Thursday, July 24, 2014

Eyes on You: A Novel of Suspense




I've finished "Eyes on You" by Kate White.

From New York Times bestselling author Kate White comes a riveting psychological suspense in which a media star must battle a malevolent enemy who may be disturbingly close to her.

After losing her on-air job two years ago, television host Robin Trainer has fought her way back and now she’s hotter than ever. With her new show climbing in the ratings and her first book a bestseller, she’s being dubbed a media double threat.

But suddenly, things begin to go wrong. Small incidents at first: a nasty note left in her purse; her photo shredded. But the obnoxious quickly becomes threatening when the foundation the makeup artist uses burns Robin’s face. It wasn’t an accident — someone had deliberately doctored with the product.

An adversary with a dark agenda wants to hurt Robin, and the clues point to someone she works with every day. While she frantically tries to put the pieces together and unmask this hidden foe, it becomes terrifyingly clear that the person responsible isn’t going to stop until Robin loses everything that matters to her including her life.

Product Details
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Harper (June 24, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0061576638
ISBN-13: 978-0061576638


My Review:

3/5

Christopher Geoffrey McPherson's Murder at Eastern Columbia Blog Tour with a Spotlight



I am so excited to have Christopher Geoffrey McPherson here Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Christopher and Pump Up Your Book Promotions for allowing me to join your Murder at Eastern Columbia Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Christopher!









About the Author

In more than three decades as a professional writer/journalist, Christopher Geoffrey McPherson has covered myriad subjects and interviewed thousands of people from the famous to the unknown. He brings his years of experience to each one of his novels.

Every work is different. Through reading his novels, you can visit the American home front in the 1940s, a future San Francisco wiped out by a killer earthquake, a romantic love affair in post-war Paris in the 1920s, a future planet where the major industry is making babies -- or an exciting detective series set in 1930s Los Angeles.

In his career, his work has appeared in daily newspapers, monthly magazines, extensively on radio and the occasional dalliance with television. He has written advertising copy and radio commercials -- and continues to write.

Christopher is currently working on a series of novels that take place in 1930s Los Angeles called “The James Murray Mysteries.” Books in the series are "Murder at Eastern Columbia," “Sabotage at RKO Studio” and the newest “Abduction at Griffith Observatory.”

Other works featuring his byline include "The Babi Makers" -- a science fiction tale about a world where the most important resource is babies; "Sarah & Gerald" -- a novel about Paris in the 1920s; "Forever - and other stories" -- a collection of short stories; "The Life Line" -- the novel of the big one that levels San Francisco; "News on the Home Front" -- a novel of two friends during World War Two; and "Mama Cat" -- a book for children. Also, several short plays, a few radio plays and a boatload of radio documentaries.

For More Information

Visit Christopher Geoffrey McPherson’s website.
Connect with Christopher on Facebook and Twitter.
Visit Christopher blog.
More books by Christopher Geoffrey McPherson.
Contact the author. 






About the Book:

Los Angeles. 1931. Your name is James Murray. You are a clerk in the Junior Boy's department at the swankest new department store in downtown. You want to be a writer, but there's a Depression on. Suddenly, you find yourself trying to solve the murder of your best friend. Will you be able to find the murderer before it's too late?

"Murder at Eastern Columbia" is two novels in one: two parallel stories, featuring two heroes, working two murders in two different versions of 1930s Los Angeles. Join James and his alter ego as they each try to solve the murder of the girl with sorrel-colored hair. Follow the twists and turns until the climactic scene atop the tallest building in all of LA: the brand new Los Angeles City Hall.

For More Information:

Murder at Eastern Columbia is available at Amazon.
Pick up your copy at Barnes & Noble.
Download at iTunes.
Discuss this book at PUYB Virtual Book Club at Goodreads. Read more about the James Murray Mysteries.

Book Excerpt:

Murder at Eastern Columbia, a James Murray mystery, takes place in downtown Los Angeles in 1931. In this excerpt, one of the main characters talks to a friend of hers over breakfast about a trip she took with her now-dead sister -- and how they met the man she believes killed her.

"Both of us -- my sister and I -- wanted so bad to see Paris. Father sold one of our cars and managed to scrape up enough money to get us there and back, with a little left over for accommodations and food. It wasn't a lavish trip by any means, but we didn't care. We wanted to be in Paris more than anything else in the world, so Father sent us.

"We had a wonderful time. Met some wonderful people. One of them was a gorgeous French model. She took us under her wing. Showed us everything that made Paris so beautiful. We all became fast friends. She was supposed to be coming back to America on the same ship. Something happened at the very last minute -- I think she got a booking for a Vogue magazine cover shoot -- and she ended up having to take a later sailing. In the confusion, all of her bags were left on board our ship. There was no time to take them off, so she gave us the claim checks and asked us to make sure the bags arrived in America safely. She even gave us a couple hundred French francs for our trouble.

"Well, it was hardly any trouble, if you know what I mean. Think of it: two poor American girls, third class on a beautiful ocean liner, making the sailing across to America. My sister always had more ambition than I did. She took the extra francs the model had given us, marched right up to the purser and upgraded us both from third class to the finest first class suite we could afford. I was shocked, but it was all pretty exciting.

"She gave our room attendant the claim checks and had all the model's trunks brought to our suite. You should have seen her face when she opened them up: there were fabulously expensive Chanel dresses, Vionnets, Poirets, dresses by Molyneux and Lelong, entire suits by Schiaparelli and Mainbocher, and a separate leather bag filled with exquisite Hermes silk scarves. Hermes silk scarves! Can you imagine? It was all the best of the best of French couture right there in our suite. My sister spent hours trying on everything -- and then the idea hit her: she would have her hair and nails done at the ship salon and then go to dinner dressed in one of these sumptuous outfits! I was against it, of course, but she would hear none of it. So, she did just that and we went to dinner that evening.

"I have to admit, she looked stunning. She had chosen a fantastic dark-green satin Mainbocher, with an inset chevron in light green right at the waist. It came with an ermine-trimmed cape. Oh, with her red hair, it was amazing. She was perhaps the most beautiful woman at dinner that night. I didn't dare to wear one of the model's outfits, so I stuck to my own clothing, but I still looked good."

I looked up at her and smiled.

"I'm sure you did," I offered.

She smiled back, then continued.

"When she came down the stairs into the main dining room, you could hear all the conversation stop as people turned to look at her. In fact, a few of the men stood and began applauding at her entrance. Soon, the entire room was applauding. I think they thought she was a famous actress or something, the attention she got.

"After dinner, there was dancing. She was the most popular woman on the ship that night. All the wealthy young roués fluttered around her like so many moths to a bright flame. She asked for a cigarette and was given ten. She asked for a light and was met with a blazing fire of lighters and matches. I was happy for her because she was happy. But then, he came up to her."

"Marco?" I asked, wiping my mouth and taking a sip of coffee.

"Yes. He approached her and the other fellows retreated fast. He had a reputation even aboard that ship. Once he made his claim on her, no other man dared to approach her. It was the start of a ship-board romance that lasted the rest of the trip. She had no shortage of fine outfits to wear and she wore them all. After that first night, I rarely spent time with her. How could I? She was always with him. I saw her across the crowded dining room, or on the deck, or at the symphony, but she was almost never without him at her side. I was worried, but she seemed so happy. It was the last time she was going to be that happy."

Wednesday, July 23, 2014

Wednesday Wish List




Please list the books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.







A place of history, secrets and witchcraft.

Devin Lyle has recently returned to the Salem area, but her timing couldn't be worse. Soon after she moved into the eighteenth-century cabin she inherited from her great-aunt Mina — her "crazy" great-aunt, who spoke to the dead — a woman was murdered nearby.

Craig Rockwell — known as Rocky — is a new member of the Krewe of Hunters, the FBI's team of paranormal investigators. He never got over finding a friend dead in the woods. Now another body's been found in those same woods, not far from the home of Devin Lyle. And Devin's been led to a third body — by a ghost?

Her discovery draws them both deeper into the case and Salem's rich and disturbing history. Even as the danger mounts, Devin and Rocky begin to fall for each other, something the ghosts of Mina and past witches seem to approve of. But the two of them need every skill they possess to learn the truth — or Devin's might be the next body in the woods.








Judged

As he watches, her body drifts below the water's surface, forever altered. Before he disposes of each victim, he takes a trophy. It's a sign of his power, and a warning — to the one destined to suffer most of all.

Condemned

In Grizzly Falls, Montana, Detectives Selena Alvarez and Regan Pescoli are struggling with a new commander and a department in the midst of upheaval. It's the worst possible time for a homicide. A body has been found, missing a finger. Alvarez hopes this means a murderer with a personal grudge, not a madman. But then a second body turns up.

Executed

As the clues begin pointing toward a suspect, Pescoli's unease grows. Even with Alvarez barely holding it together and her own personal life in chaos, she senses there's more to this case than others believe. A killer has made his way to Grizzly Falls, ready to fulfill a vengeance years in the making. And Pescoli must find the target of his wrath — or die trying.







In New York Times bestselling author Wendy Corsi Staub's new thriller, one woman finds herself in the crosshairs of a twisted predator who might just be masked behind a familiar screen name.

During the darkest period of her life, Landry Wells found solace in a group of bloggers who had been in her shoes and lived to tell the tale. She's shared things with her online friends that even her husband and children didn't know. Things that now, looking back, make her uneasy.

One of the bloggers is dead, victim of a random crime — or was it? Did she trust too easily; reveal too much? At the funeral a thousand miles from home, Landry is about to come face to face at last with the others. These women are her closest confidantes in the world: they understand her; they know everything about her — and one of them might be a cold-blooded killer.







Half man, half animal, a Shadow Shifter is sworn to protect females — human or otherwise — from the savage fury of his own nature  Rich, handsome, and successful — hotel magnate Sebastian "Bas" Perry could have any woman he desires. But despite his animal attraction to women, he avoids relationships at all costs. As a Shadow Shifter, he must defend innocent humans from the deadliest of his kind. And the most dangerous game of all is falling in love.  It takes a special kind of woman to hunt a predator, to tame the beast — and to capture a man’s heart Priya Drake is an ambitious reporter hungry for a story.

At a presidential fundraiser, she sets her sights on the mysterious and magnetic Bas Perry, a man with a secret she’s determined to uncover. Stalking her prey back to his hotel, the hunter soon becomes the hunted — when Bas takes her in his arms and unleashes the animal within.

For Priya, it is more than a night of wild, reckless passion. It’s the story of a lifetime. But can she betray the man she loves? in Shifter’s Claim by A.C. Arthur.

Tuesday, July 22, 2014

New Release 2014 (July 22)



 




New Release






 


When Ririchiyo returns home for the New Year's festivities, she is hesitant to admit to her family that her bodyguard is also her boyfriend. Over the past several months, the other supernatural boarders at Ayakashi Hall have become more like a real family to her than any she has ever known. Never have these bonds been more evident than when danger threatens one of her new friends.

Monday, July 21, 2014

Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun Overview




Plot

High school student Chiyo Sakura has a crush on schoolmate Umetarō Nozaki, but when she confesses her love to him, he mistakes her for a fan and gives her an autograph. When she says that she always wants to be with him, he invites her to his house and has her help on some drawings. Chiyo discovers that Nozaki is actually a renowned shōjo manga artist named Sakiko Yumeno. She then agrees to be his assistant in order to get closer to him. As they work on his manga Let's Fall in Love (Koi Shiyo, Let's Have a Romance), they encounter other schoolmates who assist them or serve as inspirations for characters in the stories.

Weekly Book Reads (July 21)



 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  Do or Die - Suzanne Brockmann
2.  Shadow Spell - Nora Roberts
3.  The Dead Will Tell - Linda Castillo
4.  Crimson Spell Vol. 4 - Ayano Yamane


Weekly Book Reading:

1.  Lady Luck - Kristen Ashley
2.  Breath - Kristen Ashley
3.  Eyes on You - Kate White
4.  Barricade in Hell - Jaime Lee Moyer
5.  Voice Over! Seiyu Academy Vol. 5 - Miki Minami

Sunday, July 20, 2014

MT Review: The Dead Will Tell: A Kate Burkholder Novel




I've finished "The Dead Will Tell" the 6th book in her Kate Burkholder series by Linda Castillo.

Everyone in Painters Mill knows the abandoned Hochstetler farm is haunted. But only a handful of the residents remember the terrible secrets lost in the muted/hushed whispers of time—and now death is stalking them, seemingly from the grave.

On a late-night shift, Chief of Police Kate Burkholder is called to the scene of an apparent suicide — an old man found hanging from the rafters in his dilapidated barn. But evidence quickly points to murder and Kate finds herself chasing a singularly difficult and elusive trail of evidence that somehow points back to the tragedy of that long ago incident. Meanwhile, Kate has moved in with state agent John Tomasetti and for the first time in so long, they're both happy; a bliss quickly shattered when one of the men responsible for the murders of Tomasetti’s family four years ago is found not guilty, and walks away a free man. Will Tomasetti be pulled back to his own haunted past?

When a second man is found dead—also seemingly by his own hand — Kate discovers a link in the case that sends the investigation in a direction no one could imagine and revealing the horrifying truth of what really happened that terrible night thirty-five years ago, when an Amish father and his four children perished — and his young wife disappeared without a trace.

And, as Kate knows — the past never truly dies in The Dead Will Tell by Linda Castillo.

Product Details
Series: Kate Burkholder (Book 6)
Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Minotaur Books; First Edition edition (July 8, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1250029570
ISBN-13: 978-1250029577

My Review:


4/5

RS Review: Do or Die: Reluctant Heroes (Hardcover)



I've finished "Do Or Die" the first book in her new Reluctant Heroes series by Suzanne Brockmann.

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Navy SEAL Ian Dunn went rogue in a big way when he turned his talents to a lawless life of jewel heists and con jobs. Or so the world has been led to believe. In reality, the former Special Ops warrior is still fighting for good, leading a small band of freelance covert operatives who take care of high-stakes business in highly unofficial ways. That makes Ian the hands-down choice when the U.S. government must breach a heavily guarded embassy and rescue a pair of children kidnapped by their own father, a sinister foreign national willing to turn his kids into casualties. Shockingly, Ian passes on the mission for reasons he will not — or cannot — reveal.

But saying no is not an option. Especially not for Phoebe Kruger, Ian’s beautiful and unexpectedly brash new attorney. Determined to see the abducted children set free, Phoebe not only gets Ian on board but insists on riding shotgun on his Mission: Impossible–style operation, whether he likes it or not.

Though Phoebe has a valuable knack for getting out of tight spots, there’s no denying the intensely intimate feelings growing between Ian and Phoebe as the team gears up for combat. But these are feelings they both must fight to control as they face an array of cold-blooded adversaries, including a vindictive mob boss who’s got Ian at the top of his hit list and a wealthy psychopath who loves murder as much as he loves money. As they dodge death squads and play lethal games of deception, Ian and Phoebe will do whatever it takes to save the innocent and vanquish the guilty — or die trying.

Product Details
Series: Reluctant Heroes
Hardcover: 576 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books; First Edition edition (February 4, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0345543793
ISBN-13: 978-0345543790


My Review:

3 and 3.5/5

Library Haul 2014 (July 20)




Library Haul

Here's the list of books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga I picked up this week at the library:

Hardcover:

1.  Sea of Shadows - Kelley Armstrong
2.  The Forbidden - F.R. Tallis    

Thursday, July 17, 2014

Nobunaga Concerto Overview



Synopsis

The story centers around Saburou, a high school boy who time-travels to Japan's Sengoku Era. He must become Nobunaga Oda, the famed warlord who helps unite Japan.

Characters


Main Characters

Saburō (Voiced by: Mamoru Miyano)

Oda Nobunaga (Voiced by: Yuki Kaji)

Kichō (Voiced by: Nana Mizuki)

Kinoshita Tōkichirō (Voiced by: Yuichi Nakamura)

Oichi (Voiced by: Aoi Yūki)

Other Characters

Ikeda Tsuneoki (Voiced by: Kazuyuki Okitsu)

Shibata Katsuie (Voiced by: Rikiya Koyama)

Maeda Toshiie (Voiced by: Shintarō Asanuma)

Sassa Narimasa (Voiced by: Kenta Miyake)

Niwa Nagahide (Voiced by: Shinya Takahashi)

Takugen (Voiced by: Kenichi Ogata)

Tokugawa Ieyasu (Voiced by: Jun Fukuyama)

Takenaka Hanbei (Voiced by: Takahiro Sakurai)

Azai Nagamasa (Voiced by: Ryōhei Kimura)

Mori Yoshinari (Voiced by: Ryō Sugisaki)

Mori Nagayoshi (Voiced by: Hiroyuki Yoshino)

Mori Ranmaru (Voiced by: Ayumu Murase)

Ashikaga Yoshiaki (Voiced by: Tomokazu Sugita)

Matsunaga Hisahide (Voiced by: Takaya Kuroda)

Oda Nobuyuki (Voiced by: Kōki Uchiyama)

Hirate Masahide (Voiced by: Motomu Kiyokawa)

Saitō Dōsan (Voiced by: Yōsuke Akimoto)
Related Posts with Thumbnails