Friday, October 24, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #206



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!


When did you start blogging?

I started blogging on September of 2013, I was always a bit intimidated to start a blog but a friend encouraged me and I?m glad to say that I’ve been able to juggle life and blogging.

What is your favorite part of book blogging?

My favorite part has to be that the Book Blogging community is the first place where I could speak about my love for books without people making fun of me; sadly most of my friends and family don’t get why I like to read so it was amazing to find a place that has so many amazing people that do get my love for books.

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

I mainly like Young Adult Books since they are my favorites but I also read romance novels and some classics, I’m trying to expand a bit.

What is your favorite book(s)?

I have to many to count but my all time favorites are The Harry Potter Series, 1984, The Count of Montecristo and anything that Julie Kagawa writes.

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

I think it was the first time I received and ARC; I had a horrible day at school and when I got home there was a package with a free book inside and some related merchandise, the feeling I got was amazing.

Our Feature - Shooting Star Reviews

1. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging about a year and half ago. I had been reading constantly for the previous two years, and I found Goodreads and started writing reviews after a while. After that it all just kind of fell into place once I started my blog.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Getting to share the books I love! It's so much fun getting to talk about books constantly!

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?


There isn't a main type. I tend to lean more towards the romance genre with lots of sub genres such as contemporary, young adult, new adult, ect. But I really don't discriminate against certain books, unless it's horror. I normally can't do horror!

4. What are your favorite books?

Wow, that is a hard question. I have a lot of favorite books! I will only name a few though. The Gamble by Kristen Ashley, Fallen Crest High by Tijan, Strong by Kendal Waller, Sweet Seduction Shadow by Nicola Claire, and the Elemental Assassin series by Jennifer Estep!

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

Hmm, there have been a few good things that have happened because of it!
I've found a real true friend, Jme!

I found amazing books that help me escape.

And I've even found a job opportunity with a publishing company!)

Question of the Week: 

Characters, sometimes our favorites, die during books. If you'd get to choose, who would you bring back? 

I would bring back Kisten from the Rachel Morgan series because I was upset when he died and I thought he didn't need to die.









Thursday, October 23, 2014

PNR Review: The Darkest Touch (Lords of the Underworld) Mass Market Paperback



I'm finished "The Darkest Touch" the 12th book in her Lords of the Underworld series by Gena Showalter.

From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter comes the long-awaited story of Torin, the most dangerous Lord of the Underworld yet.

Fierce immortal warrior. Host to the demon of Disease. Torin's every touch causes sickness and death — and a worldwide plague. Carnal pleasure is utterly forbidden, and though he has always overcome temptation with an iron will, his control is about to shatter.

She is Keeleycael. The Red Queen. When the powerful beauty with shocking vulnerabilities escapes from a centuries-long imprisonment, the desire that simmers between her and Torin is scorching. His touch could mean her end, but resisting her is the hardest battle he's ever fought — and the only battle he fears he can't win.

About the Author

Gena Showalter is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of over fifty books, including the acclaimed Lords of the Underworld and Angels of the Dark series, and the White Rabbit Chronicles. She writes sizzling paranormal romance, heartwarming contemporary romance, and unputdownable young adult novles, and lives in Oklahoma City with her family and managerie of dogs. Visit her at GenaShowalter.com.

Product Details
Series: Lords of the Underworld (Book 12)
Mass Market Paperback: 496 pages
Publisher: Harlequin HQN (November 25, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0373778910
ISBN-13: 978-0373778911


My Review:

I love the batter between Torin and Keeleycael because it sounds so sexy and I swear it has double meaning.  It's definitely foreplay between them and when they finally come together it's scorching hot!

4/5

Thanks Harlequin Canada for sending me this book to review, greatly appreciated!

Anime Overview: Your Lie in April (Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso)




Synopsis

Piano prodigy Arima Kosei dominated the competition and all child musicians knew his name. But after his mother, who was also his instructor, passed away, he had a mental breakdown while performing at a recital that resulted in him no longer being able to hear the sound of his piano even though his hearing was perfectly fine. Even two years later, Kosei hasn't touched the piano and views the world in monotone, and without any flair or color. He was content at living out his life with his good friends Tsubaki and Watari until, one day, a girl changed everything. Miyazono Kaori is a pretty, free spirited violinist whose playing style reflects her personality. Kaori helps Kosei return to the music world and show that it should be free and mold breaking unlike the structured and rigid style Kosei was used to.

Characters 

Kousei Arima (Arima Kōsei) Voiced by: Natsuki Hanae

Kaori Miyazono (Miyazono Kaori) Voiced by: Risa Taneda

Tsubaki Sawabe (Sawabe Tsubaki) Voiced by: Ayane Sakura

Ryota Watari (Watari Ryōta) Voiced by: Ryōta Ōsaka

Takeshi Aiza (Aiza Takeshi) Voiced by: Yūki Kaji

Emi Igawa (Igawa Emi) Voiced by: Saori Hayami

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Wednesday Wish List



Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.










Rare and never-before published short stories featuring fan favorites from the New York Times bestselling series.

It’s been more than ten years since Kelley Armstrong began the Otherworld series and drew legions of fans to a realm roamed by witches, werewolves, necromancers, vampires, and half-demons. Many of the novels have become bestselling favorites, but not all of the Otherworld adventures have been easy to find. At last, Otherworld Nights shares short stories that have previously been available only online or in obscure collections. Fans have long been clamoring for this anthology and they won’t be disappointed — they’ll find plenty of surprises are in store.









TWIN KILLING

Agent Sam Ryan wants out of the Special Investigations Unit. She’s sick of the attitude from her partner, Gabriel Stern. She’s sick of the paperwork. Most of all, she’s sick of feeling lonely. But her boss isn’t about to let her go that easily. He gives Sam a choice: either stay stuck in her office or guard a clone replacement of Dan Wetherton, a government minister. Sam reluctantly chooses the latter.

Gabriel would like nothing better than to be on his own, without a partner to hold him back. Then he learns that Sam has been assigned to protect Wetherton — or whatever it is that’s replaced him. Wetherton’s clone could have come from only one place: Hopeworth, the military base that contains the secrets of Sam’s past. Determined to protect her, Gabriel is drawn into a fight against unspeakable evil. And all too soon, Sam and Gabriel discover that the connection between them is far more powerful than anyone could ever have imagined.








From #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts comes a trilogy about the land we’re drawn to, the family we learn to cherish, and the people we long to love.

Book Three of The Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy:

Blood Magick


County Mayo is rich in the traditions of Ireland, legends that Branna O’Dwyer fully embraces in her life and in her work as the proprietor of The Dark Witch shop, which carries soaps, lotions, and candles for tourists, made with Branna’s special touch.

Branna’s strength and selflessness hold together a close circle of friends and family — along with their horses and hawks and her beloved hound. But there’s a single missing link in the chain of her life: love.

She had it once — for a moment — with Finbar Burke, but a shared future is forbidden by history and blood. Which is why Fin has spent his life traveling the world to fill the abyss left in him by Branna, focusing on work rather than passion.

Branna and Fin’s relationship offers them both comfort and torment. And though they succumb to the heat between them, there can be no promises for tomorrow. A storm of shadows threatens everything that their circle holds dear. It will be Fin’s power, loyalty, and heart that will make all the difference in an age-old battle between the bonds that hold their friends together and the evil that has haunted their families for centuries.

Don’t miss the first two books in the Cousins O’Dwyer Trilogy:

Dark Witch and Shadow Spell — even though she suspects she’s being used as bait to draw out the SIU’s elusive nemesis.










From the glittering ballrooms to the scaffold’s dark shadow, Lovely Velvet Moran has renounced all thoughts of love. To save her family from ruin, she will wed the hard-faced Duke of Carlyle. But instead of becoming a nobleman’s bride, Velvet finds herself a notorious highwayman’s prize — her resolve to escape his forest lair warring with the wicked heat sparked by his caresses.

the path of temptation keeps unfolding

Falsely branded a murderer, Jason Sinclair has secretly returned to clear his name and stop the wedding that would deny him his stolen dukedom. In an outlaw masquerade, he’ll kidnap this sensuous minx and detain her as long as is necessary. But can he bridle the surge of passion that has captured his soul and could imperil them both?

Gena Showalter The Darkest Touch Blog Tour with a Giveaway


I am so excited to have Gena Showalter here at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Giveaway.

Thanks Gena and Harlequin for allowing me to join your The Darkest Touch Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Gena!








Bio:

Gena Showalter is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author whose books have appeared in Cosmopolitan and Seventeen magazines, as well as Entertainment Weekly. Her novel Red Handed has been optioned by Sony Television. Critics have called her books “sizzling page-turners” and “utterly spellbinding stories,” while Showalter herself has been called “a star on the rise.” Her mix of humor, danger and wickedly hot sex provides wildly sensual page-turners sure to enthrall.









From New York Times bestselling author Gena Showalter comes the long-awaited story of Torin, the most dangerous Lord of the Underworld yet.

Fierce immortal warrior. Host to the demon of Disease. Torin’s every touch causes sickness and death — and a worldwide plague. Carnal pleasure is utterly forbidden, and though he has always overcome temptation with an iron will, his control is about to shatter.

She is Keeley Cael. The Red Queen. When the powerful beauty with shocking vulnerabilities escapes from a centuries-long imprisonment, the desire that simmers between her and Torin is scorching. His touch could mean the end for her, but resisting her is the hardest battle he’s ever fought — and the only battle he fears he can’t win.

Exclusive Q&A's:

1.  Are there more books planned in the series? Perhaps a book for William?

Yes! The next paranormal romance I write will be set in the Lords of the Underworld universe, but I’m not yet sure who will be the star. William is a contender, but then, so is Cameo, Hades—dude! Get ready to fall for Hades! He surprised the crap out of me in The Darkest Touch and I found him hotter than the sun — and a few others.

2.  What 5 things would you like readers to know about THE DARKEST TOUCH

1. Don’t let the fact that Torin can’t touch a woman skin-to-skin without killing her and kicking off a worldwide plague scare you. This book is one of my hottest to date!

2. William is in it — he wants to know why he wasn’t listed as the number one reason — and he is both sexy and sexy. Did I mention sexy?

3. You’ll get to see a side of Galen you’ve never seen before.

4. Keeley, the heroine, makes Anya want to pee her pants in fear. She rocks my socks!

5. Reviews are coming in and this has been called my best book to date!

Giveaway

If we reach 15,000 pre-order for The Darkest Touch before the November 25th release date, Gena Showalter will:

· Post a never before seen excerpt from The Darkest Touch

· select one winner for a Swarovksi Two-Tone Crystal Butterfly Pendant Necklace

· select winners for 1 of 10 signed posters of the Darkest Touch cover, just in time for Christmas.

To enter The Darkest Touch Pre-Order Campaign, visit http://members.genashowalter.com/page/the-darkest-touch for details.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Anime Overview: Bonjour Koiaji Pâtisserie




Synopsis

Sayuri Haruno dreams of becoming a pastry chef and enrolls in Fleurir Confectionary Academy, an elite school located in Tokyo's trendy Aoyama district. At Fleurir, she finds herself surrounded by charming boys, each one distinctly unique. Out of the entire class, Ryou Kouzuki's desire to become a pastry chef is the strongest. Blessed with unparalleled technique, instructor Mitsuki Aoi acts like a prince and is hugely popular at the school. Gilbert Hanafusa, the mood maker of the bunch, is a student from France. Yoshinosuke Suzumi is not very good at expressing his feelings, but underneath his stony exterior lies a wholehearted passion for wagashi (Japanese sweets).

As Sayuri pours her heart and soul into making her dream a reality, she encounters many happenings.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Weekly Book Reads (Oct 20)



 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  Private Down Under - James Patterson
2.  It's In His Kiss - Jill Shavis
3.  DURARARA!! YELLOW SCARVES ARC Volume 1 - Ryohgo Narita

Weekly Book Reading:

1.  The Darkest Touch - Gena Showalter
2.  Crave the Night - Lara Adrian
3.  Son of No One - Sherrilyn Kenyon
4.  Dengeki Daisy Vol. 14 - Kyousuke Motomi

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Library Haul 2014 (Oct 19 - 25)




Library Haul


Here's the list of books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga I picked up this week at the library:

Softcover:

1.  Eat Dat New Orleans: A Guide to the Unique Food Culture of the Crescent City -
Michael Murphy
2.  The Autobiography of Jack the Ripper -





Ruth Reichl
4.  Night Diver - Elizabeth Lowell

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Bunny Express Saturday 2014 (Oct 18)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.

For Review:








The final electrifying installment in the #1 New York Times bestselling vampyre series.

Zoey Redbird is in trouble. Having released the Seer Stone to Aphrodite, and surrendered herself to the Tulsa Police, she has isolated herself from her friends and mentors, determined to face the punishment she deserves — even if that means her body will reject the change, and begin to die. Only the love of those closest to her can save her from the Darkness in her spirit; but a terrible evil has emerged from the shadows, more powerful than ever Neferet has finally made herself known to mortals. Crowning herself a Dark Goddess, she is evil unleashed and is enslaving the citizens of Tulsa. The vampyres of the House of Night have banded with the police, and are gathering every last resource they have, but they know that no single vampyre is strong enough to vanquish her — unless that vampyre has the power to summon the elements as well as the ability to wield Old Magick. Only Zoey is heir to such power but because of the consequences of using Old Magick, she is unable to help.

In the final novel in the House of Night series, an epic battle of Light versus Darkness will decide who is redeemed and who is forever lost.

The House of Night series by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast is an international phenomenon, reaching #1 on U.S., German, and UK bestseller lists, and remaining a fixture on The New York Times Children’s Series bestseller list for nearly 160 weeks and counting, with more than 12 million copies in print and rights sold in thirty–eight countries to date.








Two teenagers struggle with a horrific family legacy, and the woman who has adopted them fights for their lives -- and her own.

Adam and Alice are reaching the age when some of the children created by the fertility treatment that spawned them begin to turn feral. Will they succomb to the same physiological horror that destroyed their parents? Every change brings on terror -- the voice cracking as it changes, the swelling of the breasts, the coarsening of down into actual hair. Their aunt, Cynthia, oversees renovations to the Twisden family's Manhattan residence -- torn apart by the children's parents at their most savage -- and struggles to give her niece and nephew the unconditional love they never had. Meanwhile, in the world outside, the forces of good and evil collide as a troop of feral offspring threatens to invade the refuge Cynthia is so determined to construct behind the Twisdens' walls.

Thanks Hachette Book Group and Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc!

Friday, October 17, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #205



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Our Feature - Reading YA Rocks

When did you start blogging?

I started blogging blogging about books back in November 2010. But I just started blogging at Reading YA Rocks this past September.

What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Everything! Can I say that? I love the community, I love getting the chance to discover books and authors I might never have discovered otherwise, and I love rambling about all things book.

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Mostly YA. I do love reading PNR/UF and NA contemp but I am not so great at reviewing them.

What is your favorite book(s)?

WIZARD AND GLASS by Stephen King. Hands down favorite of all time.

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

“Meeting” and getting to know the amazing designer, blogger and person that is Parajunkee. No joke. Of course getting the chance to beta books by authors I adore and respect, getting a character named after me, getting listed in the acknowledgements of a few books, getting blurbed once or twice, and getting to meet these amazing authors has been fantastic. And making a really great friend – Jaime of Two Chicks on Books – is one of the very best things that happened because of book blogging.

Our Feature - Reading YA Rocks

1. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging blogging about books back in November 2010. But I just started blogging at Reading YA Rocks this past September.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Everything! Can I say that? I love the community, I love getting the chance to discover books and authors I might never have discovered otherwise, and I love rambling about all things book.

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Mostly YA. I do love reading PNR/UF and NA contemp but I am not so great at reviewing them.

4. What are your favorite books?

WIZARD AND GLASS by Stephen King. Hands down favorite of all time.

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

"Meeting" and getting to know the amazing designer, blogger and person that is Parajunkee. :) No joke. Of course getting the chance to beta books by authors I adore and respect, getting a character named after me, getting listed in the acknowledgements of a few books, getting blurbed once or twice, and getting to meet these amazing authors has been fantastic. And making a really great friend - Jaime of Two Chicks on Books - is one of the very best things that happened because of book blogging.

Question of the Week: Share the song you can't stop listening to - Suggested by Journey Through Fiction












I'm also listening to "Wicked Game" and "Can't Do a Thing to Stop Me" by Chris Issak (the videos are a little to racy to post here, LOL!).







Related Posts with Thumbnails