Thursday, March 5, 2015

Cozy Review: A Woman Unknown (A Kate Shackleton Mystery)




I've finished "A Woman Unknown" the 4th book in her Kate Shackleton series by Frances Brody.

A winning combination of both intricate plotting and nostalgic post-WWI English country setting, Frances Brody's A Woman Unknown will appeal to fans of both classic murder mysteries in the vein of Agatha Christie as well as readers of historical mystery series set in 1920s England, two popular subgenres.

The Woman Unknown: Deirdre Fitzpatrick is married to a man who wants to know where she really goes when supposedly taking care of her sick mother and calls on the expertise of Kate Shackleton, amateur sleuth extraordinaire to investigate.

The Gentleman: Everett Runcie is a banker facing ruin and disgrace. His American heiress wife will no longer pay for his mistakes, or tolerate his infidelity, and is seeking a divorce.

The Murder: When a chambermaid enters Runcie's hotel room, she is shocked to find that he is alone - and dead! Suddenly Kate is thrown into the depths of an altogether more sinister investigation. Can she uncover the truth of her most complex, and personal, case to date?

About the Author

FRANCES BRODY lives in Leeds. Before turning to crime, she wrote historical sagas, winning the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin award for most regionally evocative debut saga of the millennium.

Product Details
Series: A Kate Shackleton Mystery (Book 4)
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Minotaur Books (February 10, 2015)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1250037042
ISBN-13: 978-1250037046


My Review:

3/5

Thanks Minotaur Books for sending me this book to review, greatly appreciated!

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

Wednesday Wish List


 

Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.

Manga:





Richard, the ambitious third son of the House of York, believes he is cursed, damned from birth to eternal darkness. But is it truly fate that sets him on the path to personal destruction? Or his own tormented longings? Based on an early draft of Shakespeare’s Richard III, Aya Kanno’s dark fantasy finds the man who could be king standing between worlds, between classes, between good and evil.

Richard’s father, the patriarch of the House of York, is poised to become king of medieval England during the bloody Wars of the Roses. But just as success is imminent, he is abruptly cut down. Plunged into despair, Richard acts out in revenge and must face a powerful and beautiful new enemy.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

New Releases 2015 (Mar 3)



 

 



New Releases









From the #1 New York Times bestselling author who has kept readers on the edge of their seats with her phenomenal Fallen Angels novels, comes one of the most heart-stirring and eagerly anticipated events in that acclaimed series.

The Creator invented the game, and the stakes are nothing less than the fate of the quick and the dead: seven souls, seven crossroads. Reluctant savior Jim Heron has compromised himself, his body and his soul, and yet he’s on the verge of losing everything.

Including Sissy, the innocent he freed from Hell. Jim’s determined to protect her — but this makes her a weakness the demon Devina can exploit. With Jim torn between the game and the woman he’s sworn to defend, evil’s more than ready to play dirty.

Humanity’s savior is prepared to do anything to win — even embark on a suicide mission into the shadows of Purgatory. True love is Jim’s only hope for survival — and victory. But can a man with no heart and no soul be saved by something he doesn’t believe in?








Love isn't always a piece of cake

Laurie Davis has always followed her passion. After escaping family drama to start a new life in New York City, she’s up for whatever challenges life brings. So when an opportunity arises for her to use her travel industry expertise and serve as an assistant and tour guide for her idol, Pamela Lambert-Leigh, star of television’s Tea-Time with Pamela, she jumps at the chance.

But Laurie’s exciting adventure ends up entailing a lot more than scouting locations for the cake queen’s new cookbook when Pamela’s sassy mother and sulky, rebellious daughter tag along for the trip. As they cruise around bakeries in New England trading local delights like Red Velvet Cake and Whoopie Pies for British specialties such as Victoria Sponge and Bakewell Tarts, more secrets than recipes are revealed.

Now, in between rediscovering romance, learning to forgive family, and finding the best dessert on the East Coast, Laurie, Pamela, and the gang might find there’s nothing a nice cup of tea, a sweet treat, and a little bit of friendship can’t heal.







THE NEW CHARLES AND ANNA NOVEL

Praised as “the perfect blend of action, romance, suspense and paranormal,"* the Alpha and Omega novels transport readers into the realm of the werewolf, where Charles Cornick and Anna Latham embody opposite sides of the shifter personality. Now, a pleasure trip drops the couple into the middle of some bad supernatural business.

For once, mated werewolves Charles and Anna are not traveling because of Charles’s role as his father’s enforcer. This time, their trip to Arizona is purely personal -- or at least it starts out that way.

Charles and Anna soon discover that a dangerous Fae being is on the loose, replacing human children with simulacrums. The Fae’s cold war with humanity is about to heat up — and Charles and Anna are in the cross fire.






A sexy Shifters Unbound Anthology, including the novellas Lone Wolf and Feral Heat

Together in one volume for the first time, two sexy paranormal tales of untamed passion, uncontrollable attraction, and unquenchable desire.


In Lone Wolf, Ellison Rowe is a wolf Shifter and a self-proclaimed cowboy, but he’s still searching for someone to ease his loneliness. Maria is a human taking refuge among the Shifters, trying to move on from her haunted past. When Ellison and Maria team up, the passion between them is undeniable — as is the hope that their love is just what they both need to start anew.

In Feral Heat, Jace Warden finds himself in close quarters with beautiful and courageous shifter Deni Rowe when he travels to Austin to find a way to free all Shifters from their Collars. As Deni and Jace work together, they feel the mate bond begin. But Deni has troubles of her own, and even Jace’s fierce devotion might not be enough to help her.







They are the Sentinels. Three races descended from ancient guardians of mankind, each possessing unique abilities in their battle to protect humanity against their eternal foes: the Synestryn. Now a warrior must protect his onetime enemy — without succumbing to his darkest desires.

Lyka Phelan is a Slayer, sent to live among her enemy to guarantee lasting peace with the Theronai. Yet she has a secret — and it could make her a slave to their power. But when a pack of Synestryn destroys her home and captures her packmates, Lyka realizes her freedom is a small price to pay for the safety of her people. So she strikes a bargain with the leader of the Theronai — one that reveals her true identity and binds her to him forever.

Joseph thought he knew better than to tangle with the beautiful, hot-blooded Lyka. One misstep could send their races straight back to war. But now he has no choice other than to help her. Forced to protect her with his life, Joseph finds himself increasingly drawn to Lyka. As they risk everything in their fight against the demons, he realizes he must convince her to surrender to him completely — otherwise she will never truly be his.







Busy mom’s rejoice! Now it’s easier than ever to whip up a workweek dinner, bake a classroom treat or toss together a crowd-pleasing favorite for a charity potluck — no matter how quickly the clock is ticking. With The Simple, Easy, Fast Kitchen from Taste of Home, you’re always a moment away from a homemade delight.

Now busy family cooks can make the most of their time in the kitchen with this brand-new collection from Taste of Home. Featuring 429 recipes for everything from snacks and appetizers to quick dinners and bake-sale contributions, each dish was chosen with busy moms in mind. In fact, these recipes are actually shared by busy mom’s who rely on the dishes to accommodate their own hectic lives. Four at-a-glance icons make it easy to find recipes that fit time crunches, and prep/cook timelines make meal planning a cinch. Hundreds of full-color photos, step-by-step instructions and two handy indexes make this a time-saving tool for any busy family.

CHAPTERS

Simply Easy Fast: Snacks and Munchies
Simple Easy Fast: Classroom and Bake Sale Treats
Simple Easy Fast: Breakfasts
Simple Easy Fast: Lunches and Brown Bag Favs
Simple Easy Fast: Dinners
Simple Easy Fast: Breads, Side Dishes and More
Simple Easy Fast: Potluck Specialties
Simple Easy Fast: Desserts

RECIPES

Gorgonzola and Cranberry Cheese Ball
Asparagus Appetizer Roll-Ups
Mushroom Cheese Bread
Overnight Pecan French Toast
Moo Shu Slopy Joes
Ham and Corn Chowder
Bacon Cheeseburger Salad
Cool-Kitchen Meat Loaf
Quick Chicken and Dumplings
Garlic Poppy See Spirals
Chocolate Trifle
Caramel Marshmallow Treats
Mint-Chocolate Ice Cream Cake
S’more Bars






Anise Yamamoto has been told that if she ever removes the rose choker given to her by her father, a terrible punishment will befall her. Unfortunately she loses that choker when a bat-like being falls from the sky and hits her. Anise is granted four cards representing four knights whom she can summon with a kiss. But now that she has these gorgeous men at her beck and call, what exactly is her quest?

Seiran has been kidnapped, and the seal placed on the Demon Lord is breaking! Anise must make a True Contract with her knights in order to save Seiran and stop the Demon Lord from entering this world. But is Anise ready to accept the terms of this new contract with her knights?







After trumpets of the apocalypse proclaim the fall of humanity, vampires arise from the shadows to rule the earth. Yuichiro wants just one thing — to get revenge by killing each and every vampire.

A vampire attack reunites Yuichiro with his childhood friend Mika — though they now face each other from opposing sides of the battlefield. Mika begs him to forget about the conflict between humans and vampires and escape together, but he is torn about abandoning his new friends. Then, everything changes when Yuichiro suddenly transforms into a monstrous being with one seraphic wing!

Chelsea Fine Right Kind of Wrong Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway



I am so excited to have Chelsea Fine here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Chelsea and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Right kind of Wrong Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Chelsea!







RIGHT KIND OF WRONG by Chelsea Fine (March 3, 2015; Forever Trade Paperback; $12.00)

Sometimes wrong can feel oh so right


Jenna Lacombe needs complete control, whether it’s in the streets or between the sheets. So when she sets out on a solo road trip to visit her family in New Orleans, she’s beyond annoyed that the infuriatingly sexy Jack Oliver wants to hitch a ride with her. Ever since they shared a wild night together last year, he’s been trying to strip away her defenses one by one. He claims he’s just coming along to keep her safe-but what’s not safe for her is prolonged exposure to the tattooed hottie.

Jack can’t get Jenna out from under his skin. She makes him feel alive again after his old life nearly destroyed him-and losing her is not an option. Now Jack’s troubles are catching up to him, and he’s forced to return to his hometown in Louisiana. But when his secrets put them both in harm’s way, Jenna will have to figure out how far she’s willing to let love in and how much she already has.
Buy Links:

Amazon
B&N
iBooks
IndieBound
GooglePlay
Kobo
BAM!




About Chelsea Fine:

Chelsea lives in Phoenix, Arizona, where she spends most of her time writing stories, painting murals, and avoiding housework at all costs. She's ridiculously bad at doing dishes and claims to be allergic to laundry. Her obsessions include: superheroes, coffee, sleeping-in, and crazy socks. She lives with her husband and two children, who graciously tolerate her inability to resist teenage drama on TV and her complete lack of skill in the kitchen.

Social Media Links:

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Goodreads

Excerpt

Opening my car door, I slide into the driver’s seat, turn to put the key in the ignition and -

“Ahh!” Jumping back, I thwack my open palm against the gigantic body of pure muscle seated in the passenger seat. “Dammit, Jack! You scared me!”

“Good morning.” He grins.

“What are you doing in my car?” I snap, throwing him some serious stink eye.

“I’m going with you to Louisiana.” He nods to a large duffle bag in the backseat.

I blink. “Uh, no you’re not.”

“Uh, yes I am.”

“Like hell.”

He crinkles his brow. “I’ve never understood that phrase. But okay. I’ll go with you ‘like hell,’ whatever that means.”

“Get out of my car.” I point to the door.

“Oh, Jenna.” He clucks his tongue. “This will be good for both of us. Listen.” He casually leans against the passenger window and pierces me with his gray eyes. “For reasons beyond my control, I need to go back home. And for reasons beyond your control, so do you. And since our ‘homes’ are right next door to one another, I figured we’d carpool to Louisiana and you can just drop me off at Little Vail on your way to New Orleans.”

He gives me that little-boy smile of his and it’s all I can do not to lean forward and soak it in. I hate me.

“I don’t see how that’s good for me,” I say. “At all.”

He shrugs. “You get some company on the road.”

I nod with a clenched jaw. “And you get a free ride.”

His smile grows and I instantly realize that was the wrong thing to say.

“Precisely,” he says.

I can’t afford to spend any excessive time with Jack. Not just because we fight, but because of what happened last year. It was one crazy night when we were both drunk, and we never spoke of it after the fact, but our “friendship” has been tense ever since.

“Well, I don’t need any company,” I say, shaking my head.

“Sure you do,” he says easily. “Everyone needs company.”

“Not me. So get out.”

He grins. “No.”

God I hate him. But not really.

God I hate that I don’t hate him.

I jut my chin and stare him over. “Fine. If you won’t remove yourself.” Exiting the car, I stomp around the hood to his door, yank it open, and wrap my hands around his bicep. Then I start pulling.

He doesn’t budge. Like, he literally doesn’t move an inch as I tug at his oversized arm and grunt like I’m trying to move a massive piece of hardwood furniture and not a human being.

His eyes dance as he watches my struggle. “What’s your plan here, Jenna? Haul me out of the car and leave me in the street?”

“Sounds good to me.”

“Well, that doesn’t sound friendly at all,” he says, flicking the lever to recline to seat a bit so he looks even more relaxed than before.

“I wasn’t trying to be friendly,” I grit out.

“Clearly.”

I try pulling him out again, to no avail. He’s giant and solid, and honestly, just touching him is turning me on.

I drop my hands and glower at him. “You can’t just tell me that you’re coming along on my road trip.”

He cocks his head. “Would you feel better if I asked?”

“Not especially.”

“Jenna.” He leans forward and his gaze bores through me, down into the deepest parts of my being. “Will you please let me join you on your trip to Louisiana?”

For a moment, I’m lost in his eyes, debating with myself. I don’t trust myself around Jack. Not at all. But I did spend half the night tossing in my sleep with nightmares about traveling alone so maybe having Jack tag along might not be so bad after all. Maybe.

Pulling back, I straighten my shoulders and relent, like usual when it comes to Jack.

“Fine,” I huff out as I stomp back to my side of the car in climb in. “But no talking,” I say, hoping I haven’t just made a huge mistake.

He grins and I turn away.

Surely I can manage to keep my panties on around Jack for a few days right?

Giveaway




5 Signed Copies of RIGHT KIND OF WRONG

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce2181/?
http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce2181/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="26635ce2181" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_0jbfu8lz">a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, March 2, 2015

Weekly Book Reads (Mar 2)



 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  The Diabolical Miss Hyde - Viola Carr
2.  Soulbound - Kristin Callihan
3.  Secret Harbor - Anna Sullivan
4.  Hush - Karen Robards
5.  My Love Story Vol. 1 - Kazune Kawahara

Weekly Book Reading:

1.  A Woman Unknown - Frances Brody
2.  Rough Trade - Sarah Castille
3.  Eternal Files - Leanna Renee Huber
4.  The Life I Left Behind - Collete McBeth
5.  Secret Vol. 1 - Yoshiki Tonogai

Lolita Lopez's Wicked Dark Dragon Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway




I am so excited to have Lolita Lopez here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Lolita and Hachette Book Group for allowing me to join your Wicked Dark Dragon Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Lolita!

About Lolita Lopez

While browsing bookstore shelves as a teenager, Lo discovered the erotic writings of Anaïs Nin and A.N. Roquelaure. Certain her mother would not approve, Lo smuggled the books home and squirreled them away in the most likely of places: under her bed. Late at night, she delved into the sensual worlds both writers created.

As a co-ed studying biochemistry and genetics at Texas A&M University, Lo dabbled in creating naughty tales to entertain her friends. Study for a midterm or pen a deliciously dirty story to delight her small band of fans? Not surprisingly, Lo is now on an extended sabbatical from college.

Luckily, Lo stumbled onto the world of erotic romance publishers. She realized there were other readers and writers who loved and craved breathtaking romance with the spiciest of love scenes. She took a chance and submitted her first novella. The rest is history.

Lo lives in Texas with her husband, daughter and big blubbering Great Dane with mommy issues.

You can learn more at:

http://www.lolitalopez.com/books/
Twitter: @lowriter
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorLolitaLopez?fref=ts







 About WICKED DARK DRAGON

Adopted at birth, Ivy Morales always suspected she was more than human. Still, she keeps the outlandish thought to herself - even though she can't ignore her powerful dreams of an ancient blood feud or the darkly erotic turn of those hallucinations. Kidnapped in Mexico for her visions, Ivy has only one chance to escape: find the wickedly sexy man in her dreams.

Welsh dragon shifter Ian Madoc doesn't understand the strange dream connection he shares with an unknown, beautiful woman. Yet after the seductive images turn into pleas for help, Ian rushes off in the middle of the night, hell-bent on rescuing her. But will she turn out to be the soul mate he's always longed for or the downfall of his entire clan?

Amazon: http://amzn.to/1AOPRbq
B&N: http://bit.ly/1ETvNFM
iTunes: http://apple.co/1wlpg1K
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1BCc7Jd
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/1Eveg8W

Excerpt


An invisible fist gripped Ivy's core right behind her navel, and dragged her into a mind space that wasn't her own. She tried to make sense of what was happening. The sensations gripping her body were so strong and real she briefly entertained the idea that she might be hallucinating until she realized that there were boundaries to the psychic space she occupied. She couldn't manipulate this new place as easily as her own thoughts and memories which meant…

This strange place was someone else's dream!

Her bare feet touched cold, hard cement. She blinked and tried to focus her fuzzy vision. A quick glance left and right told her she was standing in a gym. It looked like some kind of training center for fighters, probably mixed-martial arts. Judging by the dimmed lights and silence, it was after hours and closed.

But she could hear a shower running somewhere in the large space. Tiptoeing quietly through this strange dream-world, she followed the sound to the entrance of a locker room. She took a single step forward and stopped. Even if it was only a dream, there were still rules about respecting another person's privacy.

"He's searching for you."

That raspy male voice startled her. She spun around and spotted a flash of movement on the shadowy edges of the gym. Tall, lean and tattooed, a man stepped forward, but his face remained hidden by darkness. The more she studied him, the fuzzier he looked, almost as if out of focus.

It finally occurred to her that the mental strength required to project himself into this dream, a dream that wasn't hers or his but some third person's, must have been great. But maybe there was too much interference from the Mind Miner? It was like static on a television screen, distorting his image and presence.

The shadowy man stalked toward her with long, purposeful strides. She backed up and hit the wall behind her. As he drew closer, he made a point of showing her that he meant no harm. He wasn't here to hurt her. No, he seemed more intent on guiding her.

But toward what?

"Look at me." He grasped her shoulders and hauled her closer. She stared up into his shadowy face but couldn't find his eyes. "Look into me."

The grip on her shoulders tightened almost painfully. She stared into his fathomless darkness of his face—and saw everything. A lifetime of dreams flooded her mind. How many nights had she awoken shaking and in a cold sweat because of those wildly vivid dreams of winged creatures and bloodied knights?

He turned her gently and pressed her forward through the doorway of the locker room, around a bench and into the alcove lined with showers. She didn't want to intrude, but she couldn't stop walking. Her feet seemed to be controlled by him.

Ivy tried to avert her eyes when she realized there was a naked man standing under the shower spray, but the shadow man cupped her face between his rough palms and lifted her head. She trained her gaze on the showering man's back. He had brawny shoulders and the widest back she had ever seen. Tattoos swirled along his tanned skin. The symbols marking him looked ancient and powerful.

This man looked powerful.

Water sluiced along his muscular shoulders and biceps. He fit her vision of a brawler with his huge size, but she sensed he was a skilled and refined fighter. A total opposite of every man that she had ever dated, the beast lathering soap on his muscular arms awakened a clawing need within her. She became intensely aware of his scent, a smell so strong and enticing that she breathed it deep into her lungs and held it there.

"He's been searching for you for ages." The hands clasping her face dropped to her shoulders. "Let him find you, Ivy. Let him save you." Strong fingers squeezed her shoulders. "And then you can save us."

Giveaway




http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/26635ce2182/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="26635ce2182" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_zcbl5fnf" and;a Rafflecopter giveaway


Sunday, March 1, 2015

RS Review: Hush (Hardcover)



I've finished "Hush" by Karen Robards.

In New York Times bestselling author Karen Robards’s latest heart-pounding thriller, a woman must uncover a murderer — or risk being the next victim of a vicious killer.

When Riley Cowan finds her estranged husband Jeff dead in his palatial home, she’s sure it’s no coincidence. The police rule it a suicide, but Riley thinks someone’s out for blood — specifically someone Jeff’s father ripped off in one of the biggest financial fraud cases of all time. She suspects that someone is trying to send a message to Jeff’s father: Tell me where the money is, or everyone you care about will die.

Enter Finn Bradley, an FBI agent with a dangerous secret. He's after the money too, and Riley quickly becomes his chief suspect. But when someone tries to kill her, he has no choice but to protect her until he can uncover the truth. The question becomes, can they discover the killer’s identity in time, before he resurfaces — and strikes again?

About the Author

Karen Robards is the author of more than forty novels and one novella. A regular on the New York Times, USA TODAY, and Publishers Weekly bestseller lists, among others, she is the mother of three boys and lives in Louisville, Kentucky.

Product Details
Hardcover: 416 pages
Publisher: Gallery Books; First Edition first Printing edition (December 30, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1476766584
ISBN-13: 978-1476766584


My Review:

To me the characters only feel lust for each other and didn't get to know each that well before they said they loved each other.

I hated how she used her feminine wiles to get out of questioning and denied or omitted information.

3/5

Library Haul 2015 (Mar 1)




Library Haul


Here's the list of books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga I picked up this week at the library:

Manga:

1.  Vampire Knight Vol. 19 - Matsuri Hino

March Releases




3rd
Immortal - J.R. Ward
The Traveling Tea Shop - Belinda Jones
Dead Heat - Patricia Briggs
Shifter Mates - Jennifer Ashley
Binding Ties - Shannon K. Butcher
Taste of Home Simple, Easy, Fast Kitchen
Kiss of the Rose Prince Vol. 3 - Aya Shouoto
Seraph of the End, Vol. 4 - Takaya Kagami

10th
Requiem of the Rose King Vol. 1 - Aya Kanno

17th
Resident Evil Vol. 3 - Naoki Serizawa
Resident Evil: Revelations 2

24th
Garden of Death - Chrystle Fiedle
Karneval, Vol. 1 - Touya Mikanagi
Demon From Afar Vol. 2 - Kaori Yuki
He’s My Only Vampire Vol. 2 - Aya Shouoto
Bloody Cross Vol. 6 - Shiwo Komeyama
The Angel of Elhamburg - Aki
Are You Alice Vol. 8 - Ai Ninomiya
The Devil Is a Part-Timer, Vol. 1 - Satoshi Wagahara
Love at Fourteen, Vol. 2 - Fuka Mizutani

31st
Instinct - Sherrilyn Kenyon
The Shadows - J.R. Ward
The Dead Play On - Heather Graham
Wild Hearts - Sharon Sala
The Closer You Come - Gena Showalter

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Bunny Express Saturday 2015 (Feb 28)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.


For Review:





As a child, Bailey Browne dreamed of a knight in shining armor swooping in to rescue her and her mother. As she grows older, those dreams transform, becoming ones of a mysterious stranger who will sweep her off her feet and whisk her away from her ordinary existence. Then, suddenly, there he is. Despite the ten year difference in their ages, her working class upbringing and his of privilege, Logan Abbott and Bailey fall deeply in love. Marriage quickly follows.

But when Logan brings her home to his horse farm in Louisiana, a magnificent estate on ninety wooded acres, her dreams of happily-ever-after begin to unravel. A tragic family history she knew nothing about surfaces, plus whisperings about the disappearance of his first wife, True, and rumors about the women from the area who have gone missing — and when another woman disappears, all signs point to her husband's involvement.

At first Bailey ignores the whispers, even circumstantial evidence against Logan mounts. But finally, Bailey must make a choice: believe what everyone says — or bet her life on the man she loves, but is realizing she hardly knows.

From the author of Justice for Sara, Erica Spindler's The First Wife is a thrilling new novel that will have you gasping on every page.






Half man, half animal, a Shadow Shifter must walk the line between predator and prey, hunger and obsession — to capture the woman he loves.

A natural born hunter proud of his birthright, Ezra Preston agrees to hide his identity and pretend to be human — to learn what his enemies know of his kind. But even undercover, it’s not in his nature to play games with a woman. Especially when he discovers the beautiful creature has been keeping secrets of her own.

This is no ordinary woman he’s stalking but an alluring and mysterious cat thief — with dangerous secrets of her own.

Jewel Jenner has plotted and schemed for months, hiding her knowledge of a top-secret operation to save her ailing father. Captivated by her passion, skill, and courage, Ezra wants to help Jewel on her mission. But when he discovers how far she’s gone — sleeping with the enemy to steal a fortune in diamonds — he must decide if he can trust this enthralling woman with his secret or trust his fiercest instincts when he’s near her, in Hunger’s Mate by A.C. Arthur.






From New York Times bestselling author Sarah Castille comes Rough Justice, a scorching new series featuring red-hot, hard-riding bikers and the women who can’t help but love them.

IT TAKES A GOOD, STRONG WOMAN


Raised in a motorcycle gang, tough, beautiful Arianne Wilder has always dreamed of a normal life. But no sooner does she escape her father’s domineering grasp than she wakes up to find herself in a rival gang’s clubhouse — at the mercy of the dangerously sexy Jagger Knight.

TO TAME A MAN WHO’S HELL ON WHEELS

The alpha leader of the notorious Sinner’s Tribe, Jagger Knight is all muscle, all biker, and all man. But somewhere inside this hard, tattooed outlaw, Arianne senses a kindred spirit — and she can’t ignore their tempestuous attraction. Can she beat him at his own game in a revved-up blaze of glory? Or will their passion spark a war that’s the end of the road for them both?







Sopes, Tamales, Pozole, Huevos Rancheros -- you've never had Mexican food like this! Daily Tortilla starts with the basics of tortillas, beans, rice, and salsas, and then builds to an incredibly delicious repertoire of dishes found in any family dining room in Mexico. Say adios to Americanized Mexican food -- this is authentic, south-of-the-border flavor at its finest!



 


Six years ago, Melody Pieterson was attacked and left for dead. Only a chance encounter with a dog walker saved her life. Melody's neighbor and close friend David Alden was found guilty of the crime and imprisoned, and the attack and David's betrayal of her friendship left Melody a different person. She no longer trusts her own judgment, she no longer trusts her friends. In fact, she no longer really has any friends. She's built a life behind walls and gates and security codes; she's cloistered herself away from the world almost entirely.

And then, soon after David is released from prison, Eve Elliot is murdered in an attack almost identical to Melody's. With the start of a new police investigation, Melody is suddenly pulled from her ordered, secluded life and back into the messy world around her. But as she learns more about Eve's murder, Melody starts to wonder if perhaps David hadn't betrayed her after all if perhaps the killer is someone else entirely, someone who's still out there, preparing to strike again.

Narrated alternately by Melody and by Eve's lingering ghost, The Life I Left Behind is a taut thriller and an intimate look at two young women bound together in ways neither of them could ever have predicted. Colette McBeth has proven once again that she is a master of suspense.

Thanks Cedar Fort, Minotaur and St. Martin's Press!
Related Posts with Thumbnails