment something like “I love this book too!”, that gives you a wonderful fee;ing. I think that this blogging community is the best thing that happened to me because of book blogging.

Question of the Week: Hard print (real thing) or Kindle/Nook, which is your favorite? - Suggested by The Realm of Books

I love feeling a paperback or especially a hard print in my hands.  I'm really not into e-books that much since I don't owe a Kindle/Nook and I really hate reading from my computer.

 


 



Thursday, January 29, 2015

Manga Review: Are You Alice?, Vol. 7



I've finished "Are You Alice Vol. 7" by Ai Ninomiya.

It's a very special holiday in Wonderland -- the one day a year when everyone can take a break from Alice. In celebration, the Queen of Hearts is throwing a grand bash, and everyone in Wonderland is invited! Everyone except Alice, that is. Outraged when the Hatter abandons him for the festivities amidst reassurances that absolutely no one is bold enough to break the rules and come after him, Alice knows well enough that he'll never be so lucky. But even Alice is surprised when, of all people, the Jack of Hearts attempts to abduct him!

About the Author

Ikumi Katagiri is an artist of primarily josei manga titles (targeted toward women) such as Are You Alice?, Arcana 10, and Zyklus Code.

Ai Ninomiya has penned a number of fantasy romance series for women, including Are You Alice? and Zyklus Code.


Product Details
Paperback: 176 pages
Publisher: Yen Press (Dec 16, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316286230
ISBN-13: 978-0316286237


My Review:

3/5

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada/Yen Press for sending me this Artbook to review, greatly appreciated! 

Manga Review: Jun Mochizuki Art Book Pandora Hearts: Odds and Ends



I've finished "Jun Mochizuki Art Book Pandora Hearts: Odds and Ends".

Product Description

The dark whimsy of Jun Mochizuki’s world comes to vivid life in this art book that features over 120 color and black-and-white illustrations from the New York Times-bestselling PandoraHearts series, as well as her first work, Crimson-Shell, among others. Favorite characters from the series take center stage in elaborate, breathtaking, full-color tableaus that fans of Mochizuki’s work will instantly recognize. Also included in this beautiful hardbound, slipcased book are brand-new, never-before-published pieces, as well as countless rough and colored sketches! Readers of Mochizuki’s series and art lovers alike will not want to miss this sumptuous feast for the eyes!

Product Details
JP Oversized
Publisher: Square Enix (2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 4757526741
ISBN-13: 978-4757526747

My Review:


This is a very heavy artbook with beautiful and gorgeous artwork. There are sketches and character design studies as well.

I highly recommend this for any Pandora Hearts fan!

5/5

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada/Yen Press for sending me this Artbook to review, greatly appreciated!

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Waiting on Wednesday


 

Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.






From the New York Times bestselling author of Watch Your Back and Did You Miss Me comes the newest novel by ''the queen of romantic suspense'' (Crime and Punishment).
Psychologist Faith Corcoran is desperate to escape the stalker who's made her life a nightmare for the past year - desperate enough to run to the one place that has been her nightmare far longer. Both boon and bane, her recent inheritance of her grandmother's old house in Cincinnati offers a sanctuary in which she can start her life anew, but requires that she face dark memories that resonate to this day.

She has no idea, however, just how close to home her fears still are

Two college girls have gone missing in the area, and FBI special agent Deacon Novak is called to work on the case. When his inquiry unexpectedly leads him to Faith, he finds a beautiful and brave woman he can't help but fall for. Soon they'll discover that this seemingly simple investigation is anything but. Reaching back decades into Faith's own past, it will shatter everything she believes to be true and will give terrifying new meaning to ''flesh and blood.''







Half man, half animal, a Shadow Shifter must walk the line between predator and prey, hunger and obsession — to capture the woman he loves. A natural born hunter proud of his birthright, Ezra Preston agrees to hide his identity and pretend to be human — to learn what his enemies know of his kind. But even undercover, it’s not in his nature to play games with a woman. Especially when he discovers the beautiful creature has been keeping secrets of her own. This is no ordinary woman he’s stalking but an alluring and mysterious cat thief — with dangerous secrets of her own. Jewel Jenner has plotted and schemed for months, hiding her knowledge of a top-secret operation to save her ailing father. Captivated by her passion, skill, and courage, Ezra wants to help Jewel on her mission. But when he discovers how far she’s gone — sleeping with the enemy to steal a fortune in diamonds — he must decide if he can trust this enthralling woman with his secret or trust his fiercest instincts when he’s near her.

Manga:







In a futuristic city, augmented reality Duels are all the rage. Duelists, using devices called D-Gazers, can interact with their environment and their opponents as never before. With more awesome monsters and unbelievable cards, the future of Yu-Gi-Oh! starts right here!

Kaito and Shark find themselves in an epic duel with Shadow. The fallout from this battle leads to some surprising revelations about the Numbers War. Luna describes Dr. Faker’s plans and the connection with Kaito’s brother, Haruto. They also learn that Yuma’s friend Astral originally came to destroy the world, and that Dr. Faker isn’t actually dead! They’ll have to take their battle straight to Mr. Heartland to get to the bottom of his evil schemes!





Tenth-grader Yugi always had his head in some game -- until he solved the Millennium Puzzle, an Egyptian artifact containing the spirit of a master gambler from the age of the pharoahs! Possessed by the puzzle, Yugi becomes Yu-Gi-Oh, the King of Games, and challenges evildoers to the Shadow Games - weird games with high stakes and high risks!

Let the games begin! Meet Seto Kaiba, master of the world's most dangerous collectible card game.

When Kaiba discovers that Yugi's grandfather owns the incredibly rare "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" card, he will stop at nothing to get it even if he has to duel with Yugi's dark alter ego Yu-Gi-Oh!

Then, out of the sands of Egypt, the mystic Shadi has come to test Yugi's powers, which will give Yugi his greatest challenge yet. If he loses, his best friends will die!




Kaoruko Mochizuki runs an herb shop in a small seaside town. One day, a mysterious man dressed in black named Kaname Hibiki enters her shop and reveals that Kaoruko is actually a witch. And what’s more, Kaoruko needs Kaname to help control her awakening power!

When it becomes known that Kaoruko has received the power of the Witch Queen, she and Kaname are ordered to appear before the coven of the Black Witches. There, Kaoruko discovers that she must become a Black Witch in order to control her rampaging powers. But that means she will be offered up to an incubus — who presents himself as Kaname as he closes in on her!





Dimitri Lewandowski is a celebrated tenor in early 1900s Vienna. When he is killed in an accident, his corpse is colonized by the seeds of a vampire master. At first, Dimitri denies that anything has changed, but as the people around him start dying, he is forced to accept the ghastly truth.

Flash-forward to 2008. In Tokyo, Azusa Kikukawa has become Alice, resurrected in a century-old body to become the breeding ground for a group of vampires. Alice is serious about fulfilling her role, but she needs a little time to adjust before she commits herself to propagating. But vampires aren’t as immortal as myth paints them. Will her hesitation cost Alice her chosen mate?






When a girl at her school is attacked by what seems to be a vampire, high school student Hinata Sorazono refuses to believe that vampires even exist. But then she meets her new neighbor, Junya Tokinaga, the author of an incredibly popular vampire romance novel. Could it be that Junya’s actually a vampire — and worse yet, the culprit?!

Honey Blood Tale 0 is where Hinata and Junya’s love story originally began. In addition to the one-shot chapters that made Honey Blood’s serialization possible, this volume contains two bonus short stories from the author!





Hime Kino’s dream is to one day do voice acting like her hero Sakura Aoyama from the Lovely ♥ Blazers anime, and getting accepted to the prestigious Holly Academy’s voice actor department is the first step in the right direction! But Hime’s gruff voice has earned her the scorn of teachers and students alike. Hime will not let that stand unchallenged. She’ll show everyone that she is too a voice acting princess, whether they like it or not!!

Senri Kudo’s unusual upbringing may have prepared him for being an amazing actor, but it also left him ill equipped to have normal relationships with kids his own age. Can Senri act his way into being a good friend, or will “getting into character” get him into even more trouble with his peers?






A bargain omnibus edition of the bestselling romantic comedy — final omnibus volume includes all-new material (previously unpublished Volumes 14 and 15 of the series)! Hapless Haruna needs help finding a boyfriend! After failing to win the eye of any guy in high school, Haruna enlists the help of cute upperclassman Yoh to coach her on how to make herself more appealing to the male species. Yoh agrees, with one catch: Haruna had better not fall for him!

Yoh faces a difficult choice — should he go to university all the way in Tokyo or stay near Haruna? Haruna wants to support Yoh’s decision no matter what, but will her high school romance end with his graduation? Don’t miss the series finale, plus previously unpublished stories from volumes 14 and 15 of the High School Debut series!




Soma Yukihira’s old man runs a small family restaurant in the less savory end of town. Aiming to one day surpass his father’s culinary prowess, Soma hones his skills day in and day out until one day, out of the blue, his father decides to enroll Soma in a classy culinary school! Can Soma really cut it in a place that prides itself on a 10 percent graduation rate? And can he convince the beautiful, domineering heiress of the school that he belongs there at all?!

Let the shokugeki begin! Soma has challenged Totsuki graduate Chef Shinomiya in order to prevent Megumi’s pending expulsion. However, thanks to a condition levied by Gin Dojima, the match turns in an unexpected direction! With such a foolhardy challenge, can Soma and Megumi win to survive another day?





The legendary Shonen Jump series, now available in English for the first time, in a deluxe edition featuring color pages and newly drawn cover art! JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure is a groundbreaking manga famous for its outlandish characters, wild humor and frenetic battles. A multigenerational tale of the heroic Joestar family and their never-ending battle against evil!

Young Jonathan Joestar’s life is forever changed when he meets his new adopted brother, Dio. For some reason, Dio has a smoldering grudge against him and derives pleasure from seeing him suffer. But every man has his limits, as Dio finds out. This is the beginning of a long and hateful relationship!





In order to help her father, Chiwa Takanashi agrees to an arranged marriage with the company president, Hokuto Mamiya — a man she doesn’t know — at the request of Hokuto’s grandfather. Chiwa believes the arrangement isn’t binding, but her new partner seems to think otherwise. Can two strangers living together find their way to a happy marriage?!

Final Volume!

Danielle Annett's Cursed by Fire Blog Tour with Spotlight and Giveaway



 I am so excited to have Danielle Annett here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Danielle and Rock Star PR for allowing me to join your Cursed By Fire Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Danielle!




About Danielle Annett

Danielle Annett is a reader, writer, photographer, and the blogger behind Coffee and Characters. Born in the SF Bay area, she now resides in Spokane, WA, the primary location for her Blood & Magic series.
Addicted to coffee at an early age, she spends her restless nights putting pen to paper as she tries to get all of the stories out of her head before the dogs wake up the rest of the house and vye for her attention.

You can learn more about Danielle on her website at Danielle-Annett.com or follow on on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDaniel... and on twitter @Danielle_Annett

Website: http://danielle-annett.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorDanielleAnnett

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Danielle_Annett

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7771866.Danielle_Annett







Danielle Annett
Cursed by Fire
Release Date: January 28th, 2015


Blurb:

It has been six years since the Awakening and peace in Spokane, Washington is still tenuous at best. The vampires and shifters are all vying for control of the city and the humans seem to be the ones suffering the consequences, or so it seems.

Aria Naveed has spent the last two years of her life fighting to make the many wrongs of the world right, but soon finds out that the humans aren’t as weak as they appear and may be a more terrifying foe than any of the other races combined.

When a stranger rolls into town with trouble on his heels, Aria finds herself trapped in the middle of a battle that could cost her more than she has bargained for as a fight for justice turns into an unexpected fight for her life.

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/20564142-cursed-by-fire?from_search=true

Buy links:

iTunes/iBooks : https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/cursed-by-fire/id958444099?mt=11&uo=4

HTML iTunes Linke: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/cursed-by-fire/id958444099?mt=11&uo=4" target="itunes_store">Cursed by Fire - Annett, Danielle


Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/Cursed-Fire-Blood-Magic-Book-ebook/dp/B00QKYB57M/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1421730354&sr=8-2&keywords=cursed+by+fire

BN nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/cursed-by-fire-danielle-annett/1121069648?ean=2940046513417

GooglePlay: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Danielle_Annett_Cursed_by_Fire?id=AsQmBgAAQBAJ

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/cursed-by-fire-2

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/510139

Behind the scenes look at how Cursed by Fire’s cover came to be:

http://youtu.be/0NpvNlsUzCI

Embed code:





Excerpts

(Beginning of Chapter 1)


All I saw was blood. Blood soaked my hands and coated the walls. It stained the concrete flooring of the abandoned warehouse and dripped from fixtures that hung from the ceiling, trickling like a slow rain. My vision blurred as anguish filled me. How could this have happened? How could I have been too late?

I stared down at the lifeless body of a child. A boy. Kneeling in a pool of congealing blood, I ran my fingers through his chestnut hair, ignoring the now-cool moisture seeping into the denim of my pants. His face was unrecognizable. Gone was the child with the dimpled cheek and brilliant blue eyes. Left behind was a mass of flesh and bone—a ruined body drained of its life force at such a young age.

Reality snapped like an elastic band, bringing me back to the present as I sat at my desk in Sanborn Place. Ripped from the haunted memories of finding Daniel’s body.

The world was a cruel place. It was a fact of life and even though I knew it was true, I still had a hard time coming to terms with the atrocities people committed. The cruelties that for some god-forsaken reason, people thought were okay. Staring down at the wallet-sized photo now crumpled in my hands, I was greeted by a crown of chestnut hair, bright blue eyes, a heart-shaped face, and a brilliant smile; a single dimple on his left cheek. The face of an innocent seven-year-old boy, cut down like he was little more than a calf brought to slaughter. I found myself struggling to link the image of this smiling boy to that of the ruined body I’d found less than forty-eight hours ago.

Inside, a small part of me burned. My blood heated and a turbulent rage rolled through me, one I had to fight to contain.

“Ari, you’ve got to stop staring at the kid. He’s gone. Let it go,” I heard Mike say.

I couldn’t let it go. I didn’t understand how he could either. I looked up from the photograph and stared Mike straight in the eyes. He cringed but held my gaze.

“He was seven-years-old, Mike,” I said through clenched teeth. “Seven!”

I shook my head, the poor kid had barely lived, barely tasted what the world had to offer. I take that back, he’d tasted too much of what the world could give and it had cost him.

Ever since the Awakening six years ago when all things that went bump in the night decided to come out of the woodwork and play, safety had been tenuous at best and kids like this, like seven-year-old Daniel Blackmore, were suffering the price.

Vampires, shifters, mages, witches and many more creatures of the night so to speak had seemingly popped out of nowhere, deciding they were ready to integrate themselves into everyday, or night, society.

Daniel had been abducted by a rogue vampire. I’d found his mangled body, broken and discarded as if he were nothing more than a piece of trash and I was going to find the bastard that had killed him and make him pay.

“Ari, I know what you’re thinking and the answer is no.”

I looked Mike up and down. He was an older man in his late forties with a streak of silver in his otherwise midnight colored hair. The wrinkles around his eyes would lead you to believe he smiled a lot but I knew better. Those lines were from his ever-present frown. Dressed in black slacks and a grey button up shirt, his mid-section strained against the buttons looking like they could pop off at any moment, likely taking someone’s eye out in the process.

“I wasn’t asking for your permission,” I told him, my gaze going back to the photo.

“I don’t give a rat’s ass if you were asking. I’m telling you, Ari, let it go! You can’t help him anymore. All you’ll end up doing is getting yourself hurt or worse, killed for your trouble.”

That was the problem with people who had lived through the Awakening. Their only concern was self-preservation. Nothing else mattered. Well, screw that because this little boy, he mattered. His life mattered and he deserved justice. I had scrubbed my hands after finding his broken body but couldn’t scrub the stain his death left on my soul.

I stood up from my desk and grabbed my keys and daggers. I sheathed the twin blades on either side of my waist, grabbed my leather jacket, and made a beeline for the door. Mike crossed the room to intercept me, arms folded over his chest blocking my way.

“Move,” I bit out.

“No.”

“I can move you.”

“You can, but you won’t.”

I ground my teeth together. He was being ridiculous. This entire situation was ridiculous.

“Mike, this isn’t some game. A little boy died. He died! Does that even matter to you? I couldn’t live with myself if I let this one go.”

“What’s your plan, Ari, you going to just storm into the coven and force them to tell you who did it? They won’t tell you. They protect their own and you’re one person against an entire Coven of bloodthirsty vampires. Even the kid’s parents know it’s a lost cause. They’ve dropped the case and are focusing on burying their kid. They’re coming to terms with his death. It’s over.”

I’d been hired by Jessica Blackmore, Daniel’s mother, a little over two weeks ago to find her son who’d gone missing one afternoon. He had been walking home from a friend’s, only five houses down from his own, but never made it to the front door. She’d thought it safe enough to allow him the small bit of independence but with paranormals about, it was never truly safe.

Mike knows I’m different. He knows I have pyrokinetic abilities and he knows I can take care of myself. This wasn’t reason talking, this was him being overprotective. Feeling the temperature in the room begin to rise I forced myself to inhale and exhale slowly. Trying to calm down and keep my pyrokinesis locked up tight. It wouldn’t help the situation to start a fire. All it would do is prove to Mike that I wasn’t in control and right now I was in no mood for a lecture.

“Look, Ari, you’re a mercenary. You take on a job when you have a client. There is no client so there is no job. We’re not the police. We don’t try to clean up the streets or bag the bad guys. We’re mercs.”

I couldn’t blame him for his way of thinking. Hell, two weeks ago I would have said the same thing, but this was different. He was just a kid and I couldn’t believe everyone was so willing to leave his murderer out there.

“Why don’t —”

Mid-sentence I heard the distinct buzz of a cell phone. Mike dug his phone out of his left pocket and answered it without looking at the screen.

“Hello,” he said. Mike’s face scrunched in confusion, a furrow forming between his brows. He listened for several moments and then with a grunt he hung up and stared me down. At six feet tall, he towered over me by a good five inches, but I didn’t back down. Lifting my chin and giving him my best try me stare. The one I knew drove him crazy.

“Looks like you’re getting exactly what you asked for,” he said.

“And what exactly is that?”

“That was Declan Valkenaar on the phone.”

Holy shit, the Pack Alpha. What the hell was he doing calling Mike?






 Giveaway
 
Print copy of Cursed by Fire and 3 e-copies





http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/cc7ac88065/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="cc7ac88065" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_tgx2y7y8">a Rafflecopter giveaway





Related Posts with Thumbnails