Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Anime Overview: Bonjour Koiaji Pâtisserie




Synopsis

Sayuri Haruno dreams of becoming a pastry chef and enrolls in Fleurir Confectionary Academy, an elite school located in Tokyo's trendy Aoyama district. At Fleurir, she finds herself surrounded by charming boys, each one distinctly unique. Out of the entire class, Ryou Kouzuki's desire to become a pastry chef is the strongest. Blessed with unparalleled technique, instructor Mitsuki Aoi acts like a prince and is hugely popular at the school. Gilbert Hanafusa, the mood maker of the bunch, is a student from France. Yoshinosuke Suzumi is not very good at expressing his feelings, but underneath his stony exterior lies a wholehearted passion for wagashi (Japanese sweets).

As Sayuri pours her heart and soul into making her dream a reality, she encounters many happenings.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Weekly Book Reads (Oct 20)



 Weekly Book Reads


Weekly Book Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books read last week and books you plan on finishing this week.

Read Last Week:

1.  Private Down Under - James Patterson
2.  It's In His Kiss - Jill Shavis
3.  DURARARA!! YELLOW SCARVES ARC Volume 1 - Ryohgo Narita

Weekly Book Reading:

1.  The Darkest Touch - Gena Showalter
2.  Crave the Night - Lara Adrian
3.  Son of No One - Sherrilyn Kenyon
4.  Dengeki Daisy Vol. 14 - Kyousuke Motomi

Sunday, October 19, 2014

Library Haul 2014 (Oct 19 - 25)




Library Haul


Here's the list of books/manga/manhwa/yaoi manga I picked up this week at the library:

Softcover:

1.  Eat Dat New Orleans: A Guide to the Unique Food Culture of the Crescent City -
Michael Murphy
2.  The Autobiography of Jack the Ripper -





Ruth Reichl
4.  Night Diver - Elizabeth Lowell

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Bunny Express Saturday 2014 (Oct 18)


Bunny Express Saturday is hosted every Saturday at Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received these in the mail this week.

For Review:








The final electrifying installment in the #1 New York Times bestselling vampyre series.

Zoey Redbird is in trouble. Having released the Seer Stone to Aphrodite, and surrendered herself to the Tulsa Police, she has isolated herself from her friends and mentors, determined to face the punishment she deserves — even if that means her body will reject the change, and begin to die. Only the love of those closest to her can save her from the Darkness in her spirit; but a terrible evil has emerged from the shadows, more powerful than ever Neferet has finally made herself known to mortals. Crowning herself a Dark Goddess, she is evil unleashed and is enslaving the citizens of Tulsa. The vampyres of the House of Night have banded with the police, and are gathering every last resource they have, but they know that no single vampyre is strong enough to vanquish her — unless that vampyre has the power to summon the elements as well as the ability to wield Old Magick. Only Zoey is heir to such power but because of the consequences of using Old Magick, she is unable to help.

In the final novel in the House of Night series, an epic battle of Light versus Darkness will decide who is redeemed and who is forever lost.

The House of Night series by P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast is an international phenomenon, reaching #1 on U.S., German, and UK bestseller lists, and remaining a fixture on The New York Times Children’s Series bestseller list for nearly 160 weeks and counting, with more than 12 million copies in print and rights sold in thirty–eight countries to date.








Two teenagers struggle with a horrific family legacy, and the woman who has adopted them fights for their lives -- and her own.

Adam and Alice are reaching the age when some of the children created by the fertility treatment that spawned them begin to turn feral. Will they succomb to the same physiological horror that destroyed their parents? Every change brings on terror -- the voice cracking as it changes, the swelling of the breasts, the coarsening of down into actual hair. Their aunt, Cynthia, oversees renovations to the Twisden family's Manhattan residence -- torn apart by the children's parents at their most savage -- and struggles to give her niece and nephew the unconditional love they never had. Meanwhile, in the world outside, the forces of good and evil collide as a troop of feral offspring threatens to invade the refuge Cynthia is so determined to construct behind the Twisdens' walls.

Thanks Hachette Book Group and Meryl L. Moss Media Relations, Inc!

Friday, October 17, 2014

Follow My Blog Friday #205



If you are new to the FF fun, Feature and Follow Friday is a blog hop that expands your blog following by a joint effort between bloggers. Feature & Follow Friday is now hosted by TWO hosts, myself of course and Alison of Alison Can Read. Each host will have their own Feature Blog and this way it'll allow us to show off more new blogs!

How does this work? First you leave your name here on this post, then you create a post on your own blog that links back to this post (easiest way is to just grab the code under the #FF picture and put it in your post) and then you visit as many blogs as you can and tell them "hi" in their comments (on the post that has the #FF image). You follow them, they follow you. Win. Win. Just make sure to follow back if someone follows you!

Now to make this FF interesting we do a FEATURE blogger. If you are interested in becoming a Feature click on the drop down link above FEATURES and Features and Follow Friday and get on the waiting list!  It is also required, that if you participate you must follow the hosts (Parajunkee and Alison Can Read) and the two Feature blogs.

This Meme is hosted by Rachel from Parajunkee Review and Alison from Alison Can Read on Fridays.

To join the fun and make now book blogger friends, just follow these simple rules:

1.  (Required) Follow the Follow My Book Blog Friday Hosts {Parajunkee and Alison Can Read}

2.  (Required) Follow our Featured Bloggers

3.  Put your Blog name and URL in the Linky thing. You can also grab the code if you would like to insert it into your posts.

4.  Grab the button up there and place it in a post, this post is for people to find a place to say “hi” in your comments and that they are now following you.

5.  If you are using WordPress or another CMS that doesn’t have GFC (Google Friends Connect) state in your posts how you would like to be followed

6.  Follow Follow Follow as many as you can, as many as you want, or just follow a few. The whole point is to make new friends and find new blogs. Also, don’t just follow, comment and say hi. Another blogger might not know you are a new follower if you don’t say “HI”

7.  If someone comments and says they are following you, be a dear and follow back. Spread the Love and the followers.

8.  If you’re new to the follow Friday hop, comment and let me know, so I can stop by and check out your blog!

Our Feature - Reading YA Rocks

When did you start blogging?

I started blogging blogging about books back in November 2010. But I just started blogging at Reading YA Rocks this past September.

What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Everything! Can I say that? I love the community, I love getting the chance to discover books and authors I might never have discovered otherwise, and I love rambling about all things book.

What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Mostly YA. I do love reading PNR/UF and NA contemp but I am not so great at reviewing them.

What is your favorite book(s)?

WIZARD AND GLASS by Stephen King. Hands down favorite of all time.

What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

“Meeting” and getting to know the amazing designer, blogger and person that is Parajunkee. No joke. Of course getting the chance to beta books by authors I adore and respect, getting a character named after me, getting listed in the acknowledgements of a few books, getting blurbed once or twice, and getting to meet these amazing authors has been fantastic. And making a really great friend – Jaime of Two Chicks on Books – is one of the very best things that happened because of book blogging.

Our Feature - Reading YA Rocks

1. When did you start blogging?

I started blogging blogging about books back in November 2010. But I just started blogging at Reading YA Rocks this past September.

2. What is your favorite part of book blogging?

Everything! Can I say that? I love the community, I love getting the chance to discover books and authors I might never have discovered otherwise, and I love rambling about all things book.

3. What type of books do you mainly blog about?

Mostly YA. I do love reading PNR/UF and NA contemp but I am not so great at reviewing them.

4. What are your favorite books?

WIZARD AND GLASS by Stephen King. Hands down favorite of all time.

5. What has been the best thing that has happened to you because of book blogging?

"Meeting" and getting to know the amazing designer, blogger and person that is Parajunkee. :) No joke. Of course getting the chance to beta books by authors I adore and respect, getting a character named after me, getting listed in the acknowledgements of a few books, getting blurbed once or twice, and getting to meet these amazing authors has been fantastic. And making a really great friend - Jaime of Two Chicks on Books - is one of the very best things that happened because of book blogging.

Question of the Week: Share the song you can't stop listening to - Suggested by Journey Through Fiction












I'm also listening to "Wicked Game" and "Can't Do a Thing to Stop Me" by Chris Issak (the videos are a little to racy to post here, LOL!).







Thursday, October 16, 2014

Cover Reveal for S.C. Stephens' Thoughtful




THOUGHTFUL by S.C. Stephens (February 24, 2014; Forever Trade Paperback and E-book)
The only place Kellan Kyle has ever felt at home is onstage. Gripping his guitar in a darkened bar, he can forget his painful past. These days his life revolves around three things: music, his bandmates, and hot hookups. Until one woman changes everything.

Kiera is the kind of girl Kellan has no business wanting-smart, sweet, and dating his best friend. Certain he could never be worthy of her love, he hides his growing attraction until Kiera's own tormented heart hints that his feelings might not be one-sided. Now, no matter the consequences, Kellan is sure of one thing - he won't let Kiera go without a fight.

Pre-order now!
B&N
Books a Million
iBooks
Kobo
Google Play

About the Author:

S.C. Stephens is a #1 bestselling author who spends her every free moment creating stories that are packed with emotion and heavy on romance. In addition to writing, she enjoys spending lazy afternoons in the sun reading, listening to music, watching movies, and spending time with her friends and family. She and her 2 children reside in the Pacific Northwest.

Social Media Links:

Website
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

DNF Review: Private Down Under (Paperback)




I've finished "Private Down Under" by James Patterson.

The world's most exclusive detective agency opens a new office - in Australia!

With the best detectives in the business, cutting edge technology and offices around the globe, there is no investigation company quite like Private. Now, at a glittering launch party overlooking the iconic Opera House, Private Sydney throws open its doors.

Craig Gisto and his newly formed team have barely raised their glasses, however, when a young Asian man, blood-soaked and bullet-ridden, staggers into the party, and what looks like a botched kidnapping turns out to be a whole lot more.

Within days the agency's caseload is full. But it is a horrific murder in the wealthy Eastern Suburbs and the desperate search for a motive that stretches the team to the limit. Stacy Friel, friend of the Deputy Commissioner of NSW Police, isn't the killer's first victim - and as the bodies mount up she's clearly not the last.

Product Details
Series: Private
Paperback: 384 pages
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing (August 26, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1455529788
ISBN-13: 978-1455529780


My Review:

I couldn't connect with any of the main characters (a couple of them were real jerks)!

2/5

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada for sending me this book to review!

Anime Overview: Yowamushi Pedal: Grande Road




Synopsis

Second season of Yowamushi Pedal series.

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Manhwa Review: Void's Enigmatic Mansion, Volume 1 Paperback



I've finished "Void's Enigmatic Mansion, Volume 1" by JiEun Ha.

What if your greatest wish could be granted?

The enigmatic mansion on 6 Roland Street belongs to one Mr. Void, who resides on the seventh floor. Unbeknownst to the rest of the tenants in Void's mansion, their greatest wishes could be granted. And as the stories of the residents intertwine, they soon learn that what they desire is not always what is best.

Product Details
Series: Void's Enigmatic Mansion
Paperback: 176 pages
Publisher: Yen Press; Tra edition (September 23, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0316410993
ISBN-13: 978-0316410991


About the Author

HeeEun Kim is the artist behind the popular manwha series A Kiss for My Prince and Dear My Girls.

JiEun Ha is a popular Korean fantasy fiction author whose other works include the critically acclaimed Ice Forest, Fresh Blood Sand, and an anthology collection titled Dream Walk.

My Review:

This manhwa is pretty heavy and the cover is very eye-catching and glossy. The pictures are very glossy, eye-catching and well drawn.

The stories are very suspenseful and a couple are quite violent and well detailed.

3/5

Thanks Hachette Book Group Canada/Yen Press for sending me this manhwa to review, greatly appreciated!

Anime Overview: Psycho-Pass 2




Synopsis

Sequel to the Psycho-Pass series, taking place one-and-a-half years later.


Having learned the true nature of the Sybil System, Akane Tsunemori chose to obey the system, believing in both humanity and the legal order. She's part of a new police section and spends her everyday life facing down criminals. Unbeknownst to Akane, however, a monster who will shake the system to its core is about to appear before her.
Related Posts with Thumbnails